A database is a collection of information including articles, journals and other formats all available on one website. These may be subject specific collection or cover a wide range of topics. The advantage of using a search engine is you can be sure of the quality of the information and all the articles will be given catalogued so it will be easier to find the information you want.
A database will allows you to search through the text and title of journals and newspaper articles, books and other on-line sources directly. You will often be able to customise your searches to get exactly the information you need.
Databases often provide the full text of an article but sometimes only provide an abstract or description or a reference to that you will need to be follow up using the Library catalogue or the Library website.
Here are some of the databases that will be of most help for your Pharmacy course.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowBritannica Academic is a combination of the Encyclopædia Britannica, Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, thesaurus, magazines, periodicals, and many other research tools providing a variety of reliable sources students need for research.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowA one stop source for news, magazine and journal articles on a wide range of subjects. Millions of full text articles available as PDF and HTML, many with images. Updated daily.
This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
Find the answer to your science and technology questions with online access to the current magazine plus archived editions going back to April 1989.
PubMed Central (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health’s National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
This link opens in a new windowYou can search for a database to use from our A-Z of Databases
This will show you an alphabetical list of all the Databases that we have available.
You can use drop down menus at the top of the page to filter which databases are shown, so you find the information you need.
You can choose to show databases by subject such as Pharmaceutical Dispensing or Health.
The type of database such as images, encyclopaedia or a government publications.
If you have used one of the filters you must use the clear filter button to show them all again.
If one of the databases in it has this next to it, 
it means it will be searched for in a DISCOVER Search.
DISCOVER Search is a single search tool that allows you to search for keywords in your computing across the majority of electronic resources that the College Library subscribes to. This includes EBSCOHost databases, including Medline, and others such as Emerald, Britannica Online and a large amount of our Electronic Journals.
If you want to access DISCOVER Search you will need to use your College log-on and password.
