Here you can access websites providing images, videos and audio clips.
These are generally subject to copyright and cannot be downloaded and used without permission or rights waived.
The Image Database and Collections section below the College pays to give you access and so you can generally use the content for educational purposes as long as it is referenced appropriately.
Those websites listed in the Free Collections section will contain images that you will be able to access free of charge, though you will still have to follow any copyright restrictions and always cite and/or reference to give credit.
Image Databases and Collections
The Image Database and Collections below are ones that the College pays to give you access and so you can generally use the content for educational purposes as long as it is referenced appropriately.
The following are databases that you will need to log into using your College logon and password. They contain images and media files covering a wide range of subjects. Click on the i for more information about a database or on more... for instructions on how to log in.
ARTstorThis link opens in a new windowCovers over 1.5 million high-quality images of art from around the world.
Contains wide range of types of art (paintings, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, etc.) from ancient times to the present.
This link opens in a new window
To access ArtStor off campus:
Click on LOG IN from the ArtStor home page;
Select ‘Log in through your institution’;
Type in Bradford College or select from the drop down list and click on LOG IN;
Enter your college IT username and password.
You may be asked to register. Please use your college email address.
Britannica Image QuestThis link opens in a new windowBritannica Image Quest is a searchable database of digital images that allows access to more than two million images that are rights-cleared for educational use.
The images are from over 50 of the best collections in the world, including: Action Plus for sports; Photo Researchers; akg-images; Getty Images; and Photoshot.
Please use your college IT username and password to access Britannica Online Academic Edition.
British Library SoundsThis link opens in a new windowA selection of sound recordings from around the world made available from the British Library's collection.
You will need to log in to access the full sound archive. Click on the links to “UK HE/FE log in” when prompted, choose Bradford College and then enter your College IT username and password
To access the John Johnson Collection off campus, please select the option “Remote Users: login via your home organisation”, select your region – United Kingdom, select “Bradford College” from the list of organisations and click on the login button, enter your college IT username and password.
MediaPlusThis link opens in a new windowMediaPlus is a resource of Jisc-licensed news, film, image and music content including high profile collections such as ITN, Getty images and Wellcome Library images and sound, hosted and delivered by Alexander Street.
MediaPlus also contains instructional videos from Teachers’ TV.
Primal PicturesThis link opens in a new windowAnatomy & Physiology from Primal Pictures includes high quality, 3D, informative images and information on anatomy and physiology.
Please log in using your College IT username and password
Free Image Collections
Europeana CollectionThis collection is home to the European Digital Library. It has over 53,000,000 images and videos, covering it covering Art, music and Fashion. They include some national libraries, universities, and other institutions. Go to “explore”, then “sources” to see participating institutions.
FlikrYou can search for images with a variety of rights, e.g., “no copying”, “non-commercial use only” or “full public domain”.
Free ImagesYou can use these images freely in any capacity as long as you credit the website by downloading their banner or provide a text-link to their website.
Image afterOrganised into subjects e.g. architecture, nature etc. with a mixture of download-able free stock images and stock images for a very small fee.
National Education networkPrimarily set up for use by teachers to help in their teaching, images are categorised into broad subjects. You can registered and upload your own images to share with the community (subject to website approval).
Prado MuseumThe Prado museum is the national art museum of Spain. The website gives you access to its collection including video commentaries with English subtitles and a timeline that alllow's you to see when a work was painted in relation to world history.