LibraryOnline: Construction (HE): Electronic Resources

If you need to find information on a particular subject from a book, journal or newspaper a database is the best place to start your search.

A database will allows you to search through the text and title of journals and newspaper articles, books and other on-line sources directly. You will often be able to customise your searches to get exactly the information you need.

Databases often provide the full text of an article but sometimes only provide an abstract or description or a reference to that you will need to be follow up using the Library catalogue or the Library website.

Applied Science & Technology Full Text This link opens in a new window Access full text articles from over 800 journals in science and technology. Subjects covered include: engineering, chemical engineering, construction, food industry, mechanical engineering and textiles.Coverage: Indexing and abstracting from 1983; Full text from 1990.
- This link opens in a new window
Please use your College username and password (this is your student/staff email address and password) to log in.
Accessibility Statement for Applied Science & Technology Full Text
British Standards Online Custom Collection This link opens in a new window These British Standards have been chosen in consultation with teaching staff for their relevance to courses taught at the College.You can use "Quick View" to read the BSI document in your browser and this does not require you to install anything.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Please use your College username and password (this is your student/staff email address and password) to access British Standards Online Custom Collection.

To download the BSI documents you will need to install the FileOpen plug-in.
You will also need to make sure you Adobe Acrobat or Reader installed in order to view any documents.
Accessibility Statement for British Standards
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window Emerald Insight is a database of over 300 peer-reviewed journals. Subject coverage of the journals includes marketing, human resource management, training, economics, hospitality management, quality, engineering, built environment, health services management, social care, accounting, and organisation studies.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
To access Emerald off campus click on “Login” at the top of the Emerald home page. Click on "Access through your institution". Type Bradford College in the "Find Your Institution" box. Please use your College username and password (this is your student/staff email address and password) to log in.
Accessibility Statement for Emerald Insight
General OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window A one stop source for news, magazine and journal articles on a wide range of subjects. Millions of full text articles available as PDF and HTML, many with images. Updated daily.
- This link opens in a new window
To access Gale General OneFile off campus:
Click on the link “Login via your home institution” ;
Please use your College username and password (this is your student/staff email address and password) to log in.
Accessibility Statement for General OneFile (Gale)
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window Topics include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy and recycling.
- This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. Includes full text for open access journals.
Please use your College username and password (this is your student/staff email address and password) to log in.

Bradford College Library Services provides access to a number of British Standards using British Standards On-line. The standards shown below are the ones that the College has access to that relate to Construction Management.

If you want to read one of the listed standards and are in College please click on either the standard's title or number and you will be taken directly to it. If you are out of College please use the link at the bottom of this section and then search for whichever standard you are interested in bu name or number.

Click here to access British Standards On-line out of College