Skip to Main Content
Bradford College
Library Online
Library User Library Account
USING THE LIBRARY
Using your library Finding Items Borrowing items Returning items Requesting Items Borrowing a Laptop Study Booths Book a Booth @ DHB Book a Booth @ TG
FINDING RESOURCES
Subject guides Library Catalogue Electronic resources Search for Articles A-Z of Journals Online Databases Online Magazines Culture & Wellbeing
STUDY SKILLS
Study Skills Ask us for help Essential Study Skills Writing Skills Exams and Revision Skills Referencing & Plagiarism Research Skills IT & Digital Skills Academic Phrasebank
HELP & SUPPORT
Contact Us Your Library Staff About your library Learning Support FAQs Get Involved Staff support Student Links Customer Service Library Policies

Information for Staff: Special Collections

Special Collections
As well as the main lending collection, the library has some special collections that may be of interest to you and your students.
Reading Zones
It is not all work work work in the library.
Our Reading Zones are a place where you can find a selection of books to read for pleasure, from Quick Reads to Booker Prize winners for all students and staff. There are also collections of biographies, graphic novels and books with dyslexia friendly fonts and large print editions.
The collection can also be used with level 2 and above functional skills and ESOL students who may want to widen their reading.
Reading Zone books can be found at  all our Libraries.
We also run the Big Read every year where we challenge you to read six books and you have a chance to win a prize.
 
Study Skills
Our Study Skills collection includes books to support your and your students in all aspects of academic and study skills including Research, Academic Writing, Exam Skills and more.
The collection can be found in the Quiet Study room in DHB, or at the end of the collection in Trinity Green.
Entry Readers
EntryReaders are books written especially for students taking ESOL or Functional Skills English classes, and are graded according to reading level, from Pre-Entry level up to Level 2.
The ESOL and Functional Skills books are in two separate collections as FS books usually include more colloquial English and different tenses which may be unsuitable for ESOL students.
However, we do encourage students to browse the collections and find a book that suits them.  You can find fiction and non-fiction books, graphic novels, photo stories, simplified classics and film stories. In some cases we have multiple copies of a title which can be used in class or for reading groups.
The Teaching Collection
The Teaching Collection (TC) is a range of teaching resources selected to mainly help students on primary teacher training courses.
There are resources located here to help plan activities, lessons and devise schemes of work.
The TC is located in the Reading Zone, you can find these items on the Library Catalogue and request them, or just browse.
You will find resources covering numerous topics in addition to the Junior Fiction books. fond in the Reading Zone, designed to help plan lessons for Foundation and Key Stages One and Two.
Items in the TC are loaned for ten weeks to allow students to use them for their school placements.