Skip to main content

Information for Staff: Supporting students

Library Services for students

The Library provides a range of services to support students enhance their academic & study skills and digital literacy.

Inductions and Research Sessions

Librarians offer a range of inductions and workshops tailored to the needs of your class.   These can include:

  •  tours of the library demonstrating how to use the Library catalogue and borrow books, as well as showcasing key text books and additional material.

  • visiting your classroom to offer more in-depth sessions, such as identification of online resources such as ebooks and ejournals, and using the Internet for academic purposes. 

  • using databases to search for journal articles or copyright free images.

Simply get in touch with your Academic Liaison Librarian for more details and book your group in for a session. 

 

Supporting students off-campus

We know that many of our students are part-time, have families and other commitments, and are not always able to stay on campus to study or find resources.  Here are some ideas that will help your students:

  • Link to e-Books on your Moodle pages.  Librarians can provide links and book images on request. 
  • It is sometimes possible to provide a scanned chapter of a key book, or an article from a print journal under the FE Scanning license which can then be made available on your course Moodle page.  Contact your librarian for more information. 
  • Link to our subject guides and website so students can easily find support
  • Link directly to e-Journals and database to help your students navigate to the best resource. Some databases allow links directly to individual journal articles, cases, or reports. 
  • Ask your librarian to create a reading list linked to the library catalogue so students can easily see if their books are available. 

 

One-to-one appointments

Students are welcome to book one-to-one or small group sessions with their librarian.  We can help identify relevant resources, offer refresher or advanced sessions on using databases or e-Books, help using journals or finding information online, and advise on referencing.  The quickest way for students to contact their librarian is by email, but they can also phone or ask at the Library Information Desk. 

Online learning

The library subscribes to a range of resources that can be embedded into Moodle courses or used in class. Some examples are below, but contact your librarian for subject-specific resources. 

  • Students researching topics such as health & wellbeing, citizenship and other social issues will find Issues Online a useful resource. Issues Online provides teachers and students with a safe, reliable place to explore today’s most important social issues. The resource is aimed at FE level.
  • Students can research a topic from their desktop using DISCOVER@BradfordCollege, our online search tool.  This is a quick and easy way to search the College Library’s resources, print and electronic, and find full text information.  We can embed the Discover search box into your Moodle course so it's even easier to find. 
  • Skills4studycampus is an interactive e-learning resource offering online modules on a variety of essential study skills such as Critical Thinking and Writing.  It includes videos, activities and assessment activities.  Students can work through sections independently or activities can be used in class.
  • Encourage students to think about copyright when using images from the Internet. Britannica Image Quest and Vads are databases that hold collections of copyright-cleared images that can be used in education.
  • Students can curate their own reading lists and add reviews to the library catalogue. 
Library Services
Library Catalogue   @BradfordCollegeLibrary   @BradfordCollLib
  BradfordCollegeLRC  
Library, 2nd Floor David Hockney Building, Bradford College, Great Horton Road, Bradford, BD7 1AY