Bradford College Library gives you access to variety of electronic resources to help you which includes databases, e-books and electronic journals.
These resources are all available where ever you have internet access and most of the resources are accessible through mobile devices, some of them having their own app.
To access these resources you will need to use your College username and password, the same as you would access your College email or Teams account with.
You can see a brief introduction to our Electronic Resources below or more out about them and see some Pharmacy Dispensing relevant resources by choosing the tab at the top of the page.
A database is a collection of information including articles, journals and other formats all available on one website. These may be subject specific collection or cover a wide range of topics. The advantage of using a search engine is you can be sure of the quality of the information and all the articles will be given catalogued so it will be easier to find the information you want.
A database will allows you to search through the text and title of journals and newspaper articles, books and other on-line sources directly. You will often be able to customise your searches to get exactly the information you need.
Databases often provide the full text of an article but sometimes only provide an abstract or description or a reference to that you will need to be follow up using the Library catalogue or the Library website.
DISCOVER Search is a single search tool that allows you to search for keywords in your computing across the majority of electronic resources that the College Library subscribes to. This includes EBSCOHost databases, including Medline, and others such as Emerald, Britannica Online and a large amount of our Electronic Journals.
If you want to access DISCOVER Search you will need to use your College log-on and password.
Journals are magazines that are regularly published and cover a specific topic subject or profession. The Library gives you access to over Sixty thousand electronic journals, including some with issues published from the 19th century. Some of these we subscribe to get access others we get as part of a collection or databases such as Medline.
Electronic journals can be accessed from the Electronic Journals webpage, where you can search for a journal by its title or subject. Once you have accessed a journal you will be able to search through that one journal for an article to search through more than one journal at a time you will need to use DISCOVER Search or a database.
Some of our electronic journals can now be accessed using Flipster that allows you to browse and flip through the electronic journals much like as if you were reading them in print. Though you can also search and look through back issues, click here to access Flipster.
To accesss any of our electronic journals you will need to login using your standard College login and password.
You can also search for a Journal using the search box below.
A Search Index is a internet search engine that only searches webpages that have been chosen by specialists. They are often subject specific. They are useful for when you only have a few search terms and need academically reliable information.
Search Indexes will often include additional information about the returned pages, such as a list of where the page has been cited and related works. This can lead you to further sources of information on your subject.
