Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding books in the Library
These are the main shelf marks/classification numbers for books for Engineering Science. If you are unsure where to find a specific title you can always ask at the Library Information Desk or search the Library Catalogue.
|Computer Aided Design (CAD)
|Computer Numerical Control (CNC)
|Electricity and Electronics
|Health & Safety
||670 to 679
|Mathematics for Engineers
|Motor Vehicle Engineering
|Refrigeration & Air Conditioning
Search the Library Catalogue
Search by author, title or a subject keyword. Any matching results will be displayed.
You can then find out the following information:
- where the book is - the shelf mark;
- how long the book can be borrowed for;
- and whether a book is on the shelf or out on loan.
Science for Engineering by A practical introduction to the engineering science required for engineering study and practice. Science for Engineeringis an introductory textbook that assumes no prior background in engineering. This new edition covers the fundamental scientific knowledge that all trainee engineers must acquire in order to pass their exams, and has been brought fully in line with the compulsory science and mathematics units in the new engineering course specifications. John Bird focuses upon engineering examples, enabling students to develop a sound understanding of engineering systems in terms of the basic laws and principles. This book includes over 580 worked examples, 1300 further problems, 425 multiple choice questions (with answers), and contains sections covering the mathematics that students will require within their engineering studies, mechanical applications, electrical applications and engineering systems. Colour layout helps navigation and highlights key learning points, formulae and exercises Understanding can be tested with the 580 worked examples, 1300 further problems and 425 multiple choice questions contained within the book Focuses on real-world situations and examples in order to maximise relevance to the student reader This book is supported by a companion website of materials that can be found at www.routledge/cw/bird, this resource including fully worked solutions of all the further problems for students to access for the first time, and the full solutions and marking schemes for the revision tests found within the book for lecturers/instructors use. In addition, all 433 illustrations will be available for downloading by staff. .
Shelfmark: 620/BIR (
Publication Date: 2015-08-07
Engineering Science by Comprehensive engineering science coverage that is fully in line with the latest vocational course requirements New chapters on heat transfer and fluid mechanics Topic-based approach ensures that this text is suitable for all vocational engineering courses Coverage of all the mechanical, electrical and electronic principles within one volume provides a comprehensive exploration of scientific principles within engineering Engineering Scienceis a comprehensive textbook suitable for all vocational and pre-degree courses. Taking a subject-led approach, the essential scientific principles engineering students need for their studies are topic-by-topic based in presntation. Unlike most of the textbooks available for this subject, Bill Bolton goes beyond the core science to include the mechanical, electrical and electronic principles needed in the majority of courses. A concise and accessible text is supported by numerous worked examples and problems, with a complete answer section at the back of the book. Now in its sixth edition, the text has been fully updated in line with the current BTEC National syllabus and will also prove an essential reference for students embarking on Higher National engineering qualifications and Foundation Degrees.
Publication Date: 2015-04-09
Mechanical Engineering Principles by A student-friendly introduction to core engineering topics This book introduces mechanical principles and technology through examples and applications, enabling students to develop a sound understanding of both engineering principles and their use in practice. These theoretical concepts are supported by 400 fully worked problems, 700 further problems with answers, and 300 multiple-choice questions, all of which add up to give the reader a firm grounding on each topic. The new edition is up to date with the latest BTEC National specifications and can also be used on undergraduate courses in mechanical, civil, structural, aeronautical and marine engineering, together with naval architecture. A further chapter has been added on revisionary mathematics, since progress in engineering studies is not possible without some basic mathematics knowledge. Further worked problems have also been added throughout the text. New chapter on revisionary mathematics Student-friendly approach with numerous worked problems, multiple-choice and short-answer questions, exercises, revision tests and nearly 400 diagrams Supported with free online material for students and lecturers Readers will also be able to access the free companion website at: www.routledge.com/cw/bird where they will find videos of practical demonstrations by Carl Ross. Full worked solutions of all 700 of the further problems will be available for both lecturers and students for the first time.
Publication Date: 2015-01-22
Electrical and Electronic Principles and Technology by This practical resource introduces electrical and electronic principles and technology covering theory through detailed examples, enabling students to develop a sound understanding of the knowledge required by technicians in fields such as electrical engineering, electronics and telecommunications. No previous background in engineering is assumed, making this an ideal text for vocational courses at Levels 2 and 3, foundation degrees and introductory courses for undergraduates.
Publication Date: 2017-04-25
Electrical Circuit Theory and Technology by This much-loved textbook explains the principles of electrical circuit theory and technology so that students of electrical and mechanical engineering can master the subject. Real-world situations and engineering examples put the theory into context. The inclusion of worked problems with solutions help you to learn and further problems then allow you to test and confirm you have fully understood each subject. In total the book contains 800 worked problems, 1000 further problems and 14 revision tests with answers online. This an ideal text for foundation and undergraduate degree students and those on upper level vocational engineering courses, in particular electrical and mechanical. It provides a sound understanding of the knowledge required by technicians in fields such as electrical engineering, electronics and telecommunications. This edition has been updated with developments in key areas such as semiconductors, transistors, and fuel cells, along with brand new material on ABCD parameters and Fourier's Analysis. It is supported by a companion website that contains solutions to the 1000 questions in the practice exercises, formulae to help students answer the questions and information about the famous mathematicians and scientists mentioned in the book. Lecturers also have access to full solutions and the marking scheme for the 14 revision tests, lesson plans and illustrations from the book.
Publication Date: 2013-12-14
An Introduction to Electrical Science by An Introduction to Electrical Sciencewalks readers through the subject in a logical order, providing a historical overview alongside modern electrical theory and practice. Perfect for electrical trainees both during their training and once qualified. You will be guided through the subject in a topic by topic manner with each section building upon the one that came before it. By adding context to the principles of electrical science the topics become easier to both understand and remember, providing a grounding in the subject that will remain with you for life. With a wealth of examples, images and diagrams mastering difficult concepts will be a breeze. This book also has a companion site with an extra chapter, interactive multiple choice quizzes for each chapter and more at www.www.routledge.com/cw/waygood Fully aligned to the 17th edition of the wiring regulations Free access to companion website material, including multiple-choice tests and extra chapters Two-colour layout helps navigation and highlights key points Visit the companion website at www.routledge.com/cw/waygood
Publication Date: 2013-05-30
Can't find the book you want?
If all copies of a textbook are on loan you can place a reservation, or there may be a copy available online as an e-book.
If the book or journal article is not available from the library you can ask for an inter-library loan.
Basic Engineering Mathematics by Now in its seventh edition, Basic Engineering Mathematicsis an established textbook that has helped thousands of students to succeed in their exams. Mathematical theories are explained in a straightforward manner, being supported by practical engineering examples and applications in order to ensure that readers can relate theory to practice. The extensive and thorough topic coverage makes this an ideal text for introductory level engineering courses. This title is supported by a companion website with resources for both students and lecturers, including lists of essential formulae, multiple choice tests, and full solutions for all 1,600 further questions.
Publication Date: 2017-05-18
Engineering Mathematics by Now in its eighth edition, Engineering Mathematicsis an established textbook that has helped thousands of students to succeed in their exams. John Bird's approach is based on worked examples and interactive problems. Mathematical theories are explained in a straightforward manner, being supported by practical engineering examples and applications in order to ensure that readers can relate theory to practice. The extensive and thorough topic coverage makes this an ideal text for a range of Level 2 and 3 engineering courses. This title is supported by a companion website with resources for both students and lecturers, including lists of essential formulae and multiple choice tests.
Publication Date: 2017-05-30
AQA A Level mathematics year 2 by Give students the confidence to identify connections between topics and apply their reasoning to mathematical problems, so as to develop a deeper understanding of mathematical concepts and their applications, with resources developed with subject specialists and MEI (Mathematics in Education and Industry).
Publication Date: 2017
Probability, Statistics, and Reliability for Engineers and Scientists by In a technological society, virtually every engineer and scientist needs to be able to collect, analyze, interpret, and properly use vast arrays of data. This means acquiring a solid foundation in the methods of data analysis and synthesis. Understanding the theoretical aspects is important, but learning to properly apply the theory to real-world problems is essential. Probability, Statistics, and Reliability for Engineers and Scientists, Third Edition introduces the fundamentals of probability, statistics, reliability, and risk methods to engineers and scientists for the purposes of data and uncertainty analysis and modeling in support of decision making. The third edition of this bestselling text presents probability, statistics, reliability, and risk methods with an ideal balance of theory and applications. Clearly written and firmly focused on the practical use of these methods, it places increased emphasis on simulation, particularly as a modeling tool, applying it progressively with projects that continue in each chapter. This provides a measure of continuity and shows the broad use of simulation as a computational tool to inform decision making processes. This edition also features expanded discussions of the analysis of variance, including single- and two-factor analyses, and a thorough treatment of Monte Carlo simulation. The authors not only clearly establish the limitations, advantages, and disadvantages of each method, but also show that data analysis is a continuum rather than the isolated application of different methods. Like its predecessors, this book continues to serve its purpose well as both a textbook and a reference. Ultimately, readers will find the content of great value in problem solving and decision making, particularly in practical applications.
Publication Date: 2011-04-26