It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
E-books for A Level - Click on the jacket cover to access the book online and enter your college IT username and password
The electronic books or e-books provided by the College are electronic versions of printed books which can be read in full text via the Internet. The College has access to the content of over 5000 e-books. The majority of e-books are available on three main platforms or websites – Ebook Central, VLeBooks and O'Reilly Safari Learning Platform.
These are some of the advantages of using e-books:
they are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, on or off campus,
for the majority of titles you don’t have to wait for a copy to be returned,
you can easily search the content of an e-book, including the text, table of contents, appendices, and bibliography
The easiest way to find if a particular title is available as an e-book is to search the Library Catalogue just as you would for printed books. You can search for an author, title or keyword.
You may be asked for your college IT username and password to view the e-book.
The titles on Ebook Central have been selected by Academic Liaison Librarians to support subjects taught at the College. You can browse and search for titles on the Ebook Central platform or search for a title via the Library Catalogue.
You can download the e-books to your computer or other mobile devices and e-readers (but not the Kindle). Only download the e-book if you would like to read it offline on a personal computer or device. You will need to install Adobe Digital Editions on the computer or device you are using to read the e-book. You will also need the Bluefire e-reader app if you want to read the downloaded e-book on an iPhone, iPad or Android mobile device. Ebook Central provides links to the software you need when you begin the download process. More information is available from the Help button on the Ebook Central website.
The O'Reilly Safari Learning Platform (formerly Safari Technical Books Online) gives you access to a variety of formats including live online training courses, interactive tutorials, books, videos, and case studies.
Subjects covered include: Business; Desktop and Web Applications; Digital Media; Engineering; Information Technology & Software Development; Math & Science; Personal & Professional Development.
Please log on using your college email address. To finish activating your access look for the “Welcome to O'Reilly” email in your College email account. Select the link in the email to create your password and set up your personal O'Reilly account.
Once you have set up your O'Reilly account you can access the O'Reilly Safari Learning Platform on or off campus. Log in by selecting "Not Listed? Click here." you can then enter your email address and password.
Social Work Explorer provides online access to 292 social work textbooks published by Macmillan. The collection also includes research and study skills titles.
To log in and access the titles:
1. Go to www.macmillanexplorers.com
2. Click on the blue ‘log in’ button
3. Choose the ‘Select Your Institution’ option
4. Select ‘Bradford College’ from the list of institutions.
5. Enter your College IT username and password.
Gale eBooks is a collection encyclopedias and specialized reference materials covering a wide range of subject and curriculum areas including Arts and Humanities, Child Care studies, Fashion, Business and Finance, Tourism and much more.
For off campus access:
Click on the link “Login via your home institution” ;
Enter your College username and password.
Dawsonera, the e-book platform which hosted some of our e-book collection is no longer accessible due to the parent company going into administration in June 2020. The majority of titles that were on Dawsonera have been transferred to VLeBooks You can access these by logging into VLeBooks using your College IT username and password or by searching for the title on the Library Catalogue