It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Evidence Based Practice is about using the best available evidence on the effectiveness of social and healthcare interventions as a basis for professional decision-making, along with the practitioner's expertise and the client's expectations and values. The Professional Capabilities Framework(PCF) says that social workers should “make use of research to inform practice”. There is an interesting discussion of Evidence-Based Practice by Community Care Inform here which is worth reading for a good discussion on the topic.
There are a number of databases which provide access to up-to-date research in Social Work which you can use to ensure you are finding the best information possible. When undertaking research, you should understand that you are looking at different ideas and practices to inform your own practice, rather than finding a single solution for a problem.
The following databases can be used to find this information.
Emerald is a database of over 300 peer-reviewed journals. Subject coverage of the journals includes marketing, human resource management, training, economics, hospitality management, quality, engineering, built environment, health services management, social care, accounting, and organisation studies.
To access Emerald off campus click on “Login” at the top of the Emerald home page. In the "Find your institution" box type Bradford College. Click on the green Login button. Enter your college username and password.
Practice related social work information including guides, articles, case law and legislation.
To access Community Care Inform Adults enter your college IT username and password.
You may need to click on the green Login button on the home page
Select the “Sign in via Shibboleth”,
select Bradford College from the drop down menu of institutions
Click on Submit
Enter your College username and password.
Social Care Online is the UK's largest online database of information on all aspects of social work and social care.
It includes legislation, government documents, practice and guidance, systematic reviews, research briefings, UK grey (informally-published) literature, reports, and journal articles. The database is updated daily and contains over 160,000 records from the 1980s onwards.
The Social Work Toolkit is an online resource which brings together a wealth of content designed to help social work students develop the knowledge, skills and confidence to succeed on their course and placements.
To log on from off campus click on the Log in button on the top right of the home screen. Select Bradford College from the drop down list of institutions. Enter your college IT username and password.