For more specialist searching use a subject database.
Databases are online collections of information that you can search to find full text journal articles, reports, news stories and images or videos.
You can select your subject area from the Subject drop down list on the Online Database List or check out the "Recommended Databases" section. Here you will find the databases which are most suitable to search for information in your subject area.
If prompted to login use your Bradford College username and password.
This link opens in a new windowEasily search over 17,000 publications from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources covering biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental sciences, history, marketing, political sciences, and psychology. Access articles from Nature, the Economist, the New York Times, and thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
This link opens in a new windowA one stop source for news, magazine and journal articles on a wide range of subjects. Millions of full text articles available as PDF and HTML, many with images. Updated daily.
This link opens in a new windowIssues Online provides teachers and students with a safe, reliable place to explore today’s most important social issues. It contains hundreds of articles, infographics, videos, assignment ideas and e-books on topics ranging from human rights, domestic violence, health and wellbeing, drugs, and alcohol.
This link opens in a new windowGale OneFile: News provides access to the full text of local, regional, national and international newspapers and allows users to search for articles by title, headline, date, newspaper section, or other fields. The database offers a one-stop source for current news and searchable archives.
This link opens in a new windowAnatomy.TV from Primal Pictures is a comprehensive 3D anatomy atlas, professional reference and image library of human anatomy with fully interactive anatomical models.
This link opens in a new windowAccess more than 500 full text journals covering topics such as psychiatry and psychology, emotional and behavioural characteristics, and observational and experimental methods.
This link opens in a new windowSocial Care Online is the UK's largest online database of information on all aspects of social work and social care.
It includes legislation, government documents, practice and guidance, systematic reviews, research briefings, UK grey (informally-published) literature, reports, and journal articles. The database is updated daily and contains over 160,000 records from the 1980s onwards. This database has now closed down and has not been updated with new research since early 2023
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowThe Social Work Toolkit is an online resource which brings together a wealth of content designed to help social work students develop the knowledge, skills and confidence to succeed on their course and placements.
This link opens in a new windowSocINDEX with Full Text is a sociology research database and contains the full text for more than 820 journals dating back to 1908.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThe UK's largest independent producer of official statistics and the recognised national statistical institute of the UK.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowSocial Care Online is the UK's largest online database of information on all aspects of social work and social care.
It includes legislation, government documents, practice and guidance, systematic reviews, research briefings, UK grey (informally-published) literature, reports, and journal articles. The database is updated daily and contains over 160,000 records from the 1980s onwards. This database has now closed down and has not been updated with new research since early 2023
This link opens in a new window
