Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding books in the Library
These are the main shelf marks / classification numbers for books on law. If you are unsure where to find a specific title you can always ask at the Library Information Desk or search the Library Catalogue.
|A Level Law Textbooks
|English Legal System
Search the Library Catalogue
Search by author, title or a subject keyword. Any matching results will be displayed.
You can then find out the following information:
- where the book is - the shelf mark;
- how long the book can be borrowed for;
- and whether a book is on the shelf or out on loan.
Can't find the book you want?
If all copies of a textbook are on loan you can place a reservation, or there may be a copy available online as an e-book.
If the book or journal article is not available from the library you can ask for an inter-library loan.
How the Law Works by ¿How the Law Works is a gem of a book, for law students and for everyone else. It is a must read for anyone interested in how society is shaped and controlled via law.¿ Dr Steven Vaughan, solicitor, Senior Lecturer, Birmingham Law School ¿ How the Law Works is a comprehensive, witty and easy-to-read guide to the law. I thoroughly recommend it to non-lawyers who want to improve their knowledge of the legal system and to potential students as an introduction to the law of England and Wales.¿ HH Judge Lynn Tayton QC Reviews of the first edition: ¿A friendly, readable and surprisingly entertaining overview of what can be a daunting and arcane subject to the outsider.¿ The Law Teacher ¿An easy-to-read, fascinating book . . . brimful with curios, anecdote and explanation.¿ The Times How the Law Works is a refreshingly clear and reliable guide to today¿s legal system. Offering interesting and comprehensive coverage, it makes sense of all the curious features of the law in day to day life and in current affairs. Explaining the law and legal jargon in plain English, it provides an accessible entry point to the different types of law and legal techniques, as well as today¿s compensation culture and human rights law. In addition to explaining the role of judges, lawyers, juries and parliament, it clarifies the mechanisms behind criminal and civil law. How the Law Works is essential reading for anyone approaching law for the first time, or for anyone who is interested in an engaging introduction to the subject¿s bigger picture.
Publication Date: 2016-04-26
Concentrate Q & A : contract law by This essential Q&A study and revision guide contains a variety of model answers and plans to give you the confidence to tackle any essay or problem question, and give you the skills you need to excel in law exams and coursework assignments.
Publication Date: 2016
Contract Law by It is essential for students on law and commercial degree programmes to have a clear understanding of contract law, yet the subject can difficult to grasp for the newcomer. This book clarifies the essential concepts behind the law, making it easier for students to understand and apply the legal rules. Each chapter includes discussion of problems with the current law, helping the student to develop a critical and analytical approach. The book also considers the forces affecting contract law today, such as the increase of e-commerce and the growing impact of Europe, and how the law may need to reform to meet modern needs.
Publication Date: 2015-05-04
Unlocking Human Rights by This title will ensure that you grasp the main concepts of this fascinating and dynamic area of law with ease, providing you with an indispensible foundation in the subject. The book explains in detailed, yet straightforward, terms: The nature of human rights; European Convention on Human Rights; Human Rights Act; right to life; and much more.
Publication Date: 2014-03-25
Human Rights by This text will ensure you grasp the main concepts of your human rights module with ease. The book explains the facts and associated case law for: What human rights apply in the United Kingdom, Europe and other parts of the world; the European Convention on Human Rights and the Human Rights Act; how the various rights, freedoms and prohibitions which now pervade English law operate; how rights affect important issues including discrimination, public order, police powers and terrorism; and much more.
Publication Date: 2014-02-20
Law of Tort
Law of tort by This title offers a comprehensive, clear and straighforward account of the law. Readers will gain a firm grasp of the essential concepts as well as an awareness of important developments in the law.
Publication Date: 2017
Unlocking Torts by Tort law is a core element of every law degree in England and Wales. Unlocking Tortswill ensure you grasp the main concepts with ease. This book explains in detailed, yet straightforward, terms: Negligence and negligence related torts including occupiers' liability and employers' liability Land based torts such as trespass, nuisance and Rylands v Fletcher Liability for animals Torts relating to goods Trespass to the person Defamation and other torts relating to reputation Economic torts, breach of a statutory duty, vicarious liability, defences and remedies The fourth edition is fully up to date with the major recent cases including major developments in vicarious liability. It also includes changes after the Defamation Act 2013. The Unlocking the Lawseries is designed specifically to make the law accessible. Each chapter opens with a list of aims and objectives, contains activities such as quick quizzes and self-test questions, key facts charts to consolidate your knowledge, and diagrams to aid learning. Cases and judgments are prominently displayed, as are primary source quotations. Summaries help check your understanding of each chapter, there is a glossary of legal terminology. New features include problem questions with guidance on answering, as well as essay questions and answer plans, plus cases and materials exercises. All titles in the series follow the same formula and include the same features so students can move easily from one subject to another. The series covers all the core subjects required by the Bar Council and the Law Society for entry onto professional qualifications as well as popular option units. The series website www.unlockingthelaw.co.ukprovides free resources such as multiple choice questions, key questions and answers, revision mp3s and cases and materials exercises.
Publication Date: 2014
Textbook on Criminology by Textbook on Criminology offers an engaging and wide-ranging account of crime and criminology, addressing the theoretical, practical, and political aspects of the subject. The clarity of approach makes it an ideal text for students wishing to gain a firm grasp of the fundamental issues,together with an appreciation of some of the complexities surrounding the study of criminology. The author deals with the major questions of criminology, such as 'how do you define a crime?', 'why do people become criminals?', and 'how should we deal with criminals?'. Each question is studied from an objective and academic viewpoint and encourages greater social, political, and philosophicalawareness of crime, criminals, and society's response to them. The text also maps out the changes in crime control and society's expectations in relation to crime control. For example, students will find the insightful chapter on terrorism and state violence to be of particular interest andrelevance; established criminological theories are applied, and the author addresses issues such as political responses to terrorism and the reasons why people become terrorists. The text is ideal both for students studying towards a degree in criminology, and students opting to study criminology as part of another subject, such as law.
Publication Date: 2012-06-18
Criminology by The new sixth edition of Criminology provides students with a comprehensive analysis of the major criminological theories. Drawing on a wide range of research in order to consider both sociological and psychological explanations of criminal behaviour, Jones poses the important questions,inviting readers to critically engage with the subject. Thoroughly referenced and written in a clear and accessible style, this book provides the firm foundation of knowledge that students need to develop a strong and secure understanding of criminological theory.
Publication Date: 2017
Criminology: the Basics by Criminology is a discipline that is constituted by its subject matter rather than being bound by an agreed set of concepts or way of thinking. This fully updated third edition of Criminology: The Basics is a lively and engaging guide to this compelling and complex subject. Topics covered include: the history and development of criminology myths about crime and offenders the search for criminological explanation victims of crime and state crime crime prevention, cybercrime, and the future of crime control criminology and intersectionality This edition also includes new sections on genocide, terrorism, cultural victimology, and Westo-centric thinking. Concise and accessible, this book utilises chapter summaries, exercise questions and lists of further reading to provide a perfect introduction to this subject.
Publication Date: 2016-09-15
Unlocking Criminal Law by UNLOCKING CRIMINAL LAW will help you grasp the main concepts of the subject with ease. Containing accessible explanations in clear and precise terms that are easy to understand, it provides an excellent foundation for learning and revising Criminal Law. The information is clearly presented in a logical structure and the following features support learning helping you to advance with confidence: Clear learning outcomes at the beginning of each chapter set out the skills and knowledge you will need to get to grips with the subject Key Facts boxes throughout each chapter allow you to progressively build and consolidate your understanding End-of-chapter summaries provide a useful check-list for each topic Cases and judgments are highlighted to help you find them and add them to your notes quickly Frequent activities and self-test questions are included so you can put your knowledge into practice Sample essay questions with annotated answers prepare you for assessment Glossary of legal terms clarifies important definitions
Publication Date: 2017-06-16
Criminal Law by The ideal student textbook, Criminal Law combines the authors' trademark clarity of writing with coverage of the key topics, case law and statutes that you'll need to understand in your study of this fascinating subject. Written and designed for use on an LLB or GDL programme, the book also highlights areas of academic debate, criticisms of the current law and reform options.
Publication Date: 2016-05-01