Textbooks for Legal Skills
Books are available which cover all topics of Legal Skills. Click here for your reading list. These include chapters on research, critical thinking, mooting, drafting, interviews, negotiation, and people skills. Examples are Cherkassky Legal Skills, Finch & Fafinski Legal Skills, and the e-book Skills for Lawyers. For Legal reasoning, try Unlocking Legal Learning and Learning Legal Rules which are useful to understand how to study, research, and understand the law. You can also find books on Negotiation, Communication & Writing Skills, and Employability elsewhere in the library.
Cases
For Mooting, you will have to refer to the full text of key cases relating to your topic, and not rely on summaries in textbooks. You will also have to provide copies of the case in the full-text. The library holds the All England Law Reports in bound volumes, arranged by year, and the historical set of reports The English Reports. It is useful to famliarise yourself with printed reports but most students now access law reports online via Westlaw (Weekly Law Reports, English Reports) or LexisLibrary (All ER). Both databases also include the main set of law reports called The Law Reports, and other specialist reports. Where available, print the PDF version of the case, which will give you the true appearance and layout as originally published in the Reports. The databases also include consolidated legislation so you can find the most recent version of the Acts.
Practitioners Texts
Westlaw also provides access to key Practitioner texts which you may want to refer to. From the Books tab you can access titles such as Archbold Criminal Pleading: Evidence & Practice, and the White Book for the latest version of Civil Procedure Rules, practice directions and commentary.
Journals and Newspapers
Practitioner journals provide news and opinions on current legal issues, and some contain careers information. LexisLibrary, includes the New Law Journal. It is also worth looking at the websites of Solicitors Journal and Law Society Gazette.
Unlocking Legal Learning by
Unlocking Legal Learning is an essential textbook for undergraduate students new to legal study. By explaining the different fields of this intricate subject and helping you to develop the skills to engage with it successfully, Unlocking Legal Learning will provide you with an essential foundation for your studies and future career. This third edition is fully up-to-date and incorporates new styles of assessment and learning resources. Support for your studies in Unlocking Legal Learning includes: Detailed information on how to succeed in mooting competitions, coursework, and dissertation assignments Numerous tips on how to take good notes and revise effectively for exams Advice on how to tackle problem-based questions and work well in groups Guidance on how to access and understand legal materials and references in print and online The Unlocking the Law series is designed to make the law accessible and covers all the core subjects required by the Bar Council and the Law Society for entry onto professional qualifications as well as popular option units. The website www.unlockingthelaw.co.uk provides additional resources such as multiple choice questions, key questions and answers and revision mp3s.
Legal Systems and Skills by
The only text that fully combines coverage of legal systems with academic and professional legal skills. Coupled with the focus on employability and commercial awareness, Legal Systems and Skills is the essential contemporary toolkit for savvy law students.Legal Systems and Skills speaks directly to students - encouraging, engaging, and enthusing at all times. It is accessible, with a clear writing style and a wide range of pedagogical features to help students to apply their knowledge practically.Learn how law works- Students get to grips with all the essential topics of English legal system, think about different perspectives, and understand their implications.- Clear, no-nonsense explanations, supported by annotated documents, flowcharts and diagrams that provide a visual representation of concepts and processes, build students' confidence.Develop the essential skills- Students are equipped with the tools they need to thrive in their academic studies and in subsequent employment. Students are encouraged to become adept researchers, nimble problem-solvers, dexterous writers, and competent communicators.- Topics such as negotiation and mediation, presentations, and client meetings introduce students to the professional skills essential for progression into both legal practice and other professional careers.- Commentary helping students engage with assessment criteria and develop their critical thinking skills.Apply them to succeed- Students are encouraged to reflect on and actively improve their commercial awareness through case studies and activities. Targeted coverage of employability, practise interview questions, CV development, and transferrable skills help students to approach their future careers with confidence andcommunicate their own competencies effectively.- "Practical exercises" throughout provide opportunities to take a hands-on approach to tackling a wide range of legal skills.- "What the professionals say" boxes bring in voices from across the world of legal services and other professions, including comments from barristers, solicitors, CEOs, solicitors' paralegals, and librarians.Online resourcesThis text is accompanied by online resources offering:- Self-test multiple choice questions- The authors' guidance to answering the practical exercises in each chapter- Sample interview questions to help students identify which areas of commercial awareness they need to focus on- A library of web links that direct students to useful websites and relevant media
