Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the Library Catalogue
Search by author, title or a subject keyword. Any matching results will be displayed.
You can then find out the following information:
- where the book is - the shelf mark;
- how long the book can be borrowed for;
- and whether a book is on the shelf or out on loan.
Can't find the book you want?
If all copies of a textbook are on loan you can place a reservation, or there may be a copy available online as an e-book.
If the book or journal article is not available from the library you can ask for an inter-library loan.
The easiest way to find if a particular title is available as an e-book is to search the Library Catalogue just as you would for printed books. You can search for an author, title or keyword.
You may be asked for your college IT username and password to view the e-book.
Motor Vehicle Books
Science for Motor Vehicle Engineers by The primary aim of this book is to provide the necessary scientific principles for NVQ students specialising in motor vehicle engineering at levels 2 and 3. Unlike many other engineering science texts, it emphasises the topics most useful to vehicle engineers, and includes numerous real-life examples, with questions directly related to cars, motor cycles and commercial vehicles.
Publication Date: 1995-12-01
A Practical Approach to Motor Vehicle Engineering and Maintenance by Fully updated and in line with latest specifications, this textbook integrates vehicle maintenance procedures, making it the indispensable first classroom and workshop text for all students of motor vehicle engineering, apprentices and keen amateurs. Its clear, logical approach, excellent illustrations and step-by-step development of theory and practice make this an accessible text for students of all abilities. With this book, students have information that they can trust because it is written by an experienced practitioner and lecturer in this area. This book will provide not only the information required to understand automotive engines but also background information that allows readers to put this information into context. The book contains flowcharts, diagnostic case studies, detailed diagrams of how systems operate and overview descriptions of how systems work. All this on top of step-by-step instructions and quick reference tables. Readers won't get bored when working through this book with questions and answers that aid learning and revision included.
Publication Date: 2011-08-12
Hillier's Fundamentals of Motor Vehicle Technology by This edition of Hillier's has been updated and undergone a full-colour revision featuring new photos and illustrations to engage those keen to learn the fundamentals of MVT and enhance their understanding of the core concepts whilst keeping the straightforward approach that is much admired in this authoritative manual.
Publication Date: 2014-11-01
Automobile Mechanical and Electrical Systems by The second edition of Automobile Mechanical and Electrical Systemsconcentrates on core technologies to provide the essential information required to understand how different vehicle systems work. It gives a complete overview of the components and workings of a vehicle from the engine through to the chassis and electronics. It also explains the necessary tools and equipment needed in effective car maintenance and repair, and relevant safety procedures are included throughout. Designed to make learning easier, this book contains: Photographs, flow charts and quick reference tables Detailed diagrams and clear descriptions that simplify the more complicated topics and aid revision Useful features throughout, including definitions, key facts and 'safety first' considerations. In full colour and with support materials from the author's website (www.automotive-technology.org), this is the guide no student enrolled on an automotive maintenance and repair course should be without.
Publication Date: 2017-08-21
Automobile Electrical and Electronic Systems by This textbook will help you learn all the skills you need to pass all Vehicle Electrical and Electronic Systems courses and qualifications. As electrical and electronic systems become increasingly more complex and fundamental to the workings of modern vehicles, understanding these systems is essential for automotive technicians. For students new to the subject, this book will help to develop this knowledge, but will also assist experienced technicians in keeping up with recent technological advances. This new edition includes information on developments in pass-through technology, multiplexing, and engine control systems. In full colour and covering the latest course specifications, this is the guide that no student enrolled on an automotive maintenance and repair course should be without. Designed to make learning easier, this book contains: Photographs, flow charts, quick reference tables, overview descriptions and step-by-step instructions. Case studies to help you put the principles covered into a real-life context. Useful margin features throughout, including definitions, key facts and ¿safety first¿ considerations. Free access to the support website where you will find lots of additional information and useful learning materials: www.automotive-technology.org.
Publication Date: 2017-09-20
Principles of light vehicle technology. Level 3 diploma by Designed specifically for Level 3, this handbook helps learners focus on diagnostics and rectifying faults as a progression from Level 2. It covers the latest technology within the industry, providing knowledge and skills to pass the qualification, but which are also highly relevant to the workplace.
Publication Date: 2012
Principles of light vehicle operations by Written in line with the revised specifications, applicable for Scottish Vocational Qualifications, and specially engineered around your candidates needs and abilities, this book offers a solution for those taking and delivering the new level 1 qualifications in light vehicle operations.
Publication Date: 2011
Electric and Hybrid Vehicles by The first book on electric and hybrid vehicles (EVs) written specifically for automotive students and vehicle owners Clear diagrams, photos and flow charts outline the charging infrastructure, how EV technology works, and how to repair and maintain hybrid and electric vehicles Optional IMI online eLearning materials enable students to study the subject further and test their knowledge Full coverage of IMI Level 2 Award in Hybrid Electric Vehicle Operation and Maintenance, IMI Level 3 Award in Hybrid Electric Vehicle Repair and Replacement, IMI Accreditation, C&G and other EV/Hybrid courses. The first book on electric and hybrid vehicles (endorsed by the IMI) starts with an introduction to the market, covering the different types of electric vehicle, costs and emissions, and the charging infrastructure, before moving on to explain how hybrid and electric vehicles work. A chapter on electrical technology introduces learners to subjects such as batteries, control systems and charging which are then covered in more detail within their own chapters. The book also covers the maintenance and repair procedures of these vehicles, including fault finding, servicing, repair and first-responder information. Case studies are used throughout to illustrate different technologies.
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
Hillier's Fundamentals of Automotive Electronics by This new edition has been updated and has undergone a full-colour revision featuring new photos and illustrations to engage those keen to learn the fundamentals of automotive electronics and enhance their understanding of the core concepts whilst keeping the straightforward approach that is much admired in this authoritative manual.
Publication Date: 2014-11-01
Advanced Automotive Fault Diagnosis by Learn all the skills you need to pass Level 3 and 4 Vehicle Diagnostic courses from IMI, City and Guilds and BTEC, as well as higher levels, ASE, AUR and other qualifications. Advanced Automotive Fault Diagnosis explains the fundamentals of vehicle systems and components and examines diagnostic principles as well as the latest techniques employed in effective vehicle maintenance and repair. Diagnostics, or fault finding, is an essential part of an automotive technician's work, and as automotive systems become increasingly complex there is a greater need for good diagnostics skills. For students new to the subject, this book will help to develop these skills, but it will also assist experienced technicians to further improve their performance and keep up with recent industry developments. Checked and endorsed by the Institute of to him to ensure that it is ideal for both independent and tutor-based study Diagnostics case studies to help you put the principles covered into real-life context Useful margin features throughout, including definitions, key facts and 'safety first' considerations
Publication Date: 2016-07-12
Motorcycle Maintenance Techbook by Motorcycle maintenance made easy: -- Aimed at the DIY mechanic and students embarking on courses in motorcycle engineering -- Service tasks are described in detail and illustrated with over 900 color photographs --Information on how to build up a toolkit and keep service records --Tools, testing and measuring equipment, oils and workshop equipment --Using a service schedule and keeping records --Engine: Oil and filter, valve clearances, compression test, air and fuel filters, carburetor balance, coolant, spark plugs, clutch and exhaust system --Chassis: Chain, sprockets, tires, disc brakes, drum brakes, wheel bearings, front forks, steering head bearings, rear shock, handlebars, swinging arm bearings, cables, footrests, stands and bodywork. --Electrics: batter, fuses, bulbs, horn, switches and wiring --Accessories: twin horns, fork gaiters, top box and drive chain oiler
Publication Date: 2016-03-01
The Repair of Vehicle Bodies by This revised and updated seventh edition of the best-selling reference manual on vehicle body repair brings the book up-to-date for the current body repair trade. It serves as a comprehensive guide covering the vocationally related qualification (VRQ) required by the modern student and apprentice, as well as providing the CPD essential for all working professionals. The entire book is overhauled to reflect current industry trends with regards to materials, processes and procedures. New additions include: An entirely new section on the work of the MET technician (mechanical, electrical and trim) New developments in body repair methodology such as repair pods and the greater use of alignment equipment Greater emphasis on the environment with new sections on hybrid vehicles and the hazards of starting current vehicles with high levels of technology Details on both the historic and the current joining methods for the vintage and modern markets Full coverage on the legalities surrounding insurance work for bodyshop staff Updated tables and illustrations This book not only provides the knowledge and skills for body repair, it helps to develop a real understanding of the how and why behind this information. It will be essential for anyone studying Levels 1-3 Vehicle Body Repair, Vehicle Refinishing and MET courses, including the new apprenticeships and technical certificates from the IMI, Pearson-BTEC and C&G. HNC & degree Automotive Engineering students will find the text valuable to develop skills and knowledge for practical project work. Industry professionals, vehicle restorers and car DIY enthusiasts will continue to find it an essential and comprehensive source of information.
Publication Date: 2018-08-28
Engineering Materials Books
Engineering Materials 1 by Widely adopted around the world, Engineering Materials 1 is a core materials science and engineering text for third- and fourth-year undergraduate students; it provides a broad introduction to the mechanical and environmental properties of materials used in a wide range of engineering applications. The text is deliberately concise, with each chapter designed to cover the content of one lecture. As in previous editions, chapters are arranged in groups dealing with particular classes of properties, each group covering property definitions, measurement, underlying principles, and materials selection techniques. Every group concludes with a chapter of case studies that demonstrate practical engineering problems involving materials. Engineering Materials 1, Fourth Edition is perfect as a stand-alone text for a one-semester course in engineering materials or a first text with its companion Engineering Materials 2: An Introduction to Microstructures and Processing, in a two-semester course or sequence.
Publication Date: 2011-10-19
Engineering Materials by The new edition of this well respected text has been completely updated and made extremely reader-friendly. It covers more advanced aspects of the science of engineering materials and follows on from Volume 1, providing comprehensive coverage of materials for engineering students.
Publication Date: 2000-07-01
Materials for Engineers and Technicians by A comprehensive yet accessible introduction to materials engineering which provides a straightforward, readable approach to the subject. The sixth edition includes a new chapter on the selection of materials, an updated discussion of new materials, and a complete glossary of key terms used in materials engineering. This renowned text has provided many thousands of students with an easily accessible introduction to the wide ranging subject area of materials engineering and manufacturing processes for over forty years. It avoids the excessive jargon and mathematical complexity so often found in textbooks for this subject, retaining the practical down-to-earth approach for which the book is noted. The increased emphasis on the selection of materials reflects the increased emphasis on this aspect of materials engineering now seen within current vocational and university courses. In addition to meeting the requirements of vocational and undergraduate engineering syllabuses, this text will also provide a valuable desktop reference for professional engineers working in product design who require a quick source of information on materials and manufacturing processes.
Publication Date: 2014-10-23
Functional Skills Maths in Context by This full colour and visually engaging workbook is designed to help you learn and the master the necessary Functional Skills in Maths at your required level. With examples and questions written specifically for Motor Vehicle Technology, you will understand the relevance of Functional Skills and be able to apply them in the workplace.
Publication Date: 2014-11-01