Textbooks. Textbooks explain the fundamentals of the law. EU Law books are found in the Library on the Ground Floor of the David Hockney Building at 341.2422. Recommended textbooks include Fairhurst Law of the European Union, Unlocking EU Law, and Foundations of European Union Law (some also available as e-books).
Case Books. Case books explain the law through a selection of the key cases of the subject, illustrating legal principles and how decisions are made. The key casebooks for EU Law are Weatherill, Cases and Materials on EU Law, Chalmers European Union Law, and Craig, EU Law.
Further Reading / Advanced Books. These provide information at a more advanced level and will be useful as you become familiar with the subject. Titles include The Substantive Law of the EU and EU Procedural Law.
Case reports. EU case law is made up of judgements from the European Court of Justice (ECJ) and the General Court (formerly called the Court of First Instance), which interpret EU legislation. Court decisions can be found on the EUR-Lex website which publishes the European Court Reports (ECR), the official reports of the European Courts of Justice, and The Official Journal of the European Union (Official Journal C) which publishes brief details of cases. The Curia website is the official website of the ECJ and has transcripts of Decisions and is easier to use http://curia.europa.eu/juris/recherche.jsf.
Where possible, refer to the European Court Reports, followed by the Common Market Law Reports available on Westlaw which include reports from the European Courts, the European Commission, and national courts and tribunals. LexisLibrary includes All ER: European Cases.
EU Legislation. All European Union law is drawn from the Treaties which form the primary legislation of the EU, and EU regulations, directives and decisions which form secondary legislation. Use the EUR-Lex website http://eur-lex.europa.eu, or Westlaw (EU tab) for Treaties or Legislation.
Encyclopedia and Digests. The Digest contains summaries of case law dating back to 1500. It includes cases from the England & Wales, Scotland, Commonwealth, EU, and European Court of Human Justice.
Halsbury’s Laws of England is an authoritative encyclopaedia of law in the England and Wales, arranged by subject. EU Law is in Volume 47A and Constitutional Law is in Volume 20, part 1. Halsbury’s Laws are available in print or via LexisLibrary.
Journals and Newspapers. Journals provide commentary on cases, and advanced discussion of legal issues. They are published weekly, monthly or quarterly, and the majority are now available online. Use the main journals tab in Westlaw and Lexis to find articles. In Westlaw International, click on World Journals and Law Reviews link.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowWestlaw UK is a searchable databases of case law, legislation, news, legal journals, commentary, current awareness alerts and EU legal materials. New functionality includes the Legislation Compare tool which provides the ability to compare changes which have taken place between any two versions of a legislative provision across UK, English, Welsh, Northern Ireland and Scottish jurisdictions. The tool eliminates the need to manually compare legislation by instantly locating every change to a provision.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowFull text up-to-date access to all UK legislation; a range of case materials, law journals and legal news.
This link opens in a new windowPlease use this link to log onto Westlaw UK the first time. We would suggest that you clear your history on which ever device you are using before clicking on the link. Please use your College username and password (this is your student/staff email address and password) to log in.
