LibraryOnline: Art & Design (FE): Electronic Resources

Databases

If you need to find information on a particular subject from a book, journal or newspaper a database is the best place to start your search.

A database will allows you to search through the text and title of journals and newspaper articles, books and other on-line sources directly. You will often be able to customise your searches to get exactly the information you need.

Databases often provide the full text of an article but sometimes only provide an abstract or description or a reference to that you will need to be follow up using the Library catalogue or the Library website.

Below you can find the Databases that may be useful to help you with your studies. Click on their name to access them or the i for more information.

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window Art Full Text offers full text access to over 300 journals. Covers art, artists, history of art, design, graphic design, architecture, metalwork, jewellery, cultural policy, visual culture, museums, film, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. 
- This link opens in a new window
Please use your College username and password (this is your student/staff email address and password) to log in.
Accessibility Statement for Art Full Text
ARTstor This link opens in a new window Covers over 1.5 million high-quality images of art from around the world. Contains wide range of types of art (paintings, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, etc.) from ancient times to the present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
To access ArtStor off campus:
Click on LOG IN from the ArtStor home page;
Select ‘Log in through your institution’;
Type in Bradford College or select from the drop down list and click on LOG IN;
Enter your College username and password (this is your student/staff email address and password.
You may be asked to register. Please use your college email address.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window Britannica Academic is a combination of the Encyclopædia Britannica, Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, thesaurus, magazines, periodicals, and many other research tools providing a variety of reliable sources students need for research.
- This link opens in a new window
Please use your college IT username and password to access Britannica Online Academic Edition.
Britannica Image Quest This link opens in a new window Britannica Image Quest is a searchable database of digital images that allows access to more than two million images that are rights-cleared for educational use.
- This link opens in a new window
The images are from over 50 of the best collections in the world, including: Action Plus for sports; Photo Researchers; akg-images; Getty Images; and Photoshot.

Please use your College username and password (this is your student/staff email address and password)to access Britannica Image Quest.
Google Arts & Culture This link opens in a new window Artworks and collections from around the world.
- This link opens in a new window
Google Arts & Culture is a partnership between Google and 17 art museums around the world to place high resolution images online for you to explore. You can navigate the collections in a similar way to Google Street View. Each work of art includes viewing notes,information about the artist, and links to more images by the artist across the museum collections. In addition the website allows you to create your own collection of images selected from any of the museums and to share this using email or social networking sites.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window SocINDEX with Full Text is a sociology research database and contains the full text for more than 820 journals dating back to 1908.
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include sociology, criminology, ethnic and racial studies, gender, the family, politics, social theory, and social structure.
Please use your College username and password (this is your student/staff email address and password) to log in.
Accessibility Statement for SocINDEX with Full Text
VADS This link opens in a new window Online resource for the visual arts. VADS (the Visual Arts Data Service) has provided services to the academic community for over 20 years and has built up a considerable portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 140,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research in the UK.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Electronic Journals

The Library gives you access to over eight thousand electronic journals, including issues published in the last century. These include both electronic versions of items we have in print and others we only through subscription to collections and databases such as ArtFullText.

Electronic journals can be accessed from the Electronic Journals webpage, where you can search for a journal by its title or subject. Once you have accessed a journal you will be able to search through that one journal for an article to search through more than one journal at a time you will need to use DISCOVER@BradfordCollege or a database.

Some of electronic journals can now be accessed using Flipster that allows you to browse and flip through the electronic journals much like as if you were reading them in print. Though you can also search and look through back issues, click here to access Flipster.

To accesss any of our electronic journals you will need to login using your standard College login and password.

You can also search for a Journal using the search box below.

Electronic Journals Homepage This will allow to search for the title or subject of an electronic journal.

DISCOVER Search

DISCOVER Search is a single search tool that allows you to search for keywords in your subject across the majority of electronic resources that the College Library subscribes to. This includes EBSCOHost databases, including ArtFullText, Britannica Online and a large amount of our Electronic Journals.

It does not include the College's image databases, these are available here.

You will need to use your College log-on and password if you want to access DISCOVER Search.

Relevant Websites

Here you can find some websites that have useful information about Art, Craft and Design

Image Databases

ArtStor

The database comprises 2 separate image collections called “ArtStor Digital Library” and “Shared Shelf Commons”. The Digital Library has more than two million images from 280 collections supporting teaching and research in many topics including Anthropology, Archaeology, Architecture, Art History, Fashion & Costume, Literature, Religion, Theatre, World History, and much more. There are more than 100,000 new images added each year.

Britannica Image Quest

Our largest database has over 2 million images from over 50 collections around the world, in particular Getty Images, National Geographical society, DK Images, Blend Images, Science Photo Library, National Portrait Gallery and the Granger Collection, amongst many others. You can search via collections and/or Keyword or subject. Results can be downloaded, printed, emailed or even added to lightbox. This database can be useful to many different subjects.

Anatomy.tv by Primal Pictures

This is a teaching resource for anatomy and physiology; from images of cells to the skeletal system. It is split into modules on various subjects with descriptive information. Whilst this resource is particularly relevant to Biology & Chemistry students, it may also be relevant to some Arts & Media subjects

----------------------------------------------------------------------------


DISCOVER Search
Search articles, books, journals & more


	Keyword	Title	Author

Art & Design (FE): Electronic Resources

Introduction