Skip to main content
  Library Online  

Dental Nursing: Electronic Resources

This the Dental Nursing Library Guide. Here you can find help on finding and using the resources the Library provides.

Introduction

Bradford College Libraries provide you with access to a large range of electronic resources which includes databases, e-books and electronic journals.

These resources are all available from the internet, and can be accessed via the Library Website both in and out off of College. A lot of the resources will also be available through smartphones and tablets. Though to access them off campus you will need to use your College log on and password.

Databases

If you need to find information on a particular subject from a book, journal or newspaper a database is the best place to start your search.

A database will allows you to search through the text and title of journals and newspaper articles, books and other on-line sources directly. You will often be able to customise your searches to get exactly the information you need.

Databases often provide the full text of an article but sometimes only provide an abstract or description or a reference to that you will need to be follow up using the Library catalogue or the Library website.

Search Indexes

A Search Index is a internet search engine that only searches webpages that have been chosen by specialists. They are often subject specific. They are useful for when you only have a few search terms and need academically reliable information.

Search Indexes will often include additional information about the returned pages, such as a list of where the page has been cited and related works. This can lead you to further sources of information on your subject.

DISCOVER@BradfordCollege

DISCOVER@BradfordCollege is a single search tool that allows you to search for keywords in your computing across the majority of electronic resources that the College Library subscribes to. This includes EBSCOHost databases, including Emerald, Britannica Online and a large amount of our Electronic Journals.

Uou will need to use your College log-on and password if you want to access DISCOVER@BradfordCollege.

 
DISCOVER@BradfordCollege
a quick and easy way to search for the Library's resources
 
 

Electronic Journals

Learning Resources provides access to over eight thousand electronic journals, including access to issues published over the last ten years. These include both items we have in print and others we get access to through subscription to collections and databases such as Medline.

Electronic journals can be accessed from either the library website or the library catalogue, where you can search for a journal by its title or subject. Once you have accessed a journal you will be able to search through that one journal for an article to search through more than one journal at a time you will need to use a database.

You can also search for a Journal using the search box below.

Search for Journals
Library Services |  01274 08 8257
   Library Catalogue
   @BradfordCollLib
 |     BradfordCollegeLRC  |     BradfordCollegeLibrary
Library, 2nd Floor David Hockney Building, Bradford College, Great Horton Road, Bradford, BD7 1AY