If you are looking for books and journal articles for your assignment, DISCOVER Search, our single search tool, is a great place to start.
DISCOVER Search is a quick and easy way to search all the College Library’s resources, print and electronic, including the Library Catalogue, and find full text information. You can search for books, e-books, and journal articles. DISCOVER Search is a bit like using Google except that the results are only for our resources and therefore suitable for your college course.
Databases are online collections of information that you can search to find full text journal articles, reports, news stories and images or videos.
You can select your subject area from the Subject drop down list on the A to Z Database List or check out the "Useful Databases" section. Here you will find the databases which are most suitable to search for information in your specific subject area.
You will be asked to enter your College IT username and password.
A Search Index is a internet search engine that only searches webpages that have been chosen by specialists. They are often subject specific. They are useful for when you only have a few search terms and need academically reliable information.
Search Indexes will often include additional information about the returned pages, such as a list of where the page has been cited and related works. This can lead you to further sources of information on your subject.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowBritannica Academic is a combination of the Encyclopædia Britannica, Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, thesaurus, magazines, periodicals, and many other research tools providing a variety of reliable sources students need for research.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowEmerald Insight is a database of over 300 peer-reviewed journals. Subject coverage of the journals includes marketing, human resource management, training, economics, hospitality management, quality, engineering, built environment, health services management, social care, accounting, and organisation studies.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowGale eBooks is a collection encyclopedias and specialized reference materials covering a wide range of subject and curriculum areas including Arts and Humanities, Child Care studies, Fashion, Business and Finance, Tourism and much more.
This link opens in a new windowA one stop source for news, magazine and journal articles on a wide range of subjects. Millions of full text articles available as PDF and HTML, many with images. Updated daily.
This link opens in a new windowIssues Online provides teachers and students with a safe, reliable place to explore today’s most important social issues. It contains hundreds of articles, infographics, videos, assignment ideas and e-books on topics ranging from human rights, domestic violence, health and wellbeing, drugs, and alcohol.
This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowAnatomy.TV from Primal Pictures is a comprehensive 3D anatomy atlas, professional reference and image library of human anatomy with fully interactive anatomical models.
This link opens in a new windowAccess more than 500 full text journals covering topics such as psychiatry and psychology, emotional and behavioural characteristics, and observational and experimental methods.
PubMed Central (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health’s National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Find the answer to your science and technology questions with online access to the current magazine plus archived editions going back to April 1989.
This link opens in a new windowSocINDEX with Full Text is a sociology research database and contains the full text for more than 820 journals dating back to 1908.
This link opens in a new windowSPORTDiscus with Full Text provides access to the full text of 550 journals dating back to 1985. SPORTDiscus with Full Text covers all areas of sports and sports medicine.
This link opens in a new windowIssues Online provides teachers and students with a safe, reliable place to explore today’s most important social issues. It contains hundreds of articles, infographics, videos, assignment ideas and e-books on topics ranging from human rights, domestic violence, health and wellbeing, drugs, and alcohol.
