If you are looking for books and journal articles for your assignment, DISCOVER Search, our single search tool, is a great place to start.
DISCOVER Search is a quick and easy way to search all the College Library’s resources, print and electronic, including the Library Catalogue, and find full text information. You can search for books, e-books, and journal articles. DISCOVER Search is a bit like using Google except that the results are only for our resources and therefore suitable for your college course.
Databases are online collections of information that you can search to find full text journal articles, reports, news stories and images or videos.
You can select your subject area from the Subject drop down list on the A to Z Database List or check out the "Useful Databases" section. Here you will find the databases which are most suitable to search for information in your specific subject area.
You will be asked to enter your College IT username and password.
The Financial Times is one of the world’s leading news organisations, recognised internationally for its authority, integrity and accuracy. Packed with the latest news and analysis, it is a key resource for students of Business, Politics and Economics. The Library has been able to arrange free access to FT.com under their Secondary schools programme. PLEASE NOTE: This offer extends to all 16-19 students and any member of staff working in the institution. We regret that HE students are not included in this free scheme.
More details on the scheme are here: https://www.ft.com/content/7ab6a9ec-1e4e-11e8-aaca-4574d7dabfb6
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowSearch or browse for information including data, financial reports, market research reports, news and profiles on global companies and industries.
This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Premier covers UK and international business, management and economics issues across a range of sectors including construction, IT, education, and health. Provides full-text journal articles; market, company & industry sector reports; and country intelligence.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowEmerald is a database of over 300 peer-reviewed journals. Subject coverage of the journals includes marketing, human resource management, training, economics, hospitality management, quality, engineering, built environment, health services management, social care, accounting, and organisation studies.
This link opens in a new windowA one stop source for news, magazine and journal articles on a wide range of subjects. Millions of full text articles available as PDF and HTML, many with images. Updated daily.
This link opens in a new windowGale OneFile: News provides access to the full text of local, regional, national and international newspapers and allows users to search for articles by title, headline, date, newspaper section, or other fields. The database offers a one-stop source for current news and searchable archives.
This link opens in a new windowIssues Online provides teachers and students with a safe, reliable place to explore today’s most important social issues. It contains hundreds of articles, infographics, videos, assignment ideas and e-books on topics ranging from human rights, domestic violence, health and wellbeing, drugs, and alcohol.
