Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Online

Distance Learners: Electronic Resources

Introduction to Electronic Resources

Bradford College Library gives you access to a large range of electronic resources which includes databases, e-books and electronic journals.

These resources are all available from the internet, and can be accessed from the Electronic Resource page on Library Website. A lot of the resources will also be available through smartphones and tablets. Though to access them you will need to use your College log on and password.

If you do not know  your password see the IT section of this guide

E-books

The electronic books or e-books provided by the College are electronic versions of printed books which can be read in full text via the Internet.  The College has access to the content of over 5000 e-books.  The majority of e-books are available on three main platforms or websites – Dawsonera, Ebook Central and O'Reilly Safari Learning Platform.

These are some of the advantages of using e-books:

  • they are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, on or off campus,

  • for the majority of titles you don’t have to wait for a copy to be returned,

  • you can easily search the content of an e-book, including  the text, table of contents, appendices, and bibliography

If you want to find find e-books you  can:

1) Search using our Library Catalogue 

Enter the title, author or subject of the book and click search.  Once you have your results you can use the Refine your search section on the left hand side to show only e-books,  by clicking on ITEM TYPE   and then choosing E-book. 

2) You can also go to the E-books webpage  and choose one of the collections, to search.

Dawsonera and E Book Central.  If the book you need is on E book Central you will need to install Adobe Digital Editions.  Many E -books will have read aloud functions. 

To find out more about e-books follow this link.

Databases

If you need to find information on a particular subject from a book, journal or newspaper a database is the best place to start your search.

A database will allows you to search through the text and title of journals and newspaper articles, books and other on-line sources directly. You will often be able to customise your searches to get exactly the information you need.

Databases often provide the full text of an article but sometimes only provide an abstract or description or a reference to that you will need to be follow up using the Library catalogue or the Library website.

You can use the link below to find all of our databases, where you can search by subject and database type.

Electronic Databases

DISCOVER@BradfordCollege

DISCOVER@BradfordCollege is a single search tool that allows you to search for keywords in your subject  across the majority of electronic resources that the College Library subscribes to. This includes EBSCOHost databases, including ArtFullText, Britannica Online and a large amount of our Electronic Journals.

It does not include the College's image databases, these are available here.

You will need to use your College log-on and password if you want to access DISCOVER@BradfordCollege.

 
DISCOVER@BradfordCollege
a quick and easy way to search for the Library's resources
 
 

E - Journals

Learning Resources provides access to over eight thousand electronic journals, including access to issues published over the last ten years. These include both items we have in print and others we get access to through subscription to collections and databases such as ArtFullText.

Electronic journals can be accessed from either the library website or the library catalogue, where you can search for a journal by its title or subject. Once you have accessed a journal you will be able to search through that one journal for an article to search through more than one journal at a time you will need to use a database.

You can also search for a Journal using the search box below.

 

Search for Journals
Library Services 01274 08 8257
  @BradfordCollLib
  BradfordCollegeLRC
  BradfordCollegeLibrary
  @BradfordCollegeLibrary
Library Services, David Hockney Building, Bradford College, Great Horton Road, Bradford, BD7 1AY.