Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding books in the Library
These are the main shelf marks/classification numbers for books for Supporting Teaching and Learning. If you are unsure where to find a specific title you can always ask at the Library Information Desk or search the Library Catalogue.
|Day Care: Children
|Diet & Nutrition
|Early Years Education
|Learning Through Play
|Sociology of Childhood
|Supporting Teaching and Learning
CACHE level 2 certificate in supporting teaching and learning by Be inspired to enhance classroom learning with this textbook, by highly respected and experienced author Louise Burnham. Build your learning support skills with guidance tailored to the extensive new CACHE qualification due to launch in January 2018.
Publication Date: 2018
CACHE level 3 diploma in supporting teaching and learning by Develop your skills as a teaching assistant with coverage of all units in the new CACHE qualification. Build confidence in your role with practical advice and full explanations from best-selling author Louise Burnham. Translate theory into practice with tips for best practice and case studies for challenging topics such as behaviour nanagement. Strengthen your understanding of theory and practice, with comprehensive information linked clearly to assessment criteria.
Publication Date: 2018
The Teaching Assistant's Guide to Effective Interaction by The Teaching Assistant's Guide to Effective Interaction is the definitive guide to teaching assistant-pupil interaction and an invaluable professional development tool for classroom support staff and the teachers who work with them. The authors' research and development work with schools has highlighted the need for specific, practical guidance on the role of the teaching assistant. This highly practical and accessible book sets out a role for teaching assistants that focuses on developing pupils' independence and ownership of learning. Based on a classroom-tested framework, and covering the main contexts in which teaching assistants work, it includes practical strategies and reflective activities to help you improve the support you provide to pupils in everyday settings. This book will help you to: Improve your interactions with pupils Understand the principles behind effective classroom talk Carefully scaffold pupils' learning Work effectively in collaboration with teachers Support the Assessment for Learning process Support group work and collaborative tasks Deliver intervention programmes. This book is an essential read for all teaching assistants. It will also be of interest to school leaders, SENCos and teachers, in both primary and secondary schools, who wish to improve their use of teaching assistants and their own interactions with pupils.
Publication Date: 2015-09-03
Brilliant Teaching Assistant by What does it really take to become a brilliant teaching assistant? Are you getting the most out of your current support role? Are you aware of the training and development opportunities available to you? How do you become more effective in the classroom? What can you do to take your career further? Brilliant Teaching Assistant answers these questions and many more. Outlining the key duties and responsibilities of the role, and illustrated with examples from practical contexts, Louise Burnham will show you how to shine in the classroom and focus on your continuing professional development to aim for the next step in your career in education. BRILLIANT OUTCOMES Understand the school curriculum, timetabling and planning Work more effectively with other school staff Learn what you can do to better support the pupils in your care
Publication Date: 2011-05-05
Search the Library Catalogue
Search by author, title or a subject keyword. Any matching results will be displayed.
You can then find out the following information:
- where the book is - the shelf mark;
- how long the book can be borrowed for;
- and whether a book is on the shelf or out on loan.
Child Development by View all stages of a child's development with this guide for Level 2 and 3 Childcare and Early Years students. This invaluable handbook for all Level 2 and 3 qualifications guides students through the stages of development with stunning photography and videos. Ideal for those carrying out observations and assessments or completing an assignment, it includes clear links to inclusion opportunities, underpinning theory and the EYFS throughout each and every stage. - Aids visual learners with photography and videos which can be viewed on smartphones or computers - Links all aspects of development to the EYFS, ensuring learners have the most up-to-date information - Incorporates developmental theory into all aspects of the developmental stages in a simple way for learners to understand and includes a dedicated chapter on theory for learners looking for more information - Includes clear links to inclusion principles throughout so students can apply them to real life situations easily
Publication Date: 2013-02-22
Child development : an illustrated guide by Fully updated and restructured so learners can match the new EYFS key areas and can be sure they have the most up-to-date information.
Publication Date: 2012
Safeguarding and child protection by This volume provides essential information to ensure high standards for child protection across early years settings, schools and play provision. It covers key legislation and guidance, with clear implications for practice.
Publication Date: 2016
Can't find the book you want?
If all copies of a textbook are on loan you can place a reservation, or there may be a copy available online as an e-book.
If the book or journal article is not available from the library you can ask for an inter-library loan.