Journals are collections of articles, news, updates and opinion on current issues, which are aimed at lecturers and students, and sometimes people working in the industry. They are published at regular intervals throughout the year which means they can include very up-to-date information, and they usually focus on a specific topic so are useful if you want more detail on your topic than provided by textbooks. We have some journals in print, but most are available online - you can find a list here. You should use journal articles rather than information from the Internet as they have been checked prior to publication and can be relied on to be accurate and authoritative.
This link opens in a new windowIssues Online provides teachers and students with a safe, reliable place to explore today’s most important social issues. It contains hundreds of articles, infographics, videos, assignment ideas and e-books on topics ranging from human rights, domestic violence, health and wellbeing, drugs, and alcohol.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowSocial Care Online is the UK's largest online database of information on all aspects of social work and social care.
It includes legislation, government documents, practice and guidance, systematic reviews, research briefings, UK grey (informally-published) literature, reports, and journal articles. The database is updated daily and contains over 160,000 records from the 1980s onwards.
Issues Online provides a reliable starting point to explore today’s most important social issues. It contains hundreds of articles, infographics, videos, assignment ideas and eBooks on topics ranging from human rights and domestic violence to drugs and alcohol. Issues Online is a really good place to start when starting to plan a research topic, or finding out more information.
You will be aware that there is a lot of information on health issues in newspapers. Remember to try and get information that is more detailed, in-depth and balanced by using one of the 'broadsheet' newspapers such as the Guardian, Independent, Times or Telegraph. You can find articles from some of these newspapers for free online. For the Times and Telegraph which sit behind a paywall (ie you have to pay to view articles), use General OneFile.
