Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding books in the Library
These are the main shelf marks/classification numbers for books for Construction. If you are unsure where to find a specific title you can always ask at the Library Information Desk or search the Library Catalogue.
|BIM (Building Information Modelling)
|Health & Safety
||363.11 & 690.22
|Mathematics for Construction
Search the Library Catalogue
Search by author, title or a subject keyword. Any matching results will be displayed.
You can then find out the following information:
- where the book is - the shelf mark;
- how long the book can be borrowed for;
- and whether a book is on the shelf or out on loan.
Can't find the book you want?
If all copies of a textbook are on loan you can place a reservation, or there may be a copy available online as an e-book.
If the book or journal article is not available from the library you can ask for an inter-library loan.
BTEC national construction. Student book by BTEC Nationals in Construction For the 2017 specifications.
This volume has clearly laid out pages with a range of supportive features to aid learning and teaching, ensuring learners understand the grading criteria and unit requirements.
Publication Date: 2017
BTEC first construction and the built environment by This title covers four core units and a wide selection of optional units providing all the necessary underpinning knowledge. Units are professionally presented in topics so they are easy to dip in and out of and refer to during lessons.
Publication Date: 2013
Recommended Further Reading
The Building Regulations by Since publication of the first edition in 1976, The Building Regulations: Explained and Illustrated has provided a detailed, authoritative, highly illustrated and accessible guide to the regulations that must be adhered to when constructing, altering or extending a building in England and Wales. This latest edition has been fully revised throughout. Much of the content has been completely rewritten to cover the substantial changes to the Regulations since publication of the 13th edition, to ensure it continues to provide the detailed guidance needed by all those concerned with building work, including architects, building control officers, Approved Inspectors, Competent Persons, building surveyors, engineers, contractors and students in the relevant disciplines.
Publication Date: 2017-05-01
Guide to the Building Regulations by All new buildings, extensions and refurbishment work must comply with Building Regulations in order to protect the health and safety of building occupants. In recent years the regulations have become increasingly complex, making the process of demonstrating compliance more arduous. This well-established guide provides the construction industry with concise, clear guidance on the essentials of the Building Regulations, setting out the key compliance requirements to help designers and other construction professionals produce safe, attractive buildings. The third edition has been fully revised and updated to incorporate the 2015 amendments to the Building Regulations, including: ¿ An optional higher standard of water efficiency for Requirement G2 (Water efficiency), which may be required as a planning condition. ¿ A new fittings approach to water efficiency as an alternative to the Water Efficiency Calculator. ¿ Amendment to guidance on solid waste storage in Part H (Drainage and waste disposal), which now requires consideration of local amenity when designing bin storage. ¿ Division of Approved Document M into two volumes addressing dwellings and non-dwellings respectively. ¿ Expansion of Requirement M4 (Access to and use of dwellings) to include three different accessibility categories for dwellings. Categories 2 and 3 are optional standards, which may be required as a planning condition. ¿ The introduction of brand new Part Q (Security) with new provisions for domestic doors and windows in order to prevent unauthorised access. ¿ Updating of references to standards and other documents. Fully updated and written to save time for hard-pressed users, the 3rd edition of Guide to the Building Regulations is the essential companion for architects, construction professionals and building control officers alike.
Publication Date: 2016
Project Management in Construction by The one thing that all well-run, profitable construction projects have in common is that they benefit from good project managers. People who have the skills to plan the project, manage it and keep it on track whenever tight timescales, costs, people or other difficulties threaten to derail it. The good news is that there is no secret art to project management. These are the skills that any manager can learn and use. Project Management in Construction is a practical, easy-to-read guide to defining, organizing, planning, and executing a construction project so that it is completed to the satisfaction of the principal stakeholders. The book is part of the Leading Construction Series co-published by Gower and CITB-ConstructionSkills. The Leading Construction Series is part of a CITB-ConstructionSkills initiative to develop management skills within the industry. The books in this series are designed to be essentially practical, with a firm grounding in the construction industry.
Publication Date: 2004
Surveying for construction by Surveying for Construction 5e is an essential textbook for students of engineering new to surveying, and will also appeal to students of building and environmental studies and archaeology. Offering a strong grounding in land and construction surveying, the authors clearly and comprehensively guide the reader through the principles, methods and equipment used in modern-day surveying.
Publication Date: 2006
Construction Planning, Programming and Control by This book offers a clear explanation of the principles and practiceof construction planning, programming and control during thepreparation and construction stages of a project. The book iswritten in the context of current procurement and contractualarrangements and JCT2005, NEC3 and ICE7 contracts are covered. Thestatutory framework within which construction projects must bemanaged is explained and the topic of construction hazard and riskis covered in detail. A variety of programming techniques areexplained and the development of safe construction sequences andmethods is particularly emphasised. The control of time, money andresources are considered in a risk management context and acomplete chapter is devoted to cash flow. The third edition has been extensively updated and extended toinclude new materials on: * Hazard identification * Risk assessment * Health and safety management * CDM 2007 * Construction sequences and method statements * Delay analysis * Waste management and Site Waste Management Plans The final three chapters are devoted to individual case studieswhich have been selected to illustrate the practical application ofthe principles explained in the book and to provide examples ofcurrent procedures adopted by major contractors. The content isdesigned to provide a clear and comprehensive text forundergraduates on construction management, surveying and civilengineering degree courses.
Publication Date: 2009-02-09
Introduction to Health and Safety in Construction by Introduction to Health and Safety in Constructionhas been specially written for the thousands of students who complete the NEBOSH National Certificate in Construction Health and Safety each year. Fully revised in alignment with the April 2015 syllabus, the fifth edition provides students with all they need to tackle the course with confidence. The book covers all the essential elements of health and safety management in construction including the legal framework, risk assessment and control standards. Highly illustrated, with information provided in a clear, easily accessible format, it also provides checklists and record sheets to supplement learning. Aligned to the NEBOSH National Certificate in Construction Health and Safety Practice questions and answers to test knowledge and increase understanding Complete with a companion website containing extra resources for tutors and students at www.routledge.com/cw/hughes The only textbook endorsed for the NEBOSH National Certificate in Construction Health and Safety, the Introduction to Health and Safety in Constructionis also suitable for construction courses in the UK and overseas and serves as a comprehensive reference for managers and professionals within the construction industry.
Publication Date: 2015-11-02
Building Construction Handbook by Ideal for students on all construction courses Topics presented concisely in plain language and with clear drawings Updated to include revisions to Building and Construction regulations The Building Construction Handbookis THE authoritative reference for all construction students and professionals. Its detailed drawings clearly illustrate the construction of building elements, and have been an invaluable guide for builders since 1988. The principles and processes of construction are explained with the concepts of design included where appropriate. Extensive coverage of building construction practice, techniques, and regulations representing both traditional procedures and modern developments are included to provide the most comprehensive and easy to understand guide to building construction. This new edition has been updated to reflect recent changes to the building regulations, as well as new material on the latest technologies used in domestic construction. Building Construction Handbook is the essential, easy-to-use resource for undergraduate and vocational students on a wide range of courses including NVQ and BTEC National, through to Higher National Certificate and Diploma, to Foundation and three-year Degree level. It is also a useful practical reference for building designers, contractors and others engaged in the construction industry.
Publication Date: 2016-05-26
Construction technology 5th edition by 'Construction Technology' provides a comprehensive introduction to every aspect of the technology of domestic low-rise construction and principal associated legislation.
Publication Date: 2011
Building in the 21st Century by Robert Cooke introduces basic fundamentals of construction and the environment and shows how analytical methods solve practical problems and incorporates science of materials with material selection.
Publication Date: 2007-10-29
Estimating and Tendering for Construction Work by Estimators need to understand the consequences of entering into a contract, often defined by complex conditions and documents, as well as to appreciate the technical requirements of the project. Estimating and Tendering for Construction Work, 5th edition, explains the job of the estimator through every stage, from early cost studies to the creation of budgets for successful tenders. This new edition reflects recent developments in the field and covers: new tendering and procurement methods the move from basic estimating to cost-planning and the greater emphasis placed on partnering and collaborative working the New Rules of Measurement (NRM1 and 2), and examines ways in which practicing estimators are implementing the guidance emerging technologies such as BIM (Building Information Modelling) and estimating systems which can interact with 3D design models With the majority of projects procured using design-and-build contracts, this edition explains the contractor¿s role in setting costs, and design statements, to inform and control the development of a project¿s design. Clearly-written and illustrated with examples, notes and technical documentation, this book is ideal for students on construction-related courses at HNC/HND and Degree levels. It is also an important source for associated professions and estimators at the outset of their careers.
Publication Date: 2016-07-26
Quantity Surveyor's Pocket Book by This second edition of the Quantity Surveyor's Pocket Bookis fully updated in line with NRM1, NRM2 and JCT(11), and remains a must-have guide for students and qualified practitioners. Its focussed coverage of the data, techniques, and skills essential to the quantity surveying role make it an invaluable companion for everything from initial cost advice to the final account stage. Key features include: the structure of the construction industry cost forecasting and feasibility studies measurement and quantification, with NRM2 and SMM7 examples estimating and bidding whole life costs contract selection final account procedure. This text includes recommended formats for cost plans, developer's budgets, financial reports, financial statements and final accounts. This is the ideal concise reference for quantity surveyors, project and commercial managers, and students of any of the above.
Publication Date: 2012-09-28
Introduction to Estimating for Construction by Students and professionals encountering estimating for the first time need an approachable introduction tonbsp;its principles and techniques, which is up to date with current practice.nbsp;Introduction to Estimating for Construction explains both the traditional techniques, and best practice in early contractor involvement situations,nbsp;within the framework of modern construction procurement. As well as introducing differentnbsp;estimating techniques, it includes: The nature of costs in construction from a cost of resources approach Modern tendering procedures and the stages of development of construction projects How to convert an estimatenbsp;into a formal tender and then into a contract Simple numerical examples of estimates Estimating and cost analysis during the construction project Summaries andnbsp;discussion questions in every chapter This isnbsp;an easy to read introduction tonbsp;building estimatingnbsp;for undergraduate students, or anyone working innbsp;anbsp;quantity surveying or construction commercial management role who needs a quick reference.
Publication Date: 2013-03-07
Willis's Elements of Quantity Surveying by The measurement of building elements is a core subject forquantity surveying students. Responding to the recently publishedsecond volume of the New Rules of Measurement (NRM2) by the RoyalInstitution of Chartered Surveyors, the 12th edition of Willis'sElements of Quantity Surveying explains, from first principles andto NRM2 standards, the measurement process for all the key buildingelements. This edition begins with an overview of the need for measurementand the differing rules governing measurement at different stagesof the design or project cycle. As in previous editions the focusremains the detailed measurement of building elements, but the texthas been fully revised in line with the NRM2 rules. A range of newand revised examples illustrating the use of NRM2 rules are a keyfeature of the book, which concludes with guidance on how to usethe data collected during the measurement process to create thetender documents. In the 12th edition the hallmarks of previous editions -clarity and practicality - have been maintained whileensuring the book is fully up to date, providing the student ofquantity surveying with a first class introduction to themeasurement of building elements.
Publication Date: 2014-03-17
BIM and Construction Management by A sleeker, more comprehensive approach to construction projects BIM and Construction Management, Second Edition is a complete integration guide, featuring practical advice, project tested methods and workflows, and tutorials for implementing Building Information Modeling and technology in construction. Updated to align with the latest software editions from Autodesk, Trimble and Bentley, this book provides a common sense approach to leveraging BIM to provide significant value throughout a project's life cycle. This book outlines a results-focused approach which shows you how to incorporate BIM and other technologies into all phases of construction management, such as: Project planning: Set up the BIM project to succeed right from the start by using the right contracts, the right processes and the right technology Marketing: How to exceed customer expectations and market your brand of BIM to win. Pre-construction: Take a practical approach to engineer out risks in your project by using the model early to virtually build and analyze your project, prior to physical construction. Construction: Leverage the model throughout construction to build safer and with better quality. Field work: Learn how mobile technologies have disrupted the way we work in the field to optimize efficiencies and access information faster. Closeout: Deliver a better product to your customer that goes beyond the physical structure and better prepares them for future operations. Additionally, the book provides a look at technology trends in construction and a thoughtful perspective into potential use cases going forward. BIM and Construction Management, Second Edition builds on what has changed in the construction landscape and highlights a new way of delivering BIM-enabled projects. Aligning to industry trends such as Lean, integrated delivery methods, mobile platforms and cloud-based collaboration this book illustrates how using BIM and technology efficiently can create value.
Publication Date: 2015-05-11
The BIM Manager's Handbook by The BIM Manager's Handbook: Guidance for Professionals in Architecture, Engineering, and Construction Building Information Modelling (BIM) is a design and construction software that manages not just graphics, but also information--information that enables the automatic generation of drawings and reports, design analysis, schedule simulation, facilities management, and cost analysis--ultimately enabling any building team to make better-informed decisions. This allows a range of professionals--architects, engineers, construction managers, surveyors, cost estimators, project managers, and facility managers--to share this information throughout a building's lifecycle. BIM is now recognized worldwide for the efficiencies it delivers in terms of working collaboratively, communication, processes, cost savings, and a property's lifecycle management. With the widespread adoption of BIM, BIM Managers have become a much-needed new breed of professionals in architectural, engineering, and construction practice. Their role is often misunderstood and ill-defined, and such are the day-to-day deliverables that they are likely to face. The BIM Manager's Handbook provides an in-depth account of the breadth of activities that any BIM Manager or staff member, who is actively engaged in the delivery of project, is required to undertake. Providing prereleases of the final work, The BIM Manager's Handbook ePart series isolates significant topics around BIM management. In the sixth and final ePart, BIM is taken to the next level by outlining what is required to truly excel as a BIM Manager. It highlights how BIM Managers acquire the necessary communication skills to maximize an efficient information flow between the BIM Manager and others. It illustrates how BIM Managers tie their activities to cutting-edge BIM research and development globally. Lastly, this ePart lays out how to promote BIM excellence both within an organization and beyond.
Publication Date: 2016-05-02
Building Information Modeling for Dummies by Everything you need to make the most of building information modeling If you're looking to get involved in the world of BIM, but don't quite know where to start, Building Information Modeling For Dummies is your one-stop guide to collaborative building using one coherent system of computer models rather than as separate sets of drawings. Inside, you'll find an easy-to-follow introduction to BIM and hands-on guidance for understanding drivers for change, the benefits of BIM, requirements you need to get started, and where BIM is headed. The future of BIM is bright--it provides the industry with an increased understanding of predictability, improved efficiency, integration and coordination, less waste, and better value and quality. Additionally, the use of BIM goes beyond the planning and design phase of the project, extending throughout the building life cycle and supporting processes, including cost management, construction management, project management, and facility operation. Now heavily adopted in the U.S., Hong Kong, India, Singapore, France, Canada, and countless other countries, BIM is set to become a mandatory practice in building work in the UK, and this friendly guide gives you everything you need to make sense of it--fast. Demonstrates how BIM saves time and waste on site Shows you how the information generated from BIM leads to fewer errors on site Explains how BIM is based on data sets that describe objects virtually, mimicking the way they'll be handled physically in the real world Helps you grasp how the integration of BIM allows every stage of the life cycle to work together without data or process conflict Written by a team of well-known experts, this friendly, hands-on guide gets you up and running with BIM fast.
Publication Date: 2015-12-21
BIM Handbook by Discover BIM: A better way to build better buildings Building Information Modeling (BIM) offers a novel approach to design, construction, and facility management in which a digital representation of the building product and process is used to facilitate the exchange and interoperability of information in digital format. BIM is beginning to change the way buildings look, the way they function, and the ways in which they are designed and built. The BIM Handbook, Third Edition provides an in-depth understanding of BIM technologies, the business and organizational issues associated with its implementation, and the profound advantages that effective use of BIM can provide to all members of a project team. Updates to this edition include: Information on the ways in which professionals should use BIM to gain maximum value New topics such as collaborative working, national and major construction clients, BIM standards and guides A discussion on how various professional roles have expanded through the widespread use and the new avenues of BIM practices and services A wealth of new case studies that clearly illustrate exactly how BIM is applied in a wide variety of conditions Painting a colorful and thorough picture of the state of the art in building information modeling, the BIM Handbook, Third Edition guides readers to successful implementations, helping them to avoid needless frustration and costs and take full advantage of this paradigm-shifting approach to construct better buildings that consume fewer materials and require less time, labor, and capital resources.
Publication Date: 2018-08-14
The BIM Management Handbook by An authoritative and practical road map for those implementing and managing BIM workflows. With the 2016 deadline for BIM level 2 fast approaching and the growing realisation of the huge benefits BIM brings these skills are becoming industry essentials. Concentrating on the how rather than the why this will help you to adapt by clearly, and without jargon, explaining standard BIM processes, Government standards and the effective coordination of design, construction and asset information. Spanning both organisational strategy and day-to-day practical tasks it explores bottom line business reasoning as well as potential risks and challenges. Extra features include: * Case studies that demonstrate real world approaches as well as problems and solutions * Checklists for adequately resourcing BIM roles and responsibilities in relation to PAS-1192 * Self-check questions allowing you to evaluate your BIM implementation methodology This is the go-to guide for BIM Coordinators and Managers, architectural principals, design team leaders and architectural technicians ensuring you are 'BIM ready' in 2016. It will also be invaluable for Part 3 students getting to grips with BIM strategy and implementation.
Publication Date: 2016-08-08
Construction Mathematics by Construction Mathematicsis an introductory level mathematics text, written specifically for students of construction and related disciplines. Learn by tackling exercises based on real-life construction maths. Examples include: costing calculations, labour costs, cost of materials and setting out of building components. Suitable for beginners and easy to follow throughout. Learn the essential basic theory along with the practical necessities. The second edition of this popular textbook is fully updated to match new curricula, and expanded to include even more learning exercises. End of chapter exercises cover a range of theoretical as well as practical problems commonly found in construction practice, and three detailed assignments based on practical tasks give students the opportunity to apply all the knowledge they have gained. Construction Mathematicsaddresses all the mathematical requirements of Level 2 construction NVQs from City & Guilds/CITB and Edexcel courses, including the BTEC First Diploma in Construction. Additional coverage of the core unit Mathematics in Construction and the Built Environment from BTEC National Construction, Civil Engineering and Building Services courses makes this an essential revision aid for students who do not have Level 2 mathematics experience before commencing their BTEC National studies. This is also the ideal primer for any reader who wishes to refresh their mathematics knowledge before going into a construction HNC or BSc.
Publication Date: 2014-02-27
Materials Science in Construction by Materials Science in Constructionexplains the science behind the properties and behaviour of construction's most fundamental materials (metals, cement and concrete, polymers, timber, bricks and blocks, glass and plaster). In particular, the critical factors affecting in situ materials are examined, such as deterioration and the behaviour and durability of materials under performance. An accessible, easy-to-follow approach makes this book ideal for all diploma and undergraduate students on construction-related courses taking a module in construction materials.
Publication Date: 2015-01-22
Construction Materials by So far in the twenty-first century, there have been many developments in our understanding of materials' behaviour and in their technology and use. This new edition has been expanded to cover recent developments such as the use of glass as a structural material. It also now examines the contribution that material selection makes to sustainable construction practice, considering the availability of raw materials, production, recycling and reuse, which all contribute to the life cycle assessment of structures. As well as being brought up-to-date with current usage and performance standards, each section now also contains an extra chapter on recycling. Covers the following materials: metals concrete ceramics (including bricks and masonry) polymers fibre composites bituminous materials timber glass. This new edition maintains our familiar and accessible format, starting with fundamental principles and continuing with a section on each of the major groups of materials. It gives you a clear and comprehensive perspective on the whole range of materials used in modern construction. A must have for Civil and Structural engineering students, and for studentsnbsp;of architecture, surveying or construction on courses which require an understanding of materials.
Publication Date: 2010-07-09
Building Structures by This is a one-stop book for knowing everything important about building structures. Self-contained and with no prerequisites needed, it is suitable for both general readers and building professionals. follow the history of structural understanding; grasp the concepts of structural behaviour via step-by-step explanations; apply these concepts to a simple building; see how these concepts apply to real buildings, from Durham Cathedral to the Bank of China; use these concepts to define the design process; see how these concepts inform design choices; understand how engineering and architecture have diverged, and what effect this had; learn to do simple but relevant numerical calculations for actual structures; understand when dynamics are important; follow the development of progressive collapse prevention; enter the world of modern structural theory; see how computers can be used for structural analysis; learn how to organise and design a successful project. With more than 500 pages and over 1100 user-friendly diagrams, this book is a must for anyone who would like to understand the fascinating world of structures.
Publication Date: 2017-06-20
Environmental Science in Building by This popular textbook covers how the built environment and the management of energy relate to the quality of human living-conditions and the environmental performance of buildings. It is the key introductory text for understanding the principles and theories of the environmental science behind construction, and the only text on the market to provide the basic scientific principles of such a broad range of topics. The text covers a range of areas in the field, including climate change, energy management, and sustainability in construction, with an important focus on contemporary environmental topics such as carbon, lifetime performance and rating schemes. The author is known for his extremely clear, finely crafted text, and the book offers a wealth of excellent worked examples. This text is designed to be useful, at all levels, to students and practitioners of architecture, construction studies, building services, surveying, and environmental science.
Publication Date: 2017-11-16