Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding books in the Library
These are the main shelf marks/classification numbers for English A Level and GCSE. If you are unsure where to find a specific title you can always ask at the Library Information Desk or search the
||428, 428.0076, 428.2076
|Gender Differences in Language
|Reading for pleasure
||RC (Reading Collection)
A Level English Language
A/AS Level English Language for AQA Student Book by Endorsed for the AQA A/AS Level English Language specifications for first teaching from 2015, this print Student Book is suitable for all abilities, providing stretch opportunities for the more able and additional scaffolding for those who need it. Helping bridge the gap between GCSE and A Level, the unique three-part structure provides essential knowledge and allows students to develop their skills through a deeper study of key topics, whilst encouraging independent learning.
Publication Date: 2015-04-30
AQA English language A Level and AS Student book by This book offers targeted support to meet the demands of the 2015 AQA A Level English Language specification. Offering up-to-date material, and flagging AS specification requirements, it builds the skills students will be assessed on to help them achieve their potential.
Publication Date: 2015
The Language of Literature by Essential study guides for the future linguist. The Language of Literature is a general introduction to the methods and principles behind stylistics. It is suitable for advanced level students and beyond. Written with input from the Cambridge English Corpus, it provides students with an introduction to stylistics with texts from different genres. It takes the approach that the best way to study literary texts is to focus closely on language. Using short activities to help explain analysis methods, this book guides students through major modern issues and concepts. It summarises key concerns and findings, while providing inspiration for language investigations and non-examined assessments (NEAs) with research suggestions.
Publication Date: 2018-01-25
Communicating in English by Communicating in English: Talk, Text, Technology looks at how people use spoken and written English to communicate in their everyday lives. Exploring the complex relationship between communication, technology and the English language, this book offers the reader practical insights into the analysis of speech and writing. A wide range of examples is provided, ranging from text messages and domestic quarrels to the works of Shakespeare and the words of Martin Luther King. This book takes a fresh look at established topics such as rhetoric, language acquisition, and professional communication, as well as covering exciting new fields such as everyday creativity, digital media, and the history of the book. Key theoretical concepts are introduced in an accessible manner, and the reader is given an in-depth understanding of English-language communication in its social and historical contexts. Drawing on the latest research and on the Open University¿s experience of producing accessible and innovative texts, this book: ¿ explains basic concepts and assumes no previous study of English studies, communication studies or linguistics ¿ features a range of source material and commissioned readings to supplement chapters ¿ includes contributions from leading experts in their fields, including Naomi Baron, Deborah Cameron, Guy Cook, Janet Holmes and Almut Koester ¿ has a truly international scope, encompassing examples and case studies from Europe, North America, Africa, Asia, and Australasia ¿ is illustrated in full colour and includes a comprehensive index. Communicating in English: Talk, Text, Technology is essential reading for all students of English language studies or communication studies.
Publication Date: 2012-05-03
The Blue Book of Grammar and Punctuation by An e-book revised and updated new edition of the bestselling workbook and grammar guide The Blue Book of Grammar and Punctuation is a concise, entertaining workbook and guide to English grammar, punctuation, and usage. This user-friendly resource includes simple explanations of grammar, punctuation, and usage; scores of helpful examples; dozens of reproducible worksheets; and pre- and post-tests to help teach grammar to students of all ages. Appropriate for virtually any age range, this authoritative guide makes learning English grammar and usage simple and fun. This updated Eleventh Edition reflects the latest updates to English usage and grammar and features a fully revised two-color design and lay-flat binding for easy photocopying. Clear and concise, easy-to-follow, offering "just the facts" Fully updated to reflect the latest rules in grammar and usage along with new quizzes Ideal for students from seventh grade through adulthood in the US and abroad For anyone who wants to understand the major rules and subtle guidelines of English grammar and usage, The Blue Book of Grammar and Punctuation offers comprehensive, straightforward instruction.
Publication Date: 2014-01-22
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the English Language by The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the English Language is packed with accurate and well researched factual information. It has played a key role in the spread of general interest in language matters, generating further publications and broadcasting events for an avid audience. This second edition now presents an overhaul of the subject for a new generation of language-lovers and of teachers, students and professional English-users concerned with their own linguistic legacy. The length of the book has been extended and there are 44 new illustrations, extensive new material on world English and Internet English, and a complete updating of statistics, further reading suggestions and other references.
Publication Date: 2003-08-25