Journals are newspapers or magazines that cover a particular subject or profession. Each journal issue contains a number of articles, written by different authors, all of which will relate to the subject covered by the journal.
Journals are also called periodicals or serials, because they are published on an ongoing basis throughout the year - this can be weekly, monthly, quarterly etc.
Most journals are now available online but some are available in the library including the ones below.
Quick guide to finding journal articles
Before searching, think about:
Be prepared to read around your subject. You may not find an article which directly answers your assignment question, but instead you will need to synthesis information from a variety of sources. For example, you may find material on customer behaviour in a different setting to the one you are researching, but the argument and findings can be applied to your own topic.
Use the contents pages and indexes in textbooks to look up company names, theories or concepts. Don't just rely on your reading list - there is a lot of information out there!
Refer to the reading lists in books and journal articles, or use the related articles and cited by functions in Emerald and Google Scholar to widen your reading.
How do you evaluate what articles are most appropriate for your research? Use the CRAAP test to help you assess each article:
When was the article published? Does it matter for your topic?
Are there more recent articles you could use?
Does the information help in answering your question?
Is it at the right level? Is it too basic or too advanced?
Does it add to your understanding?
Does the author work for a particular organisation such as a University?
Is the author appropriately qualified to provide the information?
Has the information been peer-reviewed? If an article has been peer reviewed it will have been evaluated or edited by other experts in the same field.
Where does the information come from?
Is it supported by evidence?
Can you verify the information from another source?
What is the purpose or reason of the article?
Is the article objective? Does it give a balanced view? Is there hidden bias? Does the author use emotive language?
Has the author provided supporting evidence?
Does the article include references?
If you are looking for books and journal articles for your assignment, DISCOVER @BradfordCollege, our single search tool, is a great place to start.
DISCOVER is a quick and easy way to search all the College Library’s resources, print and electronic, including the Library Catalogue, and find full text information. You can search for books, e-books, and journal articles. DISCOVER is a bit like using Google except that the results are only for our resources and therefore suitable for your college course.
Databases are online collections of information that you can search to find full text journal articles, reports, news stories and images or videos.
You can select your subject area from the Subject drop down list on the A to Z Database List or check out the "Useful Databases" section. Here you will find the databases which are most suitable to search for information in your specific subject area.
Off campus you will be asked to enter your College username and password.