Skip to Main Content
Bradford College
Library Online
Library User Library Account
USING THE LIBRARY
Using your library Finding Items Borrowing items Returning items Requesting Items Borrowing a Laptop Study Booths Book a Booth @ DHB Book a Booth @ TG
FINDING RESOURCES
Subject guides Library Catalogue Electronic resources Search for Articles A-Z of Journals Online Databases Online Magazines Culture & Wellbeing
STUDY SKILLS
Study Skills Ask us for help Essential Study Skills Writing Skills Exams and Revision Skills Referencing & Plagiarism Research Skills IT & Digital Skills Academic Phrasebank
HELP & SUPPORT
Contact Us Your Library Staff About your library Learning Support FAQs Get Involved Staff support Student Links Customer Service Library Policies

Finding Items

A guide to the classification in the Library
Finding items in Hockney Library
Hockney Library has books that will help you if you are taught in the David Hockney, Garden Mills or Lister or Buildings.
The items in Hockney Library are split into various locations depending on the information they contain and what they are used for and you will be told these on the  Library catalogue.
Most of these you can  find yourself  on the ground floor of the David Hockney building as show in the plan below.

DHB   Careers Collection
Here you can find information on how to progress from College, including information about jobs and how to apply for them. As well as information on applying to University.
DHB   Entry Readers
Here you can find  books for people learning to read and speak English.
DHB   Film Collection
Here you can a collection of films and television programs on DVD.
DHB   Independent Living
Here you can find a selection general interest books that aren't directly related to a course.
DHB   Journals
Here you can find our current and most recent print journals and magazines, relating to subjects taught in the David Hockney, Garden Mills or Lister buildings.
DHB   Main Collection
Here you can find all the books needed to support your course if you are taught in the David Hockney, Garden Mills or Lister buildings.
Choose one of the tabs to see which subjects are on a particular set of shelves and their Shelfmarks.
DHB   Reading Zone
Here you can find a selection of books you can read for fun, including novels and graphic novels. It includes collections of biographies and books with large print or dyslexic friendly fonts.
DHB   Study Skills Collection
Here you can find books to support your study skills, including research, referencing, revision and academic writing.
DHB   Teaching Collection
Here you can find a collection of books for Teaching Training students to use when on placement.
As well as the locations on the ground floor there are several where you have to request using the Library catalogue or ask a member of Library staff to use.
DHB   Grove Collection
This is a collection of rare and unusual books, please ask to use these.
DHB   Library Store
This is a collection of older and less used items relating to College courses, that could still be useful.
Every book has a shelfmark, this is a number that lets you know what they are about and makes sure all the books on the same subject are kept together. Use the subject index to find what these are.