 |
These are the main shelf marks/classification numbers for books for Media Studies. If you are unsure where to find a specific title you can always ask at the Library Information Desk or search the Library Catalogue.
| Subject | Shelf Mark |
|---|---|
| Advertising | 659.1 |
| Culture | 306 |
| Digital Graphic Design | 741.60285 |
| Editing | 777.55 |
| Ethics | 170 |
| Film Collection (DVDs) | FC |
| Film Studies | 791.43 |
| Journalism | 070 |
| Lighting | 777.52 |
| Media Studies | 302.23 |
| Photojournalism | 779.907 |
| Podcasting | 006.5 |
| Screenwriting | 808.23 |
| Sociology of Media | 302.23 |
| Sound Recording | 621.3893 |
| Television | 791.45 |
| Video Production | 778.59 |
| Women in Media | 305.42 |
WJEC/Eduqas Media Studies for A Level Year 1 & AS by
Created especially for the new WJEC/Eduqas Media Studies A Level and Year 1 and AS specifications being taught from September 2017 and written by experienced Media Studies teachers and examiners. // Designed to encourage students to become confident, independent learners and develop the skills needed as a Media student. // All areas of the new specification are covered and supported by numerous highly-illustrated examples taken from the set products and optional choices. // The theoretical framework underpinning media studies is explored and applied to a range of media forms and products. // A dedicated chapter on the Non-Examined Assessment element of the specification provides clear guidance on how students will be assessed. // Exam guidance sections introduce students to practice questions and the new assessment objectives helping students with the skills they need for assessment. // Extension tasks will help to stretch and challenge higher ability students. // The book supports students taking Media Studies for the first time, as well as those who are progressing from GCSE. // Endorsed by WJEC/Eduqas.
WJEC/Eduqas media studies for A level Year 2 & A2 by
Created especially for the new WJEC/Eduqas Media Studies A Level Year 2 and A2 specifications being taught from September 2017.
Social Learning Theory by
An exploration of contemporary advances in social learning theory with special emphasis on the important roles played by cognitive, vicarious, and self-regulatory processes.
The Media Student's Book by
This introductory textbook provides a comprehensive guide for students of media studies on A-Level, BTEC, City and Guilds, GNVQ and undergraduate courses. It covers all the key topics they will encounter, with notes on key terms and references..
Gender and Media by
Why do some TV genres have the label feminine or masculine? Why do we worry about boys playing video games too much while girls play just as often? Is the TV show Sex and the Cityempowering or not? Why are recent television shows like Desperate Housewivespost-feminist television? Gender and Mediaexplores these and other complex questions by offering a critical overview of the contemporary debates and discussions surrounding gender and mediated communication, and by providing student's with an overview of the current academic research on these topics. The book is divided into three parts: representing, producing, and consuming with each section made up of three chapters. The first chapter of each section attempts to answer the most basic questions: 'Who is represented?', 'Who produces what?' and 'Who consumes what?'. The second chapter of each section draws attention to the complexity of the relationship between gender and media, concentrating on the "why." The third and final chapter of each section addresses the latest debates in the fields of media and gender, adding a vital layer of understanding of the topic at hand. This process is aided by text boxes, which provide some additional information on the most important concepts and topics and exercises, which help bridge the gap between theory and everyday life media practices. This will be an ideal textbook for students studying gender and media, and for general courses on gender studies, sociology, cultural studies and women's studies.
Media, Gender and Identity by
Popular media present a vast array of stories about women and men. What impact do these images and ideas have on people¿s identities? The new edition of Media, Gender and Identity is a highly readable introduction to the relationship between media and gender identities today. Fully revised and updated, including new case studies and a new chapter, it considers a wide range of research and provides new ways for thinking about the media¿s influence on gender and sexuality. David Gauntlett discusses movies such as Knocked Up and Spiderman 3, men¿s and women¿s magazines, TV shows, self-help books, YouTube videos, and more, to show how the media play a role in the shaping of individual self-identities. The book includes: a comparison of gender representations in the past and today, from James Bond to Ugly Betty an introduction to key theorists such as Judith Butler, Anthony Giddens and Michel Foucault an outline of creative approaches, where identities are explored with video, drawing, or Lego bricks a Companion Website with extra articles, interviews and selected links, at: www.theoryhead.com.
Power Without Responsibility by
This book attacks the conventional history of the press as a story of progress; offers a critical defence and history of public service broadcasting; provides a myth-busting account of the internet; a subtle account of the impact of social media and explores key debates about the role and politics of the media. It has become a standard book on media and other courses: but it has also gone beyond an academic audience to reach a wider public. Hailed as ¿a classic of media history and analysis¿ by the Irish Times and a book that has ¿cracked the canon¿ by the Times Higher, it has been translated into five languages. This edition contains six new chapters. These include the press and the remaking of Britain, the rise of the neo-liberal Establishment, the moral decline of journalism, the impact of social media and a history of attempts to reform the press. It contains new research on the relationship between programmes, institutions and society. It places key UK institutions in the wider context of international affairs and their impact. The book has been updated to take account of new developments like Brexit and the rise of Jeremy Corbyn and the shift in authority and legitimacy prompted by social media. It does this with a clear explanation of how policy can shape media outcomes.
Representation by
Since 1997 Representation has been the key go-to textbook for students learning the tools to question and critically analyze institutional and media texts and images. This long-awaited Second Edition: . update and refreshes the approach to theories of representation by signalling key developments in the field . addresses the emergence of new technologies and formats of representation, from the internet and the digital revolution to reality TV . includes an entirely new chapter on celebrity culture and personalisation, to debates about representation and democracy, and involve illustrations of an intertextual nature, cutting across various technologies and formats in which 'the real' or the authentic makes an appearance . offers new exercises, new readings, new images and examples for a new generation of students This book will once again prove an indispensible resource for students and teachers in cultural and media studies.
Genre and Contemporary Hollywood by
This wide-ranging text is one of the first to look in detail at some of the principal genres, cycles and trends in Hollywood's output during the last two decades. It includes analysis of such films as Sense and Sensibility, Grifters, The Mask, When Harry Met Sally, Pocahontas, Titanic, Basic Instinct, Coppola's Dracula, and Malcolm X.
Search by author, title or a subject keyword. Any matching results will be displayed.
You can then find out the following information:
If all copies of a textbook are on loan you can place a reservation, or there may be a copy available online as an e-book.
If the book or journal article is not available from the library you can ask for an inter-library loan.
