Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
E-books - click on the jacket cover image and enter your college IT username and password
Fascism and Communism
Conflict, Communism and Fascism by An engaging range of period texts and theme books for AS and A Level history. The period 1890 to 1945 witnessed such momentous events in European history as the Russian Revolution and the First and Second World Wars. It also saw the rise and fall of Hitler's Nazi Germany and Mussolini's Fascist Italy. In this accessible and stimulating text, Frank McDonough concentrates on a number of key themes: the conflict which produced the two world wars, the road to the Russian Revolution and the fascist regimes in Germany and Italy. The text also examines the main historical debates surrounding these topics. Conflict, communism and fascism includes a document study section on Nazi Germany 1933-1945.
Publication Date: 2001-01-04
The European Dictatorships by An engaging range of period texts and theme books for AS and A Level history. The European dictatorships provides a well-balanced account of the three main European dictatorships in the period 1919-45. Allan Todd explores Stalinism, Fascism and Nazism in detail, dealing with the establishment and maintenance of power, the nature of party and state rule, the distribution of power, the purpose and impact of social and economic policies, opposition, and the significance of foreign policy and war. Comparisons and contrasts between the dictatorships are also highlighted. Using a wide range of primary sources, this book deals with the main historical and interpretive issues of this subject in an accessible way.
Publication Date: 2002-06-13
Years of the Weimar and the Third Reich by An exploration of German history from the end of World War I to the fall of the Third Reich. The political, social and economic impact of the Weimar and the subsequent Nazi regime are examined through an in-depth narrative and a range of documentary source material. It includes a historiography, progressive exercise sections and advice on tackling structured, essay and source questions.
Publication Date: 1999-03-01
Weimar and Nazi Germany by This title is a comprehensive core text investigating the history of Germany from the foundation of the Weimar Republic in 1918 to the collapse of the Nazi regime in 1945. It covers all the exam modules on twentieth-century Germany. Major themes include: - Why Weimar democracy failed - How Hitler rose to power - How the Nazi regime affected people in Germany - The successes and failures of Nazi foreign policy.
Publication Date: 2000-05-24
Weimar and the Rise of Nazi Germany, 1918-33 by This is a new edition of From Bismarck to Hitler 1890-33. This title charts the political developments of this period, from the setting up of the Weimar republic and its early challenges, through its period of relative stability to the rise of the Nazi party.
Publication Date: 2005-05-27
Second Reich to Third Reich by This is a new edition combining content from Weimar and the Rise of Nazi Germany with Germany: The Third Reich to provide coherent and comprehensive coverage of the 2008 Edexcel AS specification. It charts the developments in Germany from the Weimar years to life in Nazi Germany andultimately the fall of the Third Reich, and includes a concluding chapter drawing together the themes of this topic. Throughout the book, key dates, terms, and issues are highlighted, and historical interpretations of key debates are outlined. Summary diagrams are included to consolidate knowledgeand understanding of the period, and exam-style questions and tips written by an examiner provide the opportunity to develop exam skills.
Publication Date: 2008-09-01
Russia under Tsarism and Communism, 1881-1953 by Depend on SHP's comprehensive and best-selling core texts to enrich your understanding of A Level History. SHP Advanced History Core Texts are the Schools History Project's acclaimed books for A level History. They offer: - clear and penetrating narrative - comprehensively explaining the content required for examination success - thought provoking and relevant activities that explore the content and help students think analytically about the subject - thorough exam preparation through carefully designed tasks that address the distinctive requirements of A Level history including guidance in essay writing and source-based investigations. - a wide range of revision strategies including structured content summaries Additional features include: - A focus route pathway for independent learners - Learning Trouble Spots - which address common misunderstandings - diagrammatic summaries of key areas of content and historical issues - accessible summaries of recent historical debates. - active learning approaches, including decision-making exercises Russia under Tsarism and Communism 1881-1953 this title is a comprehensive core text on Russian history from 1881 to the death of Stalin. It is a second edition of the bestselling Communist Russia under Lenin and Stalin. This second edition is extended to cover the Tsarist pre-revolutionary period. Major themes include - the nature of Tsarist rule in Russia and the causes and consequences of the 1905 revolution; - the causes and consequences of the Russian Revolution in 1917; - the nature, the achievements and failures of Lenin's and Stalin's Communist regimes; - the ongoing historiographical debate about this period and the current reinterpretations of it. Other improvements for this second edition include more streamlined coverage of Stalin's foreign policy.
Publication Date: 2011-01-28
Bolshevik and Stalinist Russia, 1917-64 by Exam Board: AQA, Edexcel, OCR & WJEC Level: A-level Subject: History First Teaching: September 2015 First Exam: June 2016 Give your students the best chance of success with this tried and tested series, combining in-depth analysis, engaging narrative and accessibility. Access to History is the most popular, trusted and wide-ranging series for A-level History students. This title: - Supports the content and assessment requirements of the 2015 A-level History specifications - Contains authoritative and engaging content - Includes thought-provoking key debates that examine the opposing views and approaches of historians - Provides exam-style questions and guidance for each relevant specification to help students understand how to apply what they have learnt This title is suitable for a variety of courses including: - AQA: Revolution and Dictatorship: Russia and the Soviet Union, 1917-1953
Publication Date: 2015-02-27
The rise and fall of Communism by In this book, based on 40 years of study & a wealth of new sources, Archie Brown provides a comprehensive history as well as an original & compelling analysis of Communism, an ideology that has shaped the world.
Publication Date: 2010
Mao's China, 1936-97 by Exam Board: AQA, Edexcel, OCR & WJEC Level: A-level Subject: History First Teaching: September 2015 First Exam: June 2016 Give your students the best chance of success with this tried and tested series' combination of in-depth analysis, engaging narrative and accessibility. Access to History is the most popular, trusted and wide-ranging series for A-level History students. Each title: - Supports the content and assessment requirements of the 2015 A-level History specifications - Contains authoritative and engaging content - Includes thought-provoking key debates that examine the opposing views and approaches of historians - Provides exam-style questions and guidance for each relevant specification to help students understand how to apply what they have learnt This title is suitable for a variety of courses including: - AQA: The Transformation of China, 1937-1997 - Edexcel: Mao's China, 1949-76
Publication Date: 2015-02-27
Gale Virtual Reference Library E-books
The Study of Eastern Europe and the Cold War
The Origins of the Cold War, 1941-1949 by The Cold War is one of the most important and widely studied areas of history. Martin McCauley's best-selling Seminar Study unravels the complex issues which gave rise to the Cold War and explains how it originated. This new edition is revised, updated and expanded with new material on areas such as the KGB and spying, and the contribution of intelligence to Stalin's picture of the world. The new introduction looks at our perceptions of the Cold War, the various approaches that have been adopted for reviewing the Cold War and the difficulties of developing a theory of the Cold War. The book incorporates the most recent scholarship, theories and newly-released information to provide students with an invaluable introduction to the subject.
Publication Date: 2008-07-17
The Cold War by In this meticulously researched account, Bridget Kendall explores the Cold War through the eyes of those who experienced it first-hand. Alongside in-depth analysis that explains the historical and political context, the book draws on exclusive interviews with individuals who lived through the conflict's key events, offering a variety of perspectives that reveal how the Cold War was experienced by ordinary people. From pilots making food drops during the Berlin Blockade and Japanese fishermen affected by H-bomb testing to families fleeing the Korean War and children whose parents were victims of McCarthy's Red Scare, The Cold War covers the full geographical and historical reach of the conflict. The Cold War is essential reading for anyone seeking to understand how the tensions of the last century have shaped the modern world, and what it was like to live through them.
Publication Date: 2018-10-01
Europe and the Cold War, 1945-91 by Ensure your students have access to the authoritative and in-depth content of this popular and trusted A Level History series. For over twenty years Access to History has been providing students with reliable, engaging and accessible content on a wide range of topics. Each title in the series provides comprehensive coverage of different history topics on current AS and A2 level history specifications, alongside exam-style practice questions and tips to help students achieve their best. The series: - Ensures students gain a good understanding of the AS and A2 level history topics through an engaging, in-depth and up-to-date narrative, presented in an accessible way. - Aids revision of the key A level history topics and themes through frequent summary diagrams - Gives support with assessment, both through the books providing exam-style questions and tips for AQA, Edexcel and OCR A level history specifications and through FREE model answers with supporting commentary at Access to History online (www.accesstohistory.co.uk) Europe and the Cold War 1945-1991 The book starts by examining the crucial events of 1944-7, which led to the break down of the Second World War alliance between the 'Big Three' and the onset of the Cold War. It shows how the Cold War shaped post-war Europe through the creation of two great military and economic blocs. Key events such as the Berlin bockade of 1948-9, the Hungarian revolt of 1956, the second Berlin crisis of 1958-61 and collapse of Communism from 1989-91.
Publication Date: 2006-06-30
Studying History by This best-selling guide will help you get to grips with the larger themes and issues behind historical study, while also showing you how to formulate your own ideas in a clear, analytical style. Fully updated throughout, further advice on using web-based sources and avoiding plagiarism will equip you with the tools you need to succeed on your course.
Publication Date: 2016-11-09
Writing History Essays by To write history successfully, it is essential to understand the nuts and bolts of technique as well as the underlying principles which govern the whole process. Writing History Essays takes you step by step through the process of writing an assignment, breaking it down into a series of manageable tasks, including: * selecting sources * reading critically * taking notes * planning and drafting your essay * referencing correctly and avoiding plagiarism This book also takes you beyond the essay, with practical advice on writing book reviews, reports and dissertations, as well as guidance on sitting examinations. This new edition includes reflective questions at the end of each chapter and discussion of visual and web-based sources, making it an indispensable guide for history students.
Publication Date: 2016-05-27
The great terror : a reassessment by Robert Conquest uses fresh and dramatic material, which has only recently become available, to give further depth and breadth to his history of the momentous years between 1934 and 1939, when millions of people died in Stalin's purges.
Publication Date: 2008
The Road to Terror by Now updated with new facts, and abridged for use in Soviet history courses, this gripping book assembles top secret Soviet documents, translated into English, from the era of Stalin's purges. The dossiers, police reports, private letters, secret transcripts, and other documents expose the hidden inner workings of the Communist Party and the dark inhumanity of the purge process. "[This] book will be of great value to students of the Terror and . . . the material, such as Bukharin's last letter, is astounding."--Michael J. Ybarra, Wall Street Journal "It will be indispensable for all historians and researchers of communism, the USSR, and Stalinism for many decades to come."--Roy A. Medvedev, author of Let History Judge
Publication Date: 2010-02-02
Red famine : Stalin's war on Ukraine by Anne Applebaum's books have explained the history of Russia and Eastern Europe as compellingly as any other historian. Based on a mass of previous untranslated documents and hundreds of testimonies, Anne Applebaum's 'Red Famine' tells the story of the Bolshevik war on Ukraine, from the brief moment of Ukrainian independence in 1917 to Stalin's deliberately engineered famine in 1932-33. That genocide killed nearly five million people, destroyed the national aspirations of Ukraine for two generations and has real echoes in the politics of the present.
Publication Date: 2018
Stalinist Terror by This collection of essays by scholars from five nations - the United States, Great Britain, Australia, France, and Russia - makes several major contributions to the understanding of Stalinist terror in the 1930s. The essays explore in greater depth than before the background of the terror and patterns of persecution, while providing more empirically founded and substantiated estimates of the numbers of Stalin's victims. Some contributors tap unexplored or underutilized source materials while others have taken advantage of glasnost and the opening of Soviet archives and libraries for the years of the terror to draw on freshly available archival and secondary materials. Many of the essays are informed by distinct trends in social and political history, and they approach Stalinist terror with fresh methods and perspectives. The volume supplements works that have focused exclusively on Stalin's personality by concentrating instead on preconditions, mentalities, economics, and specific groups. Although Stalin remains the central personality in the terror, other leaders, institutions, and social groups played important roles, and by analyzing them the essays in the volume help to provide a more complete and balanced view of the phenomenon of the terror as a whole.
Publication Date: 1993