Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding books in the Library
You can borrow up to 20 books for 2 weeks. After this time, they will renew for 1 more week unless someone else requests a copy. They will keep renewing for up to 20 times.
You must check your email which will tell you if you need to bring your books back.
These are the main shelf marks/classification numbers for books for Early Years and Childcare. If you are unsure where to find a specific title you can always ask at the Library Information Desk or search the Library Catalogue.
|Day Care: Children
|Diet & Nutrition
|Early Years Education
|How Children Learn
|Learning Through Play
|Sociology of Childhood
Search the Library Catalogue
Search by author, title or a subject keyword. Any matching results will be displayed.
You can then find out the following information:
- where the book is - the shelf mark;
- how long the book can be borrowed for;
- and whether a book is on the shelf or out on loan.
CACHE level 2 introduction to early years education and care by Develop your understanding and skills with this textbook endorsed by CACHE for the new qualification. Written by Carolyn Meggitt, who is an expert in making key concepts easy for learners to understand, this comprehensive introduction will help you earn your qualification and progress to level 3.
Publication Date: 2015
Children and young people's workforce candidate handbook by Level 2 Certificate.
This text covers all mandatory units and a good selection of optional units to provide the information learners need to succeed. Engaging case studies, activities and photos give a real flavour of working in childcare and help learners relate theory to good practice.
Publication Date: 2010
Childcare & education : early years educator by Written by experts Carolyn Meggitt and Tina Bruce, this is the only resource for the Level 3 Diploma in Childcare & Education (EYE) endorsed by CACHE. The approachable writing style makes learning key concepts both easy and enjoyable for all learners, and all aspects of the qualification are covered and linked to specific learning outcomes.
Publication Date: 2015
Children and Young People's Workforce by This student book is mapped to the QCF qualifications, covering all of the mandatory units and a selection of the most popular optional units. The eye-catching text design presents information in a stimulating way to engage students and motivate them to achieve.
Publication Date: 2011
Children and Young People's Workforce - Extended Diploma by Written by a highly experienced and respected author team, this book focuses on the knowledge you will need in order to obtain the qualification, and will support you through your assessment and the start of your career.
Publication Date: 2012
Learning Theories in Childhood by Focusing on the early philosophies of learning and key behavioural, cognitive, and social theorists, including Locke, Rousseau, Montessori, Piaget, Vygotsky, Bandura, Bronfenbrenner & Bruner, this popular book provides a comprehensive overview of children′s learning. The authors highlight the strengths and weaknesses of each theoretical perspective, and encourage reflection on how different approaches impact on the learning environment. The discussion finishes with an exploration of the new sociology of childhood. New to this Second Edition are: · a new chapter on ′What is theory and what is learning? · a new chapter on 'The Changing nature of learning' There is also a new companion website which features: · journal articles to read alongside each chapter · podcasts from the authors explaining the key points on each topic · links to video material discussing key theories and methods.You can access the books online materials at study.sagepub.com/grayandmacblain2e Accessibly written, with key questions and recommended reading included, this book is essential for all those studying on child development, early childhood and childhood studies courses, and for anyone interested in understanding more about how children learn and think. Colette Gray is Head of Research Development and Principal Lecturer in Childhood Studies at Stanmillis University College, Belfast, and Sean MacBlain is Reader in Child Development and Disability at the University of St. Mark & St. John, Plymouth. For access to the website
Publication Date: 2015-10-07
Learning Theories for Early Years Practice by Understanding and applying learning theories is crucial to the transition from study or training, to practice in a real-world setting. This new textbook will prepare the reader by demonstrating how key learning theories pan out in practice, with the aid of photographs, examples and clear explanations. Divided into three main sections, Early Influences, Modern Influences, and Challenges for Theorists in a Changing World, this author identifies the key theorists in early childhood, past and present, before linking them to the main issues and developments that face early years practitioners today. An explanation of each key theorist is guided by a clear structure, including: links to other theorists strengths and weaknesses of the theory the theory in practice Packed full of case studies, activities, points for discussion, extended and recommended reading, this is a fantastic resource for students and teachers who want to build a strong foundation in learning theories, to enable them to support the young children in their care as effectively as possible.
Shelfmark: 372.21 MAC
Publication Date: 2018-05-14
Early Childhood Theories and Contemporary Issues by Having a good grasp of theories of child development and what these look like in practice, can make a positive difference to how you understand babies and children and the ways in which they learn. This guide offers easy access to a wide range of concepts, as well as traditional and current theories, of how babies and children learn. Each chapter offers clear guidance on how to recognise the theory in action within the setting and suggests ways to test these ideas out in early years' settings, supporting the development of reflective practice. Case studies are included throughout, along with questions to guide thinking and encourage readers to develop their practice. Summaries conclude each chapter offering a quick reference of the theory examined and the benefits of applying it to practice. An essential guide for those looking to develop their practice in supporting child development within the Early Years.
Publication Date: 2015-01-15
Understanding and Using Educational Theories by This textbook gives readers a clear overview of a selection of the most influential thinkers on education in the last hundred year, including established names (Vygotsky, Bruner, Dewey), more recent thinkers (Freire, hooks, Claxton) and other key names whose writing has helped shaped our views on teaching and learning. This second edition includes new chapters on Albert Bandura, Dylan Wiliam and Carol Dweck.Each chapter includes: Practical examples showing how theories can be used to inform classroom teaching Critiques of each theorist exploring opposing viewpoints and the strengths and weaknesses of different ideas Reflective tasks inviting you to apply what you′ve read to your own educational experiences.
Publication Date: 2018-12-17
Can't find the book you want?
If all copies of a textbook are on loan you can place a reservation, or there may be a copy available online as an e-book.
If the book or journal article is not available from the library you can ask for an inter-library loan.
Child Development by View all stages of a child's development with this guide for Level 2 and 3 Childcare and Early Years students. This invaluable handbook for all Level 2 and 3 qualifications guides students through the stages of development with stunning photography and videos. Ideal for those carrying out observations and assessments or completing an assignment, it includes clear links to inclusion opportunities, underpinning theory and the EYFS throughout each and every stage. - Aids visual learners with photography and videos which can be viewed on smartphones or computers - Links all aspects of development to the EYFS, ensuring learners have the most up-to-date information - Incorporates developmental theory into all aspects of the developmental stages in a simple way for learners to understand and includes a dedicated chapter on theory for learners looking for more information - Includes clear links to inclusion principles throughout so students can apply them to real life situations easily
Publication Date: 2013-02-22
Child development : an illustrated guide by Fully updated and restructured so learners can match the new EYFS key areas and can be sure they have the most up-to-date information.
Publication Date: 2012
Safeguarding and child protection by This volume provides essential information to ensure high standards for child protection across early years settings, schools and play provision. It covers key legislation and guidance, with clear implications for practice.
Publication Date: 2016
Learning Through Play by Let the expert on Early Years Play explain the key ideas and best practice. Professor Tina Bruce, an acknowledged expert on play, has a real talent for presenting key ideas and difficult concept in a clear and straightforward manner. This definitive guide to the values behind play, the importance of play for child development from 0 to 5 years old, and best practice for cultivating play in an Early Years or Educational setting. She shows that play helps children to achieve the highest form of learning in early childhood. This is an ideal text for those studying Play at levels 3 and 4, Foundation Degrees, Undergraduate Early Childhood Studies and Primary Education courses, Postgraduate study and for those working in an Early Years setting.
Publication Date: 2011-09-25
Getting It Right for Two Year Olds by Learn how to meet the needs of two year olds with this indispensable guide by Penny Tassoni which is ideal for both early years settings and students. Written by the leading author in Childcare and Early Years education, this is a complete guide to working with this age group. It looks in detail at two year olds' development in each of the prime areas of learning and provides advice on how best to plan activities, organise provision and create stimulating environments. It is also a typical Tassoni book: fun, informative and practical! - Pinpoints two year olds' development across the prime areas of learning: Personal, Social and Emotional development, Physical development and Communication and Language - Provides guidance on how to carry out the two year old progress check and work with parents and other professionals to support development - Includes practical tips on overcoming tantrums, fussy eating and other challenges associated with this age group -Explains the specific play needs of two year olds - Includes activities linked to the EYFS which focus on each of the prime areas
Publication Date: 2014-05-30
Child care and development by Deliver a detailed and focused child development course with the seventh edition of this textbook from Pamela Minett, designed to cover all the relevant topics in concise and highly illustrated chapters. Quickly access individual topic areas with concise, focused, and clearly laid out chapters.
Publication Date: 2017
Childcare and Education by Deliver an in depth programme of teaching for level 3 and level 4 with this classic textbook that inspires your students to go further. Written by an expert team of childcare authors, the sixth edition of this classic textbook offers an in-depth approach to Childcare and Early Years study unmatched by any course specific texts. Child Care and Education 6th Edition provides full details of all the topics and frameworks relevant to level 3 and level 4 qualifications. It offers the opportunity to analyse and explore theories and practice at a high level of detail. - Provides post level 3 material in clearly marked 'Moving On' sections at the end of each chapter. - Focuses on the practicalities of working within a real-life setting using case studies and observation tasks. - Suitable for level 3 qualifications and courses that bridge the gap between levels 3 and 4.
Publication Date: 2016-06-23
Early Childhood and Neuroscience by Early Childhood and Neuroscience is a practical guide to understanding the complex and challenging subject of neuroscience and its use (and misapplication) in early childhood policy and practice. The author begins by introducing the definition and history of neuroscience. The reader is then led through structured chapters discussing questions such as: Why should practitioners know about neuroscience? How can neuroscience help practitioners better provide for babies and children? and Is it relevant? Topics covered include the nature vs. nurture debate through the lens of neuroscience, epigenetics, the first 1001 days and a discussion on just how critical the first three years of life are to healthy brain development. The book provides a balanced overview of the debates by weaving discussion on the opportunities of using neuroscience in early childhood practice with examination of the limitations and ethical implications throughout the chapters. This enables students to inform their own opinions about the discipline and its use in their future practice. Clear explanations of the main terms and theories are complemented with illustrative case studies of cutting-edge research from around the world, a glossary of key terms and suggestions for further reading. Reflective discussion questions give students the chance to apply their theoretical knowledge to real-world contexts. These features encourage and support independent critical thinking, helping students to reflect on, evaluate and analyse a range of ideas, research findings and applications for their own future early childhood practice. Early Childhood and Neuroscience is essential reading for lecturers, undergraduate and postgraduate students in the field as well as for the new practitioner.
Shelfmark: 372.21 CON
Publication Date: 2017-01-12
Understanding children's behaviour : learning to be with others in the early years by Many Early Years settings are taking in children for longer periods and at a younger age. However, their day-to-day practice has not necessarily changed and instead leads to the 'management' of behaviour, rather than investigating why the behaviour is taking place. Through a combination of practice, theory and reflection, leading Early Years education consultant Penny Tassoni explores children's behaviour from a child-centred point of view. In doing so, she shows how, over time, children learn to be with others and the strategies that adults can use to positively support this development.
Shelfmark: 155.4 TAS
Publication Date: 2018