Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Online

Production Arts (HE): Books

Technical & Production Arts for Film and Television

Here you can find some useful books if you are studying an HE course in Production Arts.

The Key books sections shows some books that will be useful for your course and New books shows some of the recent additions to our collection. Click on them to see them in the catalogue to find out more details about them or see if they are available to borrow.

These aren't all the books in the Library,  if you are interested in something else you can use the catalogue  to search  for what your are interested in. The books are arranged in the Library using Dewey Decimal Classification. This is a number sequence from 000-999, with each subject having it own number.  See below to see the important numbers for Production Arts.

Whilst social distancing measures are in place to help everyone stay safe we ask that you do not take books off the shelves, if you find a book you want please ask at the Library Desk.

Alternately you can request a book in advance in person, by phone or using the Library Catalogue, find out how here.

Use the Library Catalogue to
 
 
 
 

 Click here for full catalogue

 

key books

Introduction to Arts management

Introduction to Arts management

Shelfmark:

 

706.8 VOL

Reading contemporary performance

Reading contemporary performance

Shelfmark:

 

792.01 REA

Stagecraft

Stagecraft

Shelfmark:

 

792.02 CAR

Production managers toolkit

Production managers toolkit

Shelfmark:

 

792.0232 GIL

Prop building handbook

Prop building handbook

Shelfmark:

 

792.025 HAR

So you want to be a theatre designer?

So you want to be a theatre designer?

Shelfmark:

 

792.025 PAV

A practical guide to stage lighting

A practical guide to stage lighting

Shelfmark:

 

792.025 SHE

Theatre in practice

Theatre in practice

Shelfmark:

 

792.028 OBR

New books

Arts management handbook

Arts management handbook

Shelfmark:

 

706.8 ART

The Aerialist

The Aerialist

Shelfmark:

 

791.34092 TRU

Production design for screen

Production design for screen

Shelfmark:

 

791.43025 BAR

The art of small films

The art of small films

Shelfmark:

 

791.45083 POS

Handbook of stage lighting

Handbook of stage lighting

Shelfmark:

 

792.025 FRA

Scenic Design and lighting techniques

Scenic Design and lighting techniques

Shelfmark:

 

792.025 GLO

Stage lighting

Stage lighting

Shelfmark:

 

792.025 MOR

Useful e-books

Illustrated Theatre Production Guide
Stagecraft Fundamentals
The Prop Building Guidebook
Show Case : A Guide to Developing, Maintaining, and Presenting a Design-Tech Portfolio for Theatre and Allied Fields
The Makeup Artist Handbook

Finding books in the Library

Shelfmarks

These are the main shelf marks numbers for books on Production Arts.

If you are unsure where to find a specific title you can always ask at the Library Information Desk  or search the Library Catalogue. 

Shelf Mark

Subject

306

Culture

394.2

Event Management

777.55

Film Editing

780

Music

791.43

Film

791.4302

Production & Directing

791.4325

Set Design

791.4326

Costumes

791.4327

Makeup

791.45

Radio

792.02

Stage Production etc

792.025-7

Set Design, Costumes, Makeup 

Library Services 01274 08 8257
  @BradfordCollLib
  BradfordCollegeLRC
  BradfordCollegeLibrary
  @BradfordCollegeLibrary
Library Services, David Hockney Building, Bradford College, Great Horton Road, Bradford, BD7 1AY.