Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Online

Law (HE): Immigration Law

Immigration Law

Textbooks for Immigration Law. Textbooks explain the fundamentals of the law.  The main textbook is Textbook on Immigration and Asylum Law by Gina Clayton which is now in it's 6th edition.  This includes a general background; EU Law, Immigration Control, Entry into the UK, Asylum Claims and Enforcement.  Other useful books include the Textbook on Civil Liberties, and books on Human Rights and Immigration, and the social and political aspects of immigration.  Use the library catalogue to find these in the library. 
 
Practitioner Texts
Immigration Law Handbook by Phelan is a useful practitioner text - the most recent edition is 2015, and the LPC Immigration Law guides which are introductions to the law and practice. 
 
Reference Books & Encyclopedia. Reference books cannot be taken out of the Library.  The main reference text in the library is British Immigration Practice Handbook which is a practitioner’s guide. In addition, Westlaw Insight contains a lot of introductory articles on Immigration Law.  Click on the International tab and then on Immigration to find articles which include: Overview of the Topic, Key Acts, Key Cases, and Further Reading with hyperlinks to related information within the database.  Some articles also include a discussion on areas of complexity, uncertainty or future developments.
 
Case reports. Immigration decisions made to the Upper Tribunal of the Immigration and Asylum Chamber (IAC) are now online.  Please note that cases from the FIrst-Tier Tribunal are not available to the public.  Go to https://tribunaldecisions.service.gov.uk and search by keyword, case number, country, name of person appealing or judge, or browse by date.  For cases heard in the higher courts, Westlaw contains the European Human Rights Reports, which provide full-text judgements and opinions of cases decided in the European Court of Human Rights (ECHR).  Lexis holds Butterworth's Human Rights Cases which report landmark human rights cases in tribunals up to international courts, and European Court of Human Rights Cases which also provides judgements from the ECHR.  
 
The EDAL (European Database of Asylum Law) is very useful if you want to try and find a case but don't have the citation details. It contains case law from 17 EU member states and summarises relevant case law.  It is also useful to see related cases.  This is available at http://www.asylumlawdatabase.eu/
 
Journals and Newspapers. Journals provide commentary on cases, and advanced discussion of legal issues.  They are published weekly, monthly or quarterly, and the majority are now available online. LexisLibrary holds the Journal of Immigration, International Journal of Refugee Law, Asylum and Nationality Law and the Human Rights Law Review. Westlaw holds the Journal of Immigration, Asylum and Nationality Law and the European Human Rights Review which specialises in debate on the European Convention on Human Rights and the Human Rights Act 1998.  You may also want to consult a sociology database called SocIndex. This includes a journal called Journal of Refugee Studies.
 
Other information. Westlaw Insight has articles on the European Convention on Human Rights including a section on how this influences Immigration cases.
 
Websites. There is some useful information on the web. Eagle-i is a web portal updated by the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies which you can use to search for immigration information.  Sites that they recommend include:
The European Council on Refugees and Exiles which is an alliance of NGOs concerned with the rights of refugees, asylum seekers and displaced persons. The site provides information via it's Topics menu on Access to Europe, Resettlement, Protection and Integration with links to policy papers and the ECRE response.  
The Refugee Law Reader is an online textbook on International Refugee law. It includes chapters on background & context, and legal frameworks for refugee protection in Africa, the Americas, Asia, and Europe.
The UK Human Rights Blog aims to provide a balanced legal update service on the topic of Human Rights in UK Law.  You can subscribe to the blog by clicking on a link or browse by legal topic.
Electronic Immigration Network.  We no longer subscribe to this site but it does still have a useful news site and blog to keep up to date with UK Immigration news. 
 

Core texts

Databases for Immigration

Library Services 01274 08 8257
  @BradfordCollLib
  BradfordCollegeLRC
  BradfordCollegeLibrary
  @BradfordCollegeLibrary
Library Services, David Hockney Building, Bradford College, Great Horton Road, Bradford, BD7 1AY.