Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Online

Education: Academic Writing

A guide to Library Resources and Facilities for HE Education students

In addition to the support available from Librarians, the following resources are available to help you develop your research and writing skills

Skills for Study Campus

CLICK HERE TO ACCESS
skills4studycampus is an interactive online tutorial which will help you to understand, practice and improve your study skills.
Includes modules on:
Getting ready for academic study
  helps you to prepare practically and mentally for your first term at university, with guidance and techniques to help you learn effectively and understand what will be expected from you in Higher Education.
Time management
  gives you the techniques required to prioritise and plan your time effectively, along with methods on how to break tasks down into manageable chunks, beat procrastination and build up your concentration.
Reading and note-making
  provides strategies to help you select relevant information through lectures, reading, discussion and your own research, as well as approaches for making effective notes that will prove useful later on.
Critical thinking skills
  explains what critical thinking really is and how it can be applied to learning in order to question assumptions, evaluate the reliability of sources and evidence and compare propositions.
Writing skills
  offers advice on writing in an academic style suitable for essays and assignments, and practical guidance on how to structure ideas and improve your written work.
Referencing and understanding plagiarism
  covers the importance of referencing, why it is used in academic work and helps build a deep understanding of what plagiarism is and how to avoid it.
Groupwork and presentations
  focuses on developing interpersonal skills that will help group projects to run smoothly, examining how to be an effective group member as well as how to plan and deliver a successful presentation.
Confidence with numbers
  helps you to overcome obstacles and barriers in working with numbers and understand how to present and interpret numerical data.
Exam skills
  covers how to prepare for exams with effective revision methods and strategies for answering different types of exam question, as well as developing reflective skills so you can evaluate your performance in order to improve results.
Research principles
  offers practical guidance to help you get to grips with managing and understanding academic information, and outlines the different methods of researching a topic as part of academic study.
Projects, dissertations and reports
  gives detailed coverage of each format and develops the specific problem solving and research skills required to give you the confidence and resourcefulness for more independent study.
Employability and personal development
  offers specific guidance on how to develop the skills you will need to impress future employers, how to prove them during the application process and how to perform well in interviews.

Cite Them Right

CLICK HERE TO ACCESS
Cite them right online is the essential referencing guide to how to reference and cite a wide range of resources correctly.It is a valuable resource which provides guidance on understanding how to avoid plagiarism.
Includes instructions on how to Harvard reference:
Books
  Printed and Electronic books.
Journals
  Journal and Magazine articles.
Digital
  Internet, Social Media, Information in digital repositories, CD or DVD-ROMs, Computer games, programs, mobile apps, and MOOCs.
Media
  Newspaper articles, performances, Visual and Audiovisual sources, Reviews and interviews.
Research
  Unpublished or confidential Reports
Legal
  Parliament records, Statutory Instruments, Legislation, consultation papers and Law reports.
Government publications and statutes
Communications

Emerald Study skills

CLICK HERE TO ACCESS
These helpful guides are designed to aid students develop the key skills they will need to succeed in education.
Includes support for:
Giving a talk or presentation
Writing better essays
Getting organized
Effective note taking
Filing for beginners
Mind maps
Developing critical thinking
How to make the most of your library
Searching for information
Referencing
Understanding academic writing
Getting ready to write
Writing a dissertation
Making effective presentations
Working in a group
Plagiarism
A revision strategy
Exam technique
Managing a student research project
Managing management research

Improve your Study Skills

Click here for essential study skills resources Click here for resources to help with writing skills Click here for resources to help with your critical thinking skills
Click here for resources about writing your dissertation or project Click here for resources about groupwork and presentations Click here for exam and revision skills resources
Click here for referencing and plagiarism resources Click here for careers and employability resources Click here for Research Skills

 

Library Services 01274 08 8257
  @BradfordCollLib
  BradfordCollegeLRC
  BradfordCollegeLibrary
  @BradfordCollegeLibrary
Library Services, David Hockney Building, Bradford College, Great Horton Road, Bradford, BD7 1AY.