Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding books in the Library
These are the main shelf marks/classification numbers for books on sociology. If you are unsure where to find a specific title you can always ask at the Library Information Desk or search the Library Catalogue.
|Culture and Identity
Sociology by The fourth edition of Fulcher and Scott's Sociology provides an authoritative and theoretically grounded approach to sociology, covering both classic and contemporary research. It provides the context for debate and discussion that enables students to develop their critical awareness skills. Contemporary issues such as anti-social behavior are reinforced with recent research, bolstering the text's student-centreded approach. This edition also looks at popular culture and recent developments in social networking and online identities.
Publication Date: 2011-05-08
Sociology. by Sociology' provides an introduction to its field. The book is packed with student-friendly features such as boxes on 'thinking critically', 'using your sociological imagination', 'classic studies' and 'global society'.
Publication Date: 2017
Sociology Themes and Perspectives by This eighth edition of Sociology Themes and Perspectives provides a comprehensive introduction to sociology for A-level and undergraduate students. This essential resource is fully updated to match the latest sociological teaching, research and developments to support you in learning about sociology today. Brought to you by an established and trusted team of subject experts, Sociology Themes and Perspectives has supported over one million students in the UK and internationally in studying sociology. This new edition will enable you to: * Build your understanding of sociology through the clear and comprehensive explanation* Apply your knowledge with contextualised examples and research* Stay relevant with the most up-to-date research, empirical studies and theories* Consolidate your learning with the quick-reference conclusions and summaries at the end of each chapter* Bring sociology alive with full-colour explanation and photos The new edition features coverage of these critical new topics: globalisation (in a major new section), the Arab Spring, the possible decline of US power, UK Coalition policies, environmental sociology, new media, the financial crash and recession, network society, victimology - and many more! Contents:* Chapter 1: Stratification, class and inequality* Chapter 2: Sex and gender* Chapter 3: 'Race', ethnicity and nationality* Chapter 4: Poverty, social exclusion and the welfare state* Chapter 5: Health, medicine and the body* Chapter 6: Crime and deviance* Chapter 7: Religion* Chapter 8: Families, households and personal life* Chapter 9: Power, politics and the state* Chapter 10: Education* Chapter 11: Culture, socialisation and identity* Chapter 12: The mass media* Chapter 13: Age and the life course* Chapter 14: Methodology* Chapter 15: Sociological theory
Publication Date: 2013-05-01
Contemporary British Society by The third edition of the highly-acclaimed Contemporary British Society is the only textbook to provide comprehensive coverage of all aspects of the social structure of modern Britain. Completely revised and updated, this new edition employs the very latest statistical information and empirical studies, and examines all the new arguments and debates concerning modern British society. Separate chapters explore the major areas of modern life in Britain - economic organization, employment, patterns of inequality, class, gender, ethnicity, family and households, education, health, media, deviance and politics. New to this edition are chapters on globalization, associations, and leisure. The emphasis throughout the book is on an accessible, user-friendly, and non-technical approach. It is written in a jargon-free and approachable style; there is extensive cross-referencing and frequent and clear summarizing of arguments; and numerous photographs, diagrams, graphs, drawings and cartoons complement and illuminate the text. Contemporary British Society is written for students of introductory sociology whether they are taking 'A' level or are in the first year of an undergraduate course in a higher education institution. It will also be useful for those taking courses in other subjects, such as social policy, health and town planning, which demand knowledge of particular aspects of British society.
Publication Date: 2000-06-22
Perspectives in Sociology by From its first edition in 1979, Perspectives in Sociology has provided generations of undergraduates with a clear, reassuring introduction to the complications of sociological theory. This revised and updated edition features: a completely rewritten general introduction and conclusion; all-new introductions to each part, clarifying how each one builds on what came before; an updated set of formative questions at the end of each chapter; a comprehensive glossary of key terms. While retaining its emphasis and wealth of information on the founding figures of sociology, this sixth edition includes new tools that will allow students from related disciplines to access relevant sociological material quickly.
Publication Date: 2015-09-25
Marx, Durkheim, Weber by "This is an excellent introduction to classical social theory. For most students it is the only book on the subject that they will need. The expositions are clear and comprehensive, outlining with almost alarming clarity ideas which many of us have to struggle." - Alan Bryman, The Management Centre, University of Leicester This Second Edition is a thoroughly revised, expanded version of the bestselling student text in classical social theory. Author Kenneth Morrison provides an authoritative, accessible undergraduate guide to the three pivotal figures in the classical tradition. Readable and stimulating, the Second Edition of Marx, Durkheim, Weber: Formations of Modern Social Thought explains the key ideas of these thinkers and situates them in their historical and philosophical contexts. This book gives students an immediate understanding of what is distinctive and relevant about these giants of sociology. With a glossary of over 150 entries, this new edition refines the material, extends the analysis, and enhances student appreciation. This text is essential reading for undergraduate students studying sociological theory in courses such as Classical Sociological Theory and Sociological Theory.
Publication Date: 2006-07-21
Introducing Social Theory by This revised edition of this extremely popular introduction to social theory has been carefully and thoroughly updated with the latest developments in this continually changing field. Written in a refreshingly lucid and engaging style, Introducing Social Theory provides readers with a wide-ranging, well organized and thematic introduction to all the major thinkers, issues and debates in classical and contemporary social theory. Introducing Social Theory traces the development of social theorizing from the classical ideas about modernity of Durkheim, Marx and Weber, right up to a uniquely accessible review of the contemporary theoretical controversies in sociology that surround post-colonialism, gender and feminist theories, and public sociology. The ideal textbook for students of sociology at all levels, from A-level to undergraduates, Introducing Social Theory is remarkably easy to follow and understand. This new edition lives up to its predecessors' goal that students need never be intimidated by social theory again.
Publication Date: 2018-01-04
Social Theory for Beginners by Treating social theory as an exciting intellectual journey in its own right, this new introductory-level textbook presents the key ideas and concepts in social theory together with an account of the intellectual background from which they emerged. Aimed at first-year undergraduates studying sociology and all related disciplines in the social sciences and humanities, it provides an introduction to the major questions and debates facing social theorists and sociologists. Clearly designed presentation and layout features help readers navigate their way around the material thus giving them the best chance of finding what they need quickly and easily.
Publication Date: 2010-05-12
The Sociology of Conflict, Violence, War and Peace
Genocide by Genocide: A Comprehensive Introductionis the most wide-ranging textbook on genocide yet published. The book is designed as a text for upper-undergraduate and graduate students, as well as a primer for non-specialists and general readers interested in learning about one of humanity's enduring blights. Fully updated to reflect the latest thinking in this rapidly developing field, this unique book: Provides an introduction to genocide as both a historical phenomenon and an analytical-legal concept, including the concept of genocidal intent, and the dynamism and contingency of genocidal processes. Discusses the role of state-building, imperialism, war, and social revolution in fuelling genocide. Supplies a wide range of full-length case studies of genocides worldwide, each with a supplementary study. Explores perspectives on genocide from the social sciences, including psychology, sociology, anthropology, political science/international relations, and gender studies. Considers "The Future of Genocide," with attention to historical memory and genocide denial; initiatives for truth, justice, and redress; and strategies of intervention and prevention. Highlights of the new edition include: Nigeria/Biafra as a "contested case" of genocide Extensive new material on the Kurds, Islamic State/ISIS, and the civil wars/genocide in Iraq and Syria. Conflict and atrocities in the world's newest state, South Sudan. The role, activities, and constraints of the United Nations Office of Genocide Prevention. Many new testimonies from genocide victims, survivors, witnesses--and perpetrators. Dozens of new images, including a special photographic essay. Written in clear and lively prose with over 240 illustrations and maps, Genocide: A Comprehensive Introduction remains the indispensable text for new generations of genocide study and scholarship. An accompanying website (www.genocidetext.net) features a broad selection of supplementary materials, teaching aids, and Internet resources.
Publication Date: 2017-02-01
Peace Processes by Peace processes are mostly very fragile. This engagingly written book takes a bold new approach to the topic by beginning from the premise that sociology can identify those factors that help to stabilize them. The book draws a distinction between the political and social dimensions of peace processes, arguing that each is dependent on the other. Consideration of the social peace process, neglected in conventional treatments of the subject, is made central to this volume. While complementing current approaches that emphasize institutional reform in politics, law and economics, it pays due attention to sociological factors such as gender, civil society, religion, the deconstruction of violent masculinities, restorative justice, emotions, hope, forgiveness, truth recovery, social memory and public victimhood. These important themes are fully illustrated with examples and in-depth case studies from across the globe. The book locates itself within the growing debate about the positive impact of global civil society on peace and identifies the new forms of peace work engendered by globalization. It will be essential reading for students and scholars of peace studies in politics, international relations and sociology departments.
Publication Date: 2010-03-08
The Sociology of War and Violence by War is a highly complex and dynamic form of social conflict. This book demonstrates the importance of using sociological tools to understand the changing character of war and organised violence. The author offers an original analysis of the historical and contemporary impact that coercion and warfare have on the transformation of social life, and vice versa. Although war and violence were decisive components in the formation of modernity most analyses tend to shy away from the sociological study of the gory origins of contemporary social life. In contrast, this book brings the study of organised violence to the fore by providing a wide-ranging sociological analysis that links classical and contemporary theories with specific historical and geographical contexts. Topics covered include violence before modernity, warfare in the modern age, nationalism and war, war propaganda, battlefield solidarity, war and social stratification, gender and organised violence, and the new wars debate.
Publication Date: 2010-06-10
War and Genocide by This comprehensive introduction to the study of war and genocide presents a disturbing case that the potential for slaughter is deeply rooted in the political, economic, social and ideological relations of the modern world. Most accounts of war and genocide treat them as separate phenomena. This book thoroughly examines the links between these two most inhuman of human activities. It shows that the generally legitimate business of war and the monstrous crime of genocide are closely related. This is not just because genocide usually occurs in the midst of war, but because genocide is a form of war directed against civilian populations. The book shows how fine the line has been, in modern history, between 'degenerate war' involving the mass destruction of civilian populations, and 'genocide', the deliberate destruction of civilian groups as such. Written by one of the foremost sociological writers on war, War and Genocide has four main features: an original argument about the meaning and causes of mass killing in the modern world; a guide to the main intellectual resources - military, political and social theories - necessary to understand war and genocide; summaries of the main historical episodes of slaughter, from the trenches of the First World War to the Nazi Holocaust and the killing fields of Cambodia, Bosnia and Rwanda; practical guides to further reading, courses and websites. This book examines war and genocide together with their opposites, peace and justice. It looks at them from the standpoint of victims as well as perpetrators. It is an important book for anyone wanting to understand - and overcome - the continuing salience of destructive forces in modern society.
Publication Date: 2003-07-09