Skip to Main Content
Sociology
Perspectives in Sociology by E. C. Cuff; A. J. Dennis; D. W. Francis; W. W. Sharrock
From its first edition in 1979, Perspectives in Sociology has provided generations of undergraduates with a clear, reassuring introduction to the complications of sociological theory. This revised and updated edition features: a completely rewritten general introduction and conclusion; all-new introductions to each part, clarifying how each one builds on what came before; an updated set of formative questions at the end of each chapter; a comprehensive glossary of key terms. While retaining its emphasis and wealth of information on the founding figures of sociology, this sixth edition includes new tools that will allow students from related disciplines to access relevant sociological material quickly.
Shelfmark: 301/CUF
ISBN: 9781138793545
Date: 2015-09-25
Sociology Themes and Perspectives by Michael Haralambos; Martin Holborn
This eighth edition of Sociology Themes and Perspectives provides a comprehensive introduction to sociology for A-level and undergraduate students. This essential resource is fully updated to match the latest sociological teaching, research and developments to support you in learning about sociology today. Brought to you by an established and trusted team of subject experts, Sociology Themes and Perspectives has supported over one million students in the UK and internationally in studying sociology. This new edition will enable you to: * Build your understanding of sociology through the clear and comprehensive explanation* Apply your knowledge with contextualised examples and research* Stay relevant with the most up-to-date research, empirical studies and theories* Consolidate your learning with the quick-reference conclusions and summaries at the end of each chapter* Bring sociology alive with full-colour explanation and photos The new edition features coverage of these critical new topics: globalisation (in a major new section), the Arab Spring, the possible decline of US power, UK Coalition policies, environmental sociology, new media, the financial crash and recession, network society, victimology - and many more! Contents:* Chapter 1: Stratification, class and inequality* Chapter 2: Sex and gender* Chapter 3: 'Race', ethnicity and nationality* Chapter 4: Poverty, social exclusion and the welfare state* Chapter 5: Health, medicine and the body* Chapter 6: Crime and deviance* Chapter 7: Religion* Chapter 8: Families, households and personal life* Chapter 9: Power, politics and the state* Chapter 10: Education* Chapter 11: Culture, socialisation and identity* Chapter 12: The mass media* Chapter 13: Age and the life course* Chapter 14: Methodology* Chapter 15: Sociological theory
Shelfmark: 301/HAR
ISBN: 9780007498826
Date: 2013-05-01
Social Theory
Marx, Durkheim, Weber by Kenneth Morrison
"This is an excellent introduction to classical social theory. For most students it is the only book on the subject that they will need. The expositions are clear and comprehensive, outlining with almost alarming clarity ideas which many of us have to struggle." - Alan Bryman, The Management Centre, University of Leicester This Second Edition is a thoroughly revised, expanded version of the bestselling student text in classical social theory. Author Kenneth Morrison provides an authoritative, accessible undergraduate guide to the three pivotal figures in the classical tradition. Readable and stimulating, the Second Edition of Marx, Durkheim, Weber: Formations of Modern Social Thought explains the key ideas of these thinkers and situates them in their historical and philosophical contexts. This book gives students an immediate understanding of what is distinctive and relevant about these giants of sociology. With a glossary of over 150 entries, this new edition refines the material, extends the analysis, and enhances student appreciation. This text is essential reading for undergraduate students studying sociological theory in courses such as Classical Sociological Theory and Sociological Theory.
Shelfmark: 301.0922/MOR
ISBN: 9780761970569
Date: 2006-07-21
Introducing Social Theory by Pip Jones; Liz Bradbury
This revised edition of this extremely popular introduction to social theory has been carefully and thoroughly updated with the latest developments in this continually changing field. Written in a refreshingly lucid and engaging style, Introducing Social Theory provides readers with a wide-ranging, well organized and thematic introduction to all the major thinkers, issues and debates in classical and contemporary social theory. Introducing Social Theory traces the development of social theorizing from the classical ideas about modernity of Durkheim, Marx and Weber, right up to a uniquely accessible review of the contemporary theoretical controversies in sociology that surround post-colonialism, gender and feminist theories, and public sociology. The ideal textbook for students of sociology at all levels, from A-level to undergraduates, Introducing Social Theory is remarkably easy to follow and understand. This new edition lives up to its predecessors' goal that students need never be intimidated by social theory again.
Shelfmark: 301.01/JON
ISBN: 9781509505050
Date: 2018-01-04
Social Theory for Beginners by Paul Ransome
Treating social theory as an exciting intellectual journey in its own right, this new introductory-level textbook presents the key ideas and concepts in social theory together with an account of the intellectual background from which they emerged. Aimed at first-year undergraduates studying sociology and all related disciplines in the social sciences and humanities, it provides an introduction to the major questions and debates facing social theorists and sociologists. Clearly designed presentation and layout features help readers navigate their way around the material thus giving them the best chance of finding what they need quickly and easily.
Shelfmark: 301.01/RAN
ISBN: 9781847426741
Date: 2010-05-12
A Level Sociology Textbooks
Perspectives in Sociology by
From its first edition in 1979, Perspectives in Sociology has provided generations of undergraduates with a clear, reassuring introduction to the complications of sociological theory. This revised and updated edition features: a completely rewritten general introduction and conclusion; all-new introductions to each part, clarifying how each one builds on what came before; an updated set of formative questions at the end of each chapter; a comprehensive glossary of key terms. While retaining its emphasis and wealth of information on the founding figures of sociology, this sixth edition includes new tools that will allow students from related disciplines to access relevant sociological material quickly.
Sociology Themes and Perspectives by
This eighth edition of Sociology Themes and Perspectives provides a comprehensive introduction to sociology for A-level and undergraduate students. This essential resource is fully updated to match the latest sociological teaching, research and developments to support you in learning about sociology today. Brought to you by an established and trusted team of subject experts, Sociology Themes and Perspectives has supported over one million students in the UK and internationally in studying sociology. This new edition will enable you to: * Build your understanding of sociology through the clear and comprehensive explanation* Apply your knowledge with contextualised examples and research* Stay relevant with the most up-to-date research, empirical studies and theories* Consolidate your learning with the quick-reference conclusions and summaries at the end of each chapter* Bring sociology alive with full-colour explanation and photos The new edition features coverage of these critical new topics: globalisation (in a major new section), the Arab Spring, the possible decline of US power, UK Coalition policies, environmental sociology, new media, the financial crash and recession, network society, victimology - and many more! Contents:* Chapter 1: Stratification, class and inequality* Chapter 2: Sex and gender* Chapter 3: 'Race', ethnicity and nationality* Chapter 4: Poverty, social exclusion and the welfare state* Chapter 5: Health, medicine and the body* Chapter 6: Crime and deviance* Chapter 7: Religion* Chapter 8: Families, households and personal life* Chapter 9: Power, politics and the state* Chapter 10: Education* Chapter 11: Culture, socialisation and identity* Chapter 12: The mass media* Chapter 13: Age and the life course* Chapter 14: Methodology* Chapter 15: Sociological theory
Marx, Durkheim, Weber by
"This is an excellent introduction to classical social theory. For most students it is the only book on the subject that they will need. The expositions are clear and comprehensive, outlining with almost alarming clarity ideas which many of us have to struggle." - Alan Bryman, The Management Centre, University of Leicester This Second Edition is a thoroughly revised, expanded version of the bestselling student text in classical social theory. Author Kenneth Morrison provides an authoritative, accessible undergraduate guide to the three pivotal figures in the classical tradition. Readable and stimulating, the Second Edition of Marx, Durkheim, Weber: Formations of Modern Social Thought explains the key ideas of these thinkers and situates them in their historical and philosophical contexts. This book gives students an immediate understanding of what is distinctive and relevant about these giants of sociology. With a glossary of over 150 entries, this new edition refines the material, extends the analysis, and enhances student appreciation. This text is essential reading for undergraduate students studying sociological theory in courses such as Classical Sociological Theory and Sociological Theory.
Introducing Social Theory by
This revised edition of this extremely popular introduction to social theory has been carefully and thoroughly updated with the latest developments in this continually changing field. Written in a refreshingly lucid and engaging style, Introducing Social Theory provides readers with a wide-ranging, well organized and thematic introduction to all the major thinkers, issues and debates in classical and contemporary social theory. Introducing Social Theory traces the development of social theorizing from the classical ideas about modernity of Durkheim, Marx and Weber, right up to a uniquely accessible review of the contemporary theoretical controversies in sociology that surround post-colonialism, gender and feminist theories, and public sociology. The ideal textbook for students of sociology at all levels, from A-level to undergraduates, Introducing Social Theory is remarkably easy to follow and understand. This new edition lives up to its predecessors' goal that students need never be intimidated by social theory again.
Social Theory for Beginners by
Treating social theory as an exciting intellectual journey in its own right, this new introductory-level textbook presents the key ideas and concepts in social theory together with an account of the intellectual background from which they emerged. Aimed at first-year undergraduates studying sociology and all related disciplines in the social sciences and humanities, it provides an introduction to the major questions and debates facing social theorists and sociologists. Clearly designed presentation and layout features help readers navigate their way around the material thus giving them the best chance of finding what they need quickly and easily.
