The month of October is an annual commemoration of the history, achievements and contributions of black people all over the world.
Black people have always been at the forefront of social justice movements, fighting against oppression and paving the way for change.
This year's Black History Month focuses on "Reclaiming Narratives", a number of our students have already shared their life experiences through the Library's Untold Stories.
If you have a story to share we would like you to tell us about it.
Reclaiming Narratives: The Inspiring Theme for Black History Month 2024.
Black History Month 2024 is embracing the theme of Reclaiming Narratives. The idea behind this years theme is that it is time to take control of the stories and heritage of the past and ensure that these are heard.
"In today’s world, stories are powerful tools that shape how we understand our past, present, and future. For too long, the history of Black communities has been told through lenses that often misrepresent, oversimplify, or entirely overlook the rich and diverse experiences of those who lived it. But 2024 is set to be a transformative year. Black History Month UK has unveiled its compelling theme: Reclaiming Narratives."
The Roman conquest begins. Roman soldiers are drawn from all over North Africa and Europe.
African-born Abbot Hadrian becomes abbot of St Augustine's Abbey, Canterbury.
The earliest known drawing of a black Briton is made in the Domesday Book.
A black trumpeter is recorded at Henry VII 's court.
A poem written by William Dunbar, called Anne Black-Moir, tells us that there were black people in Britain at that time.
A group of African people are brought to Britain to learn English so they can act as interpreters for English traders.
The Royal African Company is created in England to manage the slave trade.
20,000 black people live in Britain, including up to 15,000 in London. Black people are often shown and written about as less than human.
The campaign for the freedom of slaves begins in Britain.
A decline in slavery begins in England.
African American slave soldiers who fought for Britain in the American Revolutionary War arrive in London but have no money and are forced to beg on the streets.
Black soldiers and seamen settle in London after fighting in the Napoleonic Wars.
The Slavery Abolition Act becomes law in Britain.
New black communities are formed in Liverpool and Cardiff.
There is a decline in the black population due to restrictions on immigration from Africa.
Britain sees an increase in African students, professionals, business people and athletes.
John Archer becomes the first black mayor of London.
The First World War brings an influx of people from different countries around the world.
People from the Caribbean and West Africa arrive as wartime workers and servicemen and women in the army, navy and air force.
There is a huge migration of people from all over the Caribbean to work in hospitals and on transport and railway networks. They often struggle with racial prejudice.
Many Asian people are expelled from Kenya and settle in Britain.
Many Asian people are expelled from Uganda and settle in Britain.
The Race Relations Act is passed and the Commission for Racial Equality is established. British Asian people from Malawi settle in Britain.
Somali refugees arrive in Britain.
The first black members of parliament are elected.
The Asylum and Immigration Appeals Act is passed.
Racism in Britain in general, is considered to have declined over time.
The Race Relations Amendment Act states that all public services must actively promote racial equality.
The Racial and Religious Hatred Act makes it illegal to stir up hatred because of their race or religion.
1,904,684 people record that they were Black, African, Caribbean or Black British' in UK Census.
Thousands of people in Britain protest following the killing of George Floyd by police in the United States.
Janet Hardy-GouldThe activities in Dominoes keep students engaged in the stories and help to reinforce their understanding of the key language. They can be completed at home or in class. The project activities in Dominoes build on the themes from the story and encourage students to draw on their ownexperiences. Activities include note-taking and language tasks, leading to extended writing, poster-making, and class presentations. They are ideal for group work in class or individual assignments.
Explore the BBC resources around black history, heritage, culture and achievements.
These videos and guides can be used with children and adults at all ages.
In June 1948 the Empire Windrush arrived at Tilbury Docks, Essex carrying hundreds of people from the Caribbean. 70 years on, Windrush Stories invites us to consider a longer, more complicated and ongoing relationship between Britain and the Caribbean.
This online database provides information about South Asians in Britain from 1870 to 1950, the organizations they were involved in, their British connections, and the major events in which they participated.
Exciting collection of fascinating family histories and migration stories documented by young people in Cardiff, Leicester, Sheffield, Manchester and London. You can hear incredible oral history interviews exploring journeys to Britain from parts of Europe, India, Africa, the Caribbean and beyond. These deeply personal stories will make you think about history in a completely new way.
Issues Online is a great starting point for information on current social issues. Issues Online provides a wide range of information including: articles with news and views on each topic, key facts, key statistics, newspaper archives, research guides and glossaries plus suggestions for assignments or debate.
To access Issues Online, click on the Login button, under Your Home Institution Shibboleth login click on “go to the login area”. Type in Bradford College and click on “Login”, and then enter your College IT username and password.
Search SocINDEX with Full Text for journal articles on ethnicity, immigration and equality. SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database and contains the full text for more than 800 journals.
Subjects covered include sociology, criminology, ethnic and racial studies, gender, the family, politics, social theory, and social structure. Please use your College username and password (this is your student/staff email address and password) to log in.
A freely available Black Lives Matter learning resource, featuring a rich collection of handpicked articles from the digital archives of over 50 different publications.
This BLM resource support various subject areas including:
• Art
• Film
• History
• Literature
• Music
• Politics
Listen to these episodes of the history podcast You're Dead to Me to find out more about Black History.
The activities in Dominoes keep students engaged in the stories and help to reinforce their understanding of the key language. They can be completed at home or in class. The project activities in Dominoes build on the themes from the story and encourage students to draw on their ownexperiences. Activities include note-taking and language tasks, leading to extended writing, poster-making, and class presentations. They are ideal for group work in class or individual assignments.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
