Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding books in the Library
These are the main shelf marks/classification numbers for books for the Construction Trades. If you are unsure where to find a specific title you can always ask at the Library Information Desk or search the Library Catalogue.
|Health & Safety
||363.11 & 690.22
|Mathematics for Construction
|Painting & Decorating
The Building Regulations by Since publication of the first edition in 1976, The Building Regulations: Explained and Illustrated has provided a detailed, authoritative, highly illustrated and accessible guide to the regulations that must be adhered to when constructing, altering or extending a building in England and Wales. This latest edition has been fully revised throughout. Much of the content has been completely rewritten to cover the substantial changes to the Regulations since publication of the 13th edition, to ensure it continues to provide the detailed guidance needed by all those concerned with building work, including architects, building control officers, Approved Inspectors, Competent Persons, building surveyors, engineers, contractors and students in the relevant disciplines.
Publication Date: 2017-05-01
Construction Mathematics by Construction Mathematicsis an introductory level mathematics text, written specifically for students of construction and related disciplines. Learn by tackling exercises based on real-life construction maths. Examples include: costing calculations, labour costs, cost of materials and setting out of building components. Suitable for beginners and easy to follow throughout. Learn the essential basic theory along with the practical necessities. The second edition of this popular textbook is fully updated to match new curricula, and expanded to include even more learning exercises. End of chapter exercises cover a range of theoretical as well as practical problems commonly found in construction practice, and three detailed assignments based on practical tasks give students the opportunity to apply all the knowledge they have gained. Construction Mathematicsaddresses all the mathematical requirements of Level 2 construction NVQs from City & Guilds/CITB and Edexcel courses, including the BTEC First Diploma in Construction. Additional coverage of the core unit Mathematics in Construction and the Built Environment from BTEC National Construction, Civil Engineering and Building Services courses makes this an essential revision aid for students who do not have Level 2 mathematics experience before commencing their BTEC National studies. This is also the ideal primer for any reader who wishes to refresh their mathematics knowledge before going into a construction HNC or BSc.
Publication Date: 2014-02-27
Introduction to Health and Safety in Construction by Introduction to Health and Safety in Constructionhas been specially written for the thousands of students who complete the NEBOSH National Certificate in Construction Health and Safety each year. Fully revised in alignment with the April 2015 syllabus, the fifth edition provides students with all they need to tackle the course with confidence. The book covers all the essential elements of health and safety management in construction including the legal framework, risk assessment and control standards. Highly illustrated, with information provided in a clear, easily accessible format, it also provides checklists and record sheets to supplement learning. Aligned to the NEBOSH National Certificate in Construction Health and Safety Practice questions and answers to test knowledge and increase understanding Complete with a companion website containing extra resources for tutors and students at www.routledge.com/cw/hughes The only textbook endorsed for the NEBOSH National Certificate in Construction Health and Safety, the Introduction to Health and Safety in Constructionis also suitable for construction courses in the UK and overseas and serves as a comprehensive reference for managers and professionals within the construction industry.
Publication Date: 2015-11-02
Common Sense Guide to Health and Safety in Construction by An essential and short guide for employees who need to know more about health and safety within the construction industry without wanting to spend hours reading dozens of different documents. Whether it's for use alongside a training course or simply to brush up on your knowledge, it's perfect for equipping you with the principles of health and safety in the construction industry. Friendly and accessible, this Common Sense Guidecovers all the main aspects of health and safety in manageable chapters to provide you with the knowledge and understanding you need to look after yourself and others working in construction. Suitable for the non-health and safety professional Includes questions at the end of each module to consolidate your health and safety knowledge Certificate offered to those who complete the exam at the end of the book and return to be marked externally.
Publication Date: 2014-10-09
Building Construction Handbook by Ideal for students on all construction courses Topics presented concisely in plain language and with clear drawings Updated to include revisions to Building and Construction regulations The Building Construction Handbookis THE authoritative reference for all construction students and professionals. Its detailed drawings clearly illustrate the construction of building elements, and have been an invaluable guide for builders since 1988. The principles and processes of construction are explained with the concepts of design included where appropriate. Extensive coverage of building construction practice, techniques, and regulations representing both traditional procedures and modern developments are included to provide the most comprehensive and easy to understand guide to building construction. This new edition has been updated to reflect recent changes to the building regulations, as well as new material on the latest technologies used in domestic construction. Building Construction Handbook is the essential, easy-to-use resource for undergraduate and vocational students on a wide range of courses including NVQ and BTEC National, through to Higher National Certificate and Diploma, to Foundation and three-year Degree level. It is also a useful practical reference for building designers, contractors and others engaged in the construction industry.
Publication Date: 2016-05-26
Building Services Handbook by The ninth edition of Hall and Greeno's leading textbook has been reviewed and updated in relation to the latest building and water regulations, new technology, and new legislation. For this edition, new updates includes: the reappraisal of CO2 emissions targets, updates to sections on ventilation, fuel, A/C, refrigeration, water supply, electricity and power supply, sprinkler systems, and much more. Building Services Handbook summarises the application of all common elements of building services practice, technique and procedure, to provide an essential information resource for students as well as practitioners working in building services, building management and the facilities administration and maintenance sectors of the construction industry. Information is presented in the highly illustrated and accessible style of the best-selling companion title Building Construction Handbook. THE comprehensive reference for all construction and building services students, Building Services Handbook is ideal for a wide range of courses including NVQ and BTEC National through Higher National Certificate and Diploma to Foundation and three-year Degree level. The clear illustrations and complementary references to industry Standards combine essential guidance with a resource base for further reading and development of specific topics.
Publication Date: 2017-06-13
Search the Library Catalogue
Search by author, title or a subject keyword. Any matching results will be displayed.
You can then find out the following information:
- where the book is - the shelf mark;
- how long the book can be borrowed for;
- and whether a book is on the shelf or out on loan.
Can't find the book you want?
If all copies of a textbook are on loan you can place a reservation, or there may be a copy available online as an e-book.
If the book or journal article is not available from the library you can ask for an inter-library loan.