Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Online

Hospitality and Travel Management (HE): Journal Articles

About Hospitality & Travel Management Journals

HTM journals are collections of articles, news, updates and opinion on current issues, which are aimed at academic and students, and sometimes people working in the industry. They are published at regular intervals throughout the year which means they can include very up-to-date information, and they usually focus on a specific topic so are useful if you want more detail on your topic than provided by textbooks. We have some journals in print, but most are available online via our databases.  You should use journal articles rather than information from the Internet as they have been checked prior to publication and can be relied on to be accurate and authoritative.

About Journals

Quick guide to finding journal articles

  • If you know the article title, go to the Advanced Search in Discover and choose the Title search
  • If you want to browse a particular journal, go to our A-Z journals list and type in the title of the journal
  • If you want to search across a number of journals for a topic, go to Discover and type in your keywords
  • If you want to run a very specific search, select the most relevant database in the list below

DISCOVER@BradfordCollege is our online search tool and is a quick and easy way to search the College Library’s resources, print and electronic, and find full text information.

DISCOVER is a bit like using Google but the results are higher quality and more relevant to your course at Bradford College. If you are looking for information for an assignment DISCOVER is a great place to start.

 
DISCOVER@BradfordCollege
a quick and easy way to search for the Library's resources
 
 

Academic journals are important sources of the latest academic research, tend to include specialist articles, and can be very detailed.  They may publish original research, or review current research within a particular field. They are usually peer-reviewed (ie they have been critically evaluated by other academics in the field).  Professional Journals tend to include more news, short articles, current affairs, and information relating to business practice, and are not usually peer-reviewed.   Specialist Journals focus on a particular area of business and tend to cover both the academic and professional fields.  For most of your assignments, your lecturers will expect you to refer to academic journals.

Which journals do we have in the library?

Most journals available in electronic form through databases such as Hospitality and Tourism Complete, Business Source Premier and Emerald. The library buys just a small number of journals in print.

To find journal articles, you need to use a library database. Databases are like search engines, but instead of searching the Internet, they search the contents of journals, books, reports, newspapers or magazines. The library pays to provide access to special academic databases that will provide you with content which has been evaluated and checked to ensure that the materials you find are of high quality.  Once you get used to searching databases, you can save a lot of time because a lot of the work has been done for you!

Different databases provide access to different types of information.  Discover searches across most of our databases at the same time so is good for an initial search.  You can also search databases individually - this can be useful to refine your search.  We recommend the databases below to find journal articles for Hospitality and Travel Management.

If you are researching a particular topic, the best way to find journal articles or newspaper reports is to use a database such as Discover.  Think carefully about your topic and identify the keywords that best describe the information you need.  See the tab on Search Tips for more information on constructing a search strategy.

There are thousands of journal articles in the databases so you need to be specific - for example a search for "tourism" will bring too many articles for you to properly look through. 

These 5 steps will help you to plan your search strategy when looking for information to support your assignment. 

Step 1: Identify the main ideas or concepts in your assignment. 

Evaluate the impact of social media on the UK tourism industry

Concepts:  "Social Media" AND Tourism AND UK

Step 2: Identify keywords. You can direct library databases to look for your keywords in the title, abstract, keywords and subject headings of an article, which means that your results are more relevant than if you were searching for your terms anywhere in the full text.  To get the best results, you need to find the best terms possible.  Spend a bit of time identifying synonyms or related terms that best describe the topic. Also think about what the question is asking - are there any key theories or problems that the question is alluding to?

Synonyms / Related Terms: "Social Media" OR TripAdvisor OR Facebook.  Tourism OR Travel OR Hospitality.  

Step 3: Decide which database to use.  We recommend that you start by using Discover which searches across the majority of library databases.  If you wish to find specialist information such as market or company reports, you may want to use a particular database. 

Step 4: Use the Advanced Search function. This allows you to put a keyword or a string of keywords on each line and then combine your terms. You should be prepared to run your search a few times to get the best results. Use speech marks to search for a phrase, and use the asterix symbol to find words with a variety of endings (Econom* will find Economics or Economy or Economist). 

Advanced Search: 

"Social Media" OR TripAdvisor OR Facebook

Tourism OR Travel OR Hospitality OR Hotels

United Kingdom OR Great Britain

Step 5: Check your results.  If you have too many results, narrow by adding more search terms to focus your search, or restrict your results by date, publication type (journal, newspaper).  You should also look at the subject terms that are used to describe the best results, and re-run your search using those terms. 

Remember - you can save your search if you set up an account with the database, or keep a note of your terms.  You can also view your search history and combine different searches until you get the best results. 

If you want to browse a specific journal, eg. one that you have seen referred to in a textbook or by your lecturer, you should use the A-Z of Journal TitlesThis will allow you to access the full text of over 20,000 journals in electronic format.  Some are electronic versions of journals that are held in print in the Library.   Some are journals that the Library does not have in our  print collection, but which are made available as part of a database collection - Emerald, Computer Source, SPORTDiscus, General OneFile and Lexis Library for example.

Type in the title of your journal and click on search.  You will see a list of matching titles.  Click on Full-text Access and click on the database name that is listed.  From here you should be able to browse different issues and search by keyword.

Before searching, think about:

  • The information that you already have.  Where are the gaps? Is the information you have at the right level and detail?
  • The type of information you are looking for.  Do you need newspaper articles, academic journals, industry reports, company information, statistics?  This will help you decide which database to search, or whether the information is available on the Internet. 
  • Theories or concepts that you may need to refer to.  Textbook usually are the best place to start as they introduce and explain topics with examples. If you want to find material which applies a theory to an issue, you will usually need to refer to journal articles. 

Be prepared to read around your subject.  You may not find an article which directly answers your assignment question, but instead you will need to synthesis information from a variety of sources. For example, you may find material on customer behaviour in a different setting to the one you are researching, but the argument and findings can be applied to your own topic.

Use the contents pages and indexes in textbooks to look up company names, theories or concepts. Don't just rely on your reading list - there is a lot of information out there!

Refer to the reading lists in books and journal articles, or use the related articles and cited by functions in Emerald and Google Scholar to widen your reading. 

How do you evaluate what articles are most appropriate for your research?  Use the CRAAP test to help you assess each article:

Currency

When was the article published? Does it matter for your topic?

Are there more recent articles you could use?

Relevance

Does the information help in answering your question? 

Is it at the right level? Is it too basic or too advanced? 

Does it add to your understanding?

Authority

Does the author work for a particular organisation such as a University?

Is the author appropriately qualified to provide the information?

Has the information been peer-reviewed? If an article has been peer reviewed it will have been evaluated or edited by other experts in the same field.

Accuracy

Where does the information come from?

Is it supported by evidence?

Can you verify the information from another source?

Purpose

What is the purpose or reason of the article?

Is the article objective? Does it give a balanced view? Is there hidden bias? Does the author use emotive language?

Has the author provided supporting evidence?

Does the article include references?

How to find journal articles

How to search databases

The best way to find journal articles is to think carefully about your topic and identify the keywords that best describe the information you need. There are thousands of journal articles in the databases so you need to be specific - for example a search for "business environment" will bring too many articles for you to properly look through. The video below will help you identify keywords and other ways to focus your search.

Library Services 01274 08 8257
  @BradfordCollLib
  BradfordCollegeLRC
  BradfordCollegeLibrary
  @BradfordCollegeLibrary
Library Services, David Hockney Building, Bradford College, Great Horton Road, Bradford, BD7 1AY.