Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Rebellion and Disorder under the Tudors
Studying History by This best-selling guide will help you get to grips with the larger themes and issues behind historical study, while also showing you how to formulate your own ideas in a clear, analytical style. Fully updated throughout, further advice on using web-based sources and avoiding plagiarism will equip you with the tools you need to succeed on your course.
Publication Date: 2016-11-09
Writing History Essays by To write history successfully, it is essential to understand the nuts and bolts of technique as well as the underlying principles which govern the whole process. Writing History Essays takes you step by step through the process of writing an assignment, breaking it down into a series of manageable tasks, including: * selecting sources * reading critically * taking notes * planning and drafting your essay * referencing correctly and avoiding plagiarism This book also takes you beyond the essay, with practical advice on writing book reviews, reports and dissertations, as well as guidance on sitting examinations. This new edition includes reflective questions at the end of each chapter and discussion of visual and web-based sources, making it an indispensable guide for history students.
Publication Date: 2016-05-27
Communist States in the Twentieth Century
Edexcel AS/A-level history. Russia 1917-91 - from Lenin to Yeltsin by Target success in Edexcel AS/A-level history with this proven formula for effective, structured revision; key content coverage is combined with exam preparation activities and exam-style questions to create a revision guide that students can rely on to review, strengthen and test their knowledge.
Publication Date: 2017
Russia under Tsarism and Communism, 1881-1953 by Depend on SHP's comprehensive and best-selling core texts to enrich your understanding of A Level History. SHP Advanced History Core Texts are the Schools History Project's acclaimed books for A level History. They offer: - clear and penetrating narrative - comprehensively explaining the content required for examination success - thought provoking and relevant activities that explore the content and help students think analytically about the subject - thorough exam preparation through carefully designed tasks that address the distinctive requirements of A Level history including guidance in essay writing and source-based investigations. - a wide range of revision strategies including structured content summaries Additional features include: - A focus route pathway for independent learners - Learning Trouble Spots - which address common misunderstandings - diagrammatic summaries of key areas of content and historical issues - accessible summaries of recent historical debates. - active learning approaches, including decision-making exercises Russia under Tsarism and Communism 1881-1953 this title is a comprehensive core text on Russian history from 1881 to the death of Stalin. It is a second edition of the bestselling Communist Russia under Lenin and Stalin. This second edition is extended to cover the Tsarist pre-revolutionary period. Major themes include - the nature of Tsarist rule in Russia and the causes and consequences of the 1905 revolution; - the causes and consequences of the Russian Revolution in 1917; - the nature, the achievements and failures of Lenin's and Stalin's Communist regimes; - the ongoing historiographical debate about this period and the current reinterpretations of it. Other improvements for this second edition include more streamlined coverage of Stalin's foreign policy.
Publication Date: 2011-01-28
Communist Russia under Lenin and Stalin by A comprehensive advanced core text on Russia from 1900 to the 1950s. It offers students an insight into the causes of the Russian Revolution in 1917; the nature, the achievements and failure of Lenin's and Stalin's regimes; and the ongoing historiographical debate about this period and the current reinterpretations of it.
Publication Date: 2002-05-29
Bolshevik and Stalinist Russia, 1917-64 by Exam Board: AQA, Edexcel, OCR & WJEC Level: A-level Subject: History First Teaching: September 2015 First Exam: June 2016 Give your students the best chance of success with this tried and tested series, combining in-depth analysis, engaging narrative and accessibility. Access to History is the most popular, trusted and wide-ranging series for A-level History students. This title: - Supports the content and assessment requirements of the 2015 A-level History specifications - Contains authoritative and engaging content - Includes thought-provoking key debates that examine the opposing views and approaches of historians - Provides exam-style questions and guidance for each relevant specification to help students understand how to apply what they have learnt This title is suitable for a variety of courses including: - AQA: Revolution and Dictatorship: Russia and the Soviet Union, 1917-1953
Publication Date: 2015-02-27
Mao's China, 1949-76. Edexcel AS/A-level history by Target success in Edexcel AS/A-level history with this proven formula for effective, structured revision; key content coverage is combined with exam preparation activities and exam-style questions to create a revision guide that students can rely on to review, strengthen and test their knowledge.
Publication Date: 2017
Mao's China, 1936-97 by Exam Board: AQA, Edexcel, OCR & WJEC Level: A-level Subject: History First Teaching: September 2015 First Exam: June 2016 Give your students the best chance of success with this tried and tested series' combination of in-depth analysis, engaging narrative and accessibility. Access to History is the most popular, trusted and wide-ranging series for A-level History students. Each title: - Supports the content and assessment requirements of the 2015 A-level History specifications - Contains authoritative and engaging content - Includes thought-provoking key debates that examine the opposing views and approaches of historians - Provides exam-style questions and guidance for each relevant specification to help students understand how to apply what they have learnt This title is suitable for a variety of courses including: - AQA: The Transformation of China, 1937-1997 - Edexcel: Mao's China, 1949-76
Publication Date: 2015-02-27
The great terror : a reassessment by Robert Conquest uses fresh and dramatic material, which has only recently become available, to give further depth and breadth to his history of the momentous years between 1934 and 1939, when millions of people died in Stalin's purges.
Publication Date: 2008
The Road to Terror by Now updated with new facts, and abridged for use in Soviet history courses, this gripping book assembles top secret Soviet documents, translated into English, from the era of Stalin's purges. The dossiers, police reports, private letters, secret transcripts, and other documents expose the hidden inner workings of the Communist Party and the dark inhumanity of the purge process. "[This] book will be of great value to students of the Terror and . . . the material, such as Bukharin's last letter, is astounding."--Michael J. Ybarra, Wall Street Journal "It will be indispensable for all historians and researchers of communism, the USSR, and Stalinism for many decades to come."--Roy A. Medvedev, author of Let History Judge
Publication Date: 2010-02-02
Red famine : Stalin's war on Ukraine by Anne Applebaum's books have explained the history of Russia and Eastern Europe as compellingly as any other historian. Based on a mass of previous untranslated documents and hundreds of testimonies, Anne Applebaum's 'Red Famine' tells the story of the Bolshevik war on Ukraine, from the brief moment of Ukrainian independence in 1917 to Stalin's deliberately engineered famine in 1932-33. That genocide killed nearly five million people, destroyed the national aspirations of Ukraine for two generations and has real echoes in the politics of the present.
Publication Date: 2018
England under the Tudors by First published in 1955 and never out of print, this wonderfully written text by one of the great historians of the twentieth century has guided generations of students through the turbulent history of Tudor England. Now in its third edition, England Under the Tudorscharts a historical period that saw some monumental changes in religion, monarchy, government and the arts. Elton's classic and highly readable introduction to the Tudor period offers an essential source of information from the start of Henry VII's reign to the death of Elizabeth I.
Publication Date: 1991-09-06
Tudor England by From Henry VII's capture of the crown at Bosworth in 1485 to the death of Elizabeth I in 1603, Tudor England witnessed far-reaching changes in politics and religion under Henry VIII, Edward VI, Mary and Elizabeth herself. John Guy's compelling new history is the most complete account of thatmomentous period to appear in over thirty years. Based on the most thorough knowledge of the sources and literature relating to the Tudors, his book is the first to take note of fresh debates on the progress of the English Reformation, and on the strengths and weaknesses of Tudor government at national and local level. Authoritative,comprehensive, clearly argued, and crisply written, the story is enriched by lively character studies of monarchs and politicians. The main themes of the period are closely analysed, and topics such as the economy and society, and political culture are placed firmly in their historical context, inindividual chapters.
Publication Date: 1990-03-08