Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding books in the Library
These are the main shelf marks/classification numbers for books on business. If you are unsure where to find a specific title you can always ask at the Library Information Desk or search the Library Catalogue.
||174.7 & 658.408
|Corporate Social Responsibility
|Human Resource Management
|Problem Solving in Business
|Statistics for Business
371.30281 & 378.170281
Search the Library Catalogue
Search by author, title or a subject keyword. Any matching results will be displayed.
You can then find out the following information:
- where the book is - the shelf mark;
- how long the book can be borrowed for;
- and whether a book is on the shelf or out on loan.
Can't find the book you want?
If all copies of a textbook are on loan you can place a reservation, or there may be a copy available online as an e-book.
If the book or journal article is not available from the library you can ask for an inter-library loan.
Business in Context by This text provides an introduction to the key activities of business placed within a managerial, organisational and environmental context. This edition places increased emphasis on globalisation, sustainability, and ethics.
Publication Date: 2015
Business Strategy by Business Strategy is a compact, plain-speaking textbook for those approaching strategy for the first time. Key features include: international case studies; chapters on current issues such as CSR, emerging markets and new technologies; hot topics: research project areas to investigate, and guru guides: bite-sized bios of key thinkers in the field.
Publication Date: 2011-04-01
Management and Organisational Behaviour by Now in its 11th edition Laurie Mullins's Management & Organisational Behaviour is the essential guide to OB for students today. Over half a million students have used this engaging and practically focused book as their introduction to the world of management and organisational behaviour, and it continues to evolve and improve to serve the needs of modern students.Using both theory and practical, real-world examples, the textbook considers how organisational performance can be improved through effective management of people. This unique approach to the subject enables students to relate Organisational Behaviour to Management in the broader social and cultural contexts.
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Essentials of Organisational Behaviour by This concise introduction to Organisational Behaviour has been developed specifically for short courses and/or non-specialist business students. It focuses on the core topics of the discipline in a detailed and engaging way, providing a readable introduction to the key theory and offering real-life examples to show its application in practice. Written for students on undergraduate and postgraduate degree programmes, this text is particularly suitable for students of non-business disciplines (e.g. engineering, IT, social sciences and others) who are taking an introductory module in business.
Publication Date: 2011-08-19
Exploring Strategy Text and Cases by With over one million copies sold worldwide, Exploring Strategy has long been the essential strategy text for managers of today and tomorrow. From entrepreneurial start-ups to multinationals, charities to government agencies, this book raises the big questions about organisations- how they grow, how they innovate and how they change. Texts and Cases also provides a wealth of extra case studies written by experts in the subject to aid and enrich your understanding. Examples are taken from events and organisations as diverse as Glastonbury, Mondelez and Formula 1 racing.
Publication Date: 2017
The business environment : a global perspective by
Publication Date: 2018
This work contains a thorough analysis of the external influences that affect business activity. Theory is backed up by a wealth of statistical data, commentary, and mini case studies.
Human Resources Management
Armstrong's Handbook of Human Resource Management Practice by Armstrong's Handbook of Human Resource Management Practice is the classic text for all students and practitioners of HRM. Providing a complete resource for understanding and implementing HR in relation to the needs of the business as a whole, it contains in-depth coverage of all the key areas essential to the HR function, including performance, reward, employee engagement and HR policy. This fully revised and updated thirteenth edition contains an entirely new part covering the increasingly important subject of international human resource management. Other new chapters have been added on rewarding special groups and on employment law, and the chapters on HRM, motivation and engagement have been completely revised. Armstrong's Handbook of Human Resource Management Practice has also been brought up to date by reference to the findings of a number of significant research projects and other investigations of how HRM operates in practice. Comprehensive online support material for the instructor, student and practitioner is provided, offering a complete resource for teaching and self-learning. Online supporting resources include lecture slides, an instructor's manual, a student's manual complete with multiple-choice practice questions and case studies and a glossary of terms.
Publication Date: 2014-04-28
Introducing Human Resource Management by "A good, reliable and accurate all round book with lots of useful models that are well explained and illustrated." Gill Christy, Visiting Fellow, University of Portsmouth Introducing Human Resource Management is a lively and engaging introduction to the key topics and issues surrounding people management. Clearly linking HR theory to the work environment, this book explores core areas such as HR strategy and planning, employee engagement, diversity and equality, and talent management and development. The text combines solid academic underpinning with practical examples to allow you to consolidate your learning and apply it in practice.
Publication Date: 2015-09-01
Human Resource Management by "This is a highly engaging text on the theory and practice of HRM that is strongly recommended to both students and professionals." Dr Aikaterini Koskina, UG Course Director for HRM, Keele University For three decades, this text has been the leading introduction to HRM for students at all levels, including those on CIPD-accredited courses. Comprehensive yet accessible, Human Resource Management covers all major areas of the field and is renowned for its readable and engaging style. This tenth edition has been thoroughly updated with the economic, social and legal employment practice changes and is specifically designed to be relevant to the issues and debates facing HRM today. Its key features include: A new chapter on 'HRM around the world' and technological advances in relation to HRM such as use of analytics and big data New topics on asynchronous recruitment, agile organisations, dynamic capability and HR planning 'Theory into Practice' and 'Window on Practice' that enable students to understand and apply HRM concepts through practical examples Activities and discussion boxes that encourage critical thinking and understanding A new chapter on advanced skills, and emphasis on employability of skills extends the useful and varied skills section About the authors Derek Torrington is Emeritus Professor of Management, University of Manchester. Laura Hall is now a freelance academic and has carried out work for a wide range of bodies, including the CIPD. Stephen Taylor is a senior lecturer in HRM at the University of Exeter Business School, and a Chief Examiner for the CIPD. Carol Atkinson is Professor of HRM, and Director of the Centre for People and Performance, at Manchester Metropolitan University Business School, and a member of the CIPD Manchester Branch Committee.
Publication Date: 2016-10-01
Business Research Methods by
Publication Date: 2011
In-depth discussion on different literature reviews with useful tips and guides.
Research Methods for Business Students by Research Methods for Business Students has been fully revised for this seventh edition and continues to be the market-leading textbook in its field, guiding hundreds of thousands of student researchers to success in their research methods modules, research proposals, projects and dissertations. So, if you're thinking . . . 'How do I choose my topic?' 'I'm confused by all these different philosophies' 'I need to collect my data; what do I do first?' 'When and what do I need to write? . . . then, open this book to discover: Regular checklists and 'Progressing your research project' sections to give you step-by-step practical guidance on the process A glossary of clear definitions for 600 research terms Cases and examples of students' and academics' research and topical news articles illustrating research in practice Detailed chapters on choosing your topic, reviewing the literature, understanding philosophies, research design, access and ethics, secondary data, data collection and analysis, and writing about and presenting your research Don't forget to visit www.pearsoned.co.uk/saunders where you can use online tutorials on research software, such as IBM SPSS Statistics and NVivo, test yourself with hundreds of multiple choice questions, analyse over 60 further case studies, and learn how to search the Internet more efficiently and effectively with our Smarter Online Searching guide! Start your project with confidence and complete it with success! Mark Saunders is Professor of Business Research Methods at The Surrey Business School, University of Surrey. Philip Lewis was a Principal Lecturer and Adrian Thornhill was a Head of Department, both at the University of Gloucestershire.
Publication Date: 2015-08-19
Business Student's Handbook by ? The Business Student's Handbook brings together personal skills, study skills and employability ?skills to help you succeed in your academic and professional lives. This handbook is all about ?applying theory to practice; so you will find it filled with exercises, practical suggestions ?and tips. ? This new edition covers: ?Expanded sections on employability and transferable skills to help you become a highly ?desirable graduate. A strong focus on written and oral communication skills and presentation skills.? Expanded data analysis and numeracy sections.? New emphasis on self-management, team work and planning makes this an essential resource ?for any business student.? The new TECHSkills boxes focus on your digital skills to ensure you're making the most of the ?best tools you can find online.
Publication Date: 2016-06-09