If you are looking for books and journal articles for your assignment, DISCOVER Search, our single search tool, is a great place to start.
DISCOVER Search is a quick and easy way to search all the College Library’s resources, print and electronic, including the Library Catalogue, and find full text information. You can search for books, e-books, and journal articles. DISCOVER Search is a bit like using Google except that the results are only for our resources and therefore suitable for your college course.
Databases are online collections of information that you can search to find full text journal articles, reports, news stories and images or videos.
You can select your subject area from the Subject drop down list on the A to Z Database List or check out the "Useful Databases" section. Here you will find the databases which are most suitable to search for information in your specific subject area.
You will be asked to enter your College IT username and password.
This link opens in a new windowEasily search over 17,000 publications from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources covering biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental sciences, history, marketing, political sciences, and psychology. Access articles from Nature, the Economist, the New York Times, and thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
This link opens in a new windowA one stop source for news, magazine and journal articles on a wide range of subjects. Millions of full text articles available as PDF and HTML, many with images. Updated daily.
This link opens in a new windowGale OneFile: News provides access to the full text of local, regional, national and international newspapers and allows users to search for articles by title, headline, date, newspaper section, or other fields. The database offers a one-stop source for current news and searchable archives.
This link opens in a new windowMediaPlus is a resource of Jisc-licensed news, film, image and music content including high profile collections such as ITN, Getty images and Wellcome Library images and sound, hosted and delivered by Alexander Street.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowSupporting comprehensive literature reviews, this resource combines cross-searchable bibliographies in music and performing arts, with full-text from hundreds of journals. Subjects range from musicology to the blues, and from theatre to broadcast arts. With approximately two million records, this resource is continuously updated to reflect new scholarship. Coverage: 1864 - current
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive survey of current publications related to film scholarship alongside detailed and expansive filmographies. This collection includes the specialist index FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute and the British Film Institute; AFI Catalog and Film Index International.
