LibraryOnline: Business (FE): Statistics

Statistics

A huge amount of statistical data is available from both free sources and published in databases available in the library.

For any statistics found on the web, apply the usual caution. Always check who has published the statistics, are they reliable, accurate and up-to-date.

Statistics Online

Statista
Statista is a Google-like search tool for researching market and consumer data. It also provides reports such as overviews of a topic, outlook reports on current trends, and surveys, and displays information in charts, graphs and infographics. Search for information on a company such as Netflix, topics such as wearable devices, or industry reports such as Retail Trade in the UK. To browse, remember to select the UK flag icon to restrict your results to UK reports.
Office for National Statistics
The UK's largest independent producer of official statistics. The ONS collects statistics on the economy, population and society and also run and publish the census every 10 years. The ONS publishes over 600 releases a year. Statistics are collected into 4 main headings: Business, Industry and Trade (eg. business activity, innovation, different industries); Economy (eg. GDP, inflation, productivity); Employment and the Labour Market (eg. earnings, productivity, unemployment); and People, Population and the Community (eg. culture, education, health, housing, leisure, migration).
Government Research and Statistics Hub
This government site collects and publishes official statistics from government departments (eg. Home Office, Dept. for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy) and public bodies such as the BBCACAS, or Companies House. Search by topic, world location, date and organisation.
Data.gov.uk
This site allows you to search for data published by central government, local government, and public bodies. This site is to support the government's commitment to providing access to Open Data.
2011 Census
Please note: This census data is from 2011 which is the latest data. The next census is due to be taken in March 2021.

About Bradford's Economy
Data and analysis of Bradford's Economy including Economic Intelligence documents and Bradford Economic Partnership / Economic Strategy. Economic Intellience includes Monthly Unemployment Reports, Local Economic Assessment reports, and individual reports on topics such as Incomes, Businesses, and Job Trends. You can also find Sector Profiles on industries in Bradford on this site.
Labour Market Profile for Bradford on Nomisweb
View a labour market profile of an area / region including data on population, employment, unemployment, qualifications, earnings, benefit claimants and businesses.
All Bradford Data - Bradford Council Open Data
This site from Bradford Council includes access to Maps; Economic Intelligence reports (eg Monthly Unemployment Reports, Local Economic Assessment reports, and individual reports on topics such as Incomes, Businesses, and Job Trends); Sector Profiles on industries in Bradford; Crime mapping; Datasets on population, land, contacts, and Public Health.
Local Statistics from the ONS
This site brings together various sites where you can obtain local data including NOMIS, local data on COVID-19, and links to other data sets that can be customised, such as on the UK Labour Market, Earnings , and Housing.
Nomisweb - ward profile (2011)
Data for smaller areas. Includes Resident population, Labour Supply and Out-of-work benefits. NB. These statistics are from 2011. The next census is in March 2021

YouGov

YouGov is an Internet-based public opinion and market research company. Use this to find out what people think about politics, entertainment, retail, technology, media, lifestyle and more. Includes ranking lists, reports and survey results on a wide range of topics.

Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statista is a Google-like search tool for researching market and consumer data. It also provides reports such as overviews of a topic, outlook reports on current trends, and surveys, and displays information in charts, graphs and infographics. Search for information on a company such as Netflix, topics such as wearable devices, or industry reports such as Retail Trade in the UK. To browse, remember to select the UK flag icon to restrict your results to UK reports.
To access Statista enter your college IT username and password.

Free reports from Euromonitor
Euromonitor are an international market research company. Most reports have to be paid for but a selection are freely accessible from their website. Download report extracts, briefings and white papers on a wide range of topics including consumer trends, industry movement, strategic planning and more. Titles include "Global Trends Report 2015' and 'Top 10 Global Consumer Trends for 2016'.

Nomis - official labour market statistics
View a labour market profile of an area / region including data on population, employment, unemployment, qualifications, earnings, benefit claimants and businesses.
ONS - Employment and Labour Market
People in and out of work covering employment, unemployment, types of work, earnings, working patterns and workplace disputes.

Coronavirus (COVID-19) in the United Kingdom (UK) - Statistics & Facts
Statista has collected COVID-19 content and made it free to access. This UK statistics page includes data on cases and deaths, economic impact and public opinion. Log in to the site to get further information.
Coronavirus (COVID-19) roundup - ONS UK
Catch up on the latest data and analysis related to the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic and its impact on our economy and society.
Institute for Fiscal Studies: Coronavirus and the Economy
IFS is Britain’s leading independent microeconomic research institute. This page brings together analysis, statistics and videos on the covid-19 crisis and its impact on the UK economy