The electronic books or e-books provided by the College are electronic versions of printed books which can be read in full text via the Internet. The College has access to the content of over 5000 e-books. The majority of e-books for your course are available on two main platforms or websites – Ebook Central and VLeBooks.
These are some of the advantages of using e-books:
they are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, on or off campus,
for the majority of titles you don’t have to wait for a copy to be returned,
you can easily search the content of an e-book, including the text, table of contents, appendices, and bibliography
you can download or print sections of an e-book
you have the ability to make notes that will there whenever you access the book
You may need to log into access an e-book, this will be done using your College email and standard college password
The easiest way to find if a particular title is available as an e-book is to search the Library Catalogue just as you would for printed books. You can search for an author, title or keyword.
You can use the search box on the top of the page to search the catalogue, just choose E-books from the drop down menu.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowThe titles on Ebook Central have been selected by Academic Liaison Librarians to support subjects taught at the College. You can browse and search for titles on the Ebook Central platform or search for a title via the Library Catalogue.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThe titles on VLeBooks (Browns Books) have been selected by Academic Liaison Librarians to support subjects taught at the College. You can browse and search for titles on the VLeBooks platform or search for a title via the Library Catalogue.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThe O'Reilly Learning Platform gives you access to a variety of formats including live online training courses, interactive tutorials, books, videos, and case studies.
Subjects covered include: Business; Desktop and Web Applications; Digital Media; Engineering; Information Technology & Software Development; Math & Science; Personal & Professional Development.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowA collection of titles published by Kogan Page on essential career planning and employability skills.
This link opens in a new windowBloomsbury Social Work provides online access to over 200 social work textbooks published by Bloomsbury (formerly MacMillan). The collection also includes research and study skills titles.
This link opens in a new windowGale eBooks is a collection encyclopedias and specialized reference materials covering a wide range of subject and curriculum areas including Arts and Humanities, Child Care studies, Fashion, Business and Finance, Tourism and much more.
