LibraryOnline: Performing Arts (HE): Image Databases

Image Databases and Collections

The Image Database and Collections below are ones that the College pays to give you access and so you can generally use the content for educational purposes as long as it is referenced appropriately.

The following are databases that you will need to log into using your College logon and password. They contain images and media files covering a wide range of subjects. Click on the i for more information about a database or on more... for instructions on how to log in.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Click here to see all our Image Databases

Image Databases

ARTstor This link opens in a new window Covers over 1.5 million high-quality images of art from around the world. Contains wide range of types of art (paintings, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, etc.) from ancient times to the present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
To access ArtStor off campus:
Click on LOG IN from the ArtStor home page;
Select ‘Log in through your institution’;
Type in Bradford College or select from the drop down list and click on LOG IN;
Enter your College username and password (this is your student/staff email address and password.
You may be asked to register. Please use your college email address.
Britannica Image Quest This link opens in a new window Britannica Image Quest is a searchable database of digital images that allows access to more than two million images that are rights-cleared for educational use.
- This link opens in a new window
The images are from over 50 of the best collections in the world, including: Action Plus for sports; Photo Researchers; akg-images; Getty Images; and Photoshot.

Please use your College username and password (this is your student/staff email address and password)to access Britannica Image Quest.
John Johnson Collection: An Archive of Printed Ephemera This link opens in a new window Archival materials related to entertainment, crime, advertising and the booktrade dating from the 18th, 19th and 20th Century.
- This link opens in a new window
To access the John Johnson Collection off campus, please select the option “Remote Users: login via your home organisation”, select your region – United Kingdom, select “Bradford College” from the list of organisations and click on the login button. Please use your College username and password (this is your student/staff email address and password) to log in.
Accessibility Statement for the John Johnson Collection
MediaPlus This link opens in a new window MediaPlus is a resource of Jisc-licensed news, film, image and music content including high profile collections such as ITN, Getty images and Wellcome Library images and sound, hosted and delivered by Alexander Street.
- This link opens in a new window
MediaPlus also contains instructional videos from Teachers’ TV.
Primal Pictures This link opens in a new window Anatomy.TV from Primal Pictures is a comprehensive 3D anatomy atlas, professional reference and image library of human anatomy with fully interactive anatomical models.
- This link opens in a new window
Please use your College username and password (this is your student/staff email address and password) to log in.
Accessibility Statement for Anatomy TV

Free Image Collections

The following websites contain images that are mainly free to use for educational purposes. They can be used by college staff or students and incorporated in to your work. Don’t forget to credit if you are using them. *As with all collections look at the website for terms of use.

Europeana Collection This collection is home to the European Digital Library. It has over 53,000,000 images and videos, covering it covering Art, music and Fashion. They include some national libraries, universities, and other institutions. Go to “explore”, then “sources” to see participating institutions.
Flikr You can search for images with a variety of rights, e.g., “no copying”, “non-commercial use only” or “full public domain”.
Free Images You can use these images freely in any capacity as long as you credit the website by downloading their banner or provide a text-link to their website.
Image after Organised into subjects e.g. architecture, nature etc. with a mixture of download-able free stock images and stock images for a very small fee.
National Education network Primarily set up for use by teachers to help in their teaching, images are categorised into broad subjects. You can registered and upload your own images to share with the community (subject to website approval).
Welcome Image
Visual Arts Data Service This has over 100,000 images available from over 60 digital collections; including the new West Yorkshire Textile Heritage Project.

Galleries and Museums

Many Galleries, Museums amd organisations have searchable archives. Some key ones are shown below:

British Library There are over 1,000,000 images on flickr commons.
British Museum
more...less...
Over 2,300,000 records all can be downloaded under a creative –commons non-commercial license. Images should be credited with © Trustees of the British Museum.
Glasgow School of Art
Illustration Archive A project run for Cardiff University to offer searchable illustration archive of over 60,000 books from 19th century in the British Library.
more...less...
(All images are in the public domain.)
Imperial War Museum
National Portrait Gallery You can search by either the artist or the sitter.
Prado Museum The Prado museum is the national art museum of Spain. The website gives you access to its collection including video commentaries with English subtitles and a timeline that alllow's you to see when a work was painted in relation to world history.
Smithsonian Institute Washington museum with over 10,000,000 search-able objects.
Tate Collections Online
V&A

Performing Arts (HE): Image Databases

Introduction

Image Databases and Collections

Click here to see all our Image Databases

Image Databases

Free Image Collections

Galleries and Museums